BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

What the Night Knows

Average Rating 4
( 1416 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(510)

4 Star

(398)

3 Star

(283)

2 Star

(95)

1 Star

(130)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

25 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

Scared me as much as Phantoms

The thing I like about Dean Koontz is that he refuses to be pigeon-holed into one type of storytelling. Only a handful of his books (at least in the past couple of decades) have been supernatural in nature, the others have dealt with good and evil from the hands of man....
The thing I like about Dean Koontz is that he refuses to be pigeon-holed into one type of storytelling. Only a handful of his books (at least in the past couple of decades) have been supernatural in nature, the others have dealt with good and evil from the hands of man. (ie. a mad scientist creating mad creatures). But he also writes some damn fine fiction that simply deals with human nature, like any "normal" writer would. The first book I read by Mr. Koontz was Phantoms back in 1993, I remember reading that on a graveyard shift at work, inside this big building with just one other person on staff. I was thoroughly scared to the point of having to stop reading it, take a break, relax and come back to it. And now it seems things have come full circle. "What The Night Knows" has returned to Koontz's supernatural, pure evil subject matter and has once again scared the hell out of me. It's the kind of Koontz book people expect of the author, even though he doesn't want to be known primarily as a horror writer. But it also has the trademark Koontz relationships (whether family or lovers), inner turmoil, human nature, insights on society and of course the author's way of describing everything in minute detail. I've read most of Dean Koontz books (all of his books from the last 20 years) and I've never read one that prompted me to ask for a refund. Some better than others, but this one probably belongs in the top 10. It's leave-your-nightlight-on, look-over-your-shoulder, jump-at-the-slightest-noise scary!!!!

posted by Lee_Bloom on December 31, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

14 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

lots of hype....not that great

Like others, I pre-ordered this book for $16 in November thinking if I pre-ordered, i was getting a better deal than waiting for the release...the day after the release, Barnes and Noble decides to sell it for $9.99...is that fair? I don't think so....the book is all hy...
Like others, I pre-ordered this book for $16 in November thinking if I pre-ordered, i was getting a better deal than waiting for the release...the day after the release, Barnes and Noble decides to sell it for $9.99...is that fair? I don't think so....the book is all hype. I have to admit, I loved the novella, the short, but entertaining prequel to this book...but, the this book is so full of description and no substance. I would rather move on to see what is going to happen next rather than know what kind of material the couches in the mental institution are made out of....VERY WORDY. good story, but so wordy...it could have been half the size of the book, half the price, and AS entertaining....I typically love Koontz, this was a disappointment!

posted by matildanook on December 30, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 95 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted December 30, 2010

    lots of hype....not that great

    Like others, I pre-ordered this book for $16 in November thinking if I pre-ordered, i was getting a better deal than waiting for the release...the day after the release, Barnes and Noble decides to sell it for $9.99...is that fair? I don't think so....the book is all hype. I have to admit, I loved the novella, the short, but entertaining prequel to this book...but, the this book is so full of description and no substance. I would rather move on to see what is going to happen next rather than know what kind of material the couches in the mental institution are made out of....VERY WORDY. good story, but so wordy...it could have been half the size of the book, half the price, and AS entertaining....I typically love Koontz, this was a disappointment!

    14 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2011

    Disapionted in this book

    Started good 3/4 of the way through it just got dumb and hard to read u all ready new the ending dont waste your time with this one unless u cant sleep becuese it will pput u their

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2011

    miss

    too many holes in the plot

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2011

    hmmm...

    The beginning of this book was wonderful! but then towards the middle it was lacking and boring! i then stopped reading 3 quarters of the way!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2011

    Underdeveloped

    Nothing about this novel kept me guessing. The characters had no real personality to them. The details were lacking and the plot was cliche and underdeveloped. The book had too little too late and had one of the most bizarre attempts at an ending I have ever read. The book did not have as much depth as I was hoping for.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2011

    wow not dean koontz wrote this it sucked

    i honestly can not believe dean koontz wrote this it was probably his worst work i would not waste my time or money on this book wish id of known better i had high hopes they were crushed for sure

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2011

    I never read Koontz before but I think he needs a straight jacket more than a computer

    As a writer he is good to go however his choice of subject and material is suspect. His characters were hard to follow and actually suspect of care and adult concern for their kids. This is a THRILLER and while the repetitiveness of the perp is constantly hammered into your head at each page turn I actually have to say I think the writer hates women, knows nothing about the occult or supernatural and believes in Demons. Having said that he describes what the antagonist is going to do to the protagonists (in this case a family one of whom is a cop) and I frankly felt the entire theme was ripped off from a little film starring Denzel Washington called FALLEN. It ain't worth 10 bucks and if you want this book go and read it in a library for free. Koontz is an acquired taste I think and for me - he doesn't need millions of dollars instead a rubber room with pictures of animals and a nice cozy straight jacket will do nicely. Bonju Patten

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2011

    Slow Start

    I read almost 35 pages and have found the book to be very hard to get into... It sure didnt grab me like other have.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    As a big fan, I am very disappointed

    I have read every book Koontz has ever written. I was first mesmerized by "The Bad Place" when I was 11 and have never looked back. True, he like all artists, has had some misses but this book didn't even seem like him writing it. The book was very disjointed and I almost felt like I was reading the first attempt at a thriller by a new novelist. I usually have difficulty putting Dean's books down, but I hate having to pick this one up to finish it. The "twists" were weak and expected and the jumping from character to character, which usually works well, just annoyed me in the book. Sorry, Dean. Maybe next time. Dear reader, don't waste your time on this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2011

    Below Average Page-Turner

    This was a book that depicted too much of a single aspect in real life: a severe lack of communication. Also, I can't believe that a modern police department would still harbor crusty old antibeliefs concerning a possible supernatural occurrence. Witness their use of psychometrists to find murder victims, etc. Also, I tried to make sense of the Big Wheel ending. Then I realised it made no sense at all: What did the protagonist do that was different while shooting Blackwood again in the past? Answer: "Nuthin', baby!" That's why this novel didn't fly. Still, you can't be hitting 100% all the time. But you still have a more solid, wham-o-type ending than that lame-o one you got for this one -- might as well say, "...and then he woke up." Or, my favorite Dean Koontz boner-ending (c.f. Corner of My Eye): "The Supreme Evil Dude was so nutty that he accidentally killed himself before the hero could get a chance at wacking him."

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 95 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5