Customer Reviews for

What the Night Knows

Average Rating 4
( 1418 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(511)

4 Star

(398)

3 Star

(283)

2 Star

(95)

1 Star

(131)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

25 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

Scared me as much as Phantoms

The thing I like about Dean Koontz is that he refuses to be pigeon-holed into one type of storytelling. Only a handful of his books (at least in the past couple of decades) have been supernatural in nature, the others have dealt with good and evil from the hands of man....
The thing I like about Dean Koontz is that he refuses to be pigeon-holed into one type of storytelling. Only a handful of his books (at least in the past couple of decades) have been supernatural in nature, the others have dealt with good and evil from the hands of man. (ie. a mad scientist creating mad creatures). But he also writes some damn fine fiction that simply deals with human nature, like any "normal" writer would. The first book I read by Mr. Koontz was Phantoms back in 1993, I remember reading that on a graveyard shift at work, inside this big building with just one other person on staff. I was thoroughly scared to the point of having to stop reading it, take a break, relax and come back to it. And now it seems things have come full circle. "What The Night Knows" has returned to Koontz's supernatural, pure evil subject matter and has once again scared the hell out of me. It's the kind of Koontz book people expect of the author, even though he doesn't want to be known primarily as a horror writer. But it also has the trademark Koontz relationships (whether family or lovers), inner turmoil, human nature, insights on society and of course the author's way of describing everything in minute detail. I've read most of Dean Koontz books (all of his books from the last 20 years) and I've never read one that prompted me to ask for a refund. Some better than others, but this one probably belongs in the top 10. It's leave-your-nightlight-on, look-over-your-shoulder, jump-at-the-slightest-noise scary!!!!

posted by Lee_Bloom on December 31, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

14 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

lots of hype....not that great

Like others, I pre-ordered this book for $16 in November thinking if I pre-ordered, i was getting a better deal than waiting for the release...the day after the release, Barnes and Noble decides to sell it for $9.99...is that fair? I don't think so....the book is all hy...
Like others, I pre-ordered this book for $16 in November thinking if I pre-ordered, i was getting a better deal than waiting for the release...the day after the release, Barnes and Noble decides to sell it for $9.99...is that fair? I don't think so....the book is all hype. I have to admit, I loved the novella, the short, but entertaining prequel to this book...but, the this book is so full of description and no substance. I would rather move on to see what is going to happen next rather than know what kind of material the couches in the mental institution are made out of....VERY WORDY. good story, but so wordy...it could have been half the size of the book, half the price, and AS entertaining....I typically love Koontz, this was a disappointment!

posted by matildanook on December 30, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 511 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 26
  • Posted November 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    This is an exciting horror thriller that grips the reader with the same high level of suspense that Dean Koontz always achieves

    Providing no explanation afterward as to why he committed the atrocity, fourteen year old Billy Lucas simply butchered his family. Homicide detective John Calvino knows Billy's case hits too close to home. Two decades ago serial killer Alton Turner Blackwood slaughtered John's family and three other families; only John survived by shooting the maniac who was in the midst of a deranged ritual.

    John has always feared that Blackwood was possessed by a malevolent spirit who the cop believes has not finished the job. His fear is not so much for himself, but for his wife and their three children. John visits the teen at a psychiatric ward, but as soon as he leaves his family members especially his preadolescent kids begin to feel haunted. John knows time is running out for him to prevent history from repeating itself; perhaps his only reliable ally though he has doubts of the existence and the loyalty is Willard; his family's deceased dog.

    This is an exciting horror thriller that grips the reader with the same high level of suspense that Dean Koontz always achieves. The behavior of the four Calvino family members in some ways reflect the inane behavior of a teen-slasher movie, as each conceals what is happening to them from each other. With a nod to the OK Corral, fans will enjoy the supernatural battle between Calvino and the evil essences from beyond even as Mr. Koontz sets up a potential sequel.

    Harriet Klausner

    13 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    positive

    I loved this book. I have been an avid Koontz reader for years because he always seems ot capture the mystery and the characters in a way that is unique for most mysteries. Lately I was disappointed that perhaps he was becoming predictable, but this novel had a beauty to it. Loved It!!

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    If you love a good ghost story, you can't go wrong with this one!

    WHAT THE NIGHT KNOWS is a graphic nail-biter that won't let you put it down. John Calvino is a police detective with a secret. Twenty years before, a seriously deranged serial killer, Alton Turner Blackwood, murdered John's family as well as three other families in town, and used their corpses in a gruesome ritual. John was a 14-year old boy at the time, the lone survivor of the fourth family, and managed to kill Blackwood. Now a husband and father of three children, he has reason to believe the man he killed twenty years ago has returned from the dead to fulfill a promise of rape and murder. The answer to why this is happening is the answer to how to stop it and the whole hair-raising story is finding this answer. If you love a good ghost story, you can't go wrong with this one!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2011

    Fantastic ride!

    This reminds me of some of his older books like Intensity. This was a heart pounding thrill ride. A cross between the TV shows Fringe and Criminal Minds.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    The best Koontz novel in years!

    I have to admit my faith in one of my favorite authors has been shaken of late. I was disappointed in Lost Souls and his most recent work has been less then great. However in What the Knight Knows Koontz has made me a believer again with an original story, a villain you love to hate, and whose protagonist characters have depth and are incredibly refreshing. You find yourselves fearful for the characters and highly invested. It is a can't put it down read. Sit back and enjoy!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Koontz has done it again!

    Right from the start he grasps thr readerby the throat pulling you into this macrobra tail of suspense and murder. een in this preview of his next new novel due out December 28th. Avid followers of Dean Koontx will be chaffing at the bitt while waiting for its release.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2011

    thanks 4 reviews now ima read it thanks

    :)

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2011

    Excellent!

    Great read!!!!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Mystery

    Has everything you want in an excellent mystery- will really keep you thinking and guessing. Hides the ball very well, true brain candy.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    HIghly recommended

    Sustains Suspense throughout, well written and thoroughly anjoyable!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Loved what the night knows

    This is not your typical book. Some of the information goes a little too far as to the rape or the girls and the way each person is murdered. If you like Gorey books, this is for you :)

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2011

    A Definite Page Turner!

    A Must-Read from the word "GO"!. This was my first Dean Koontz novel and I loved it.
    I am definitely a fan!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2010

    AWESOME! (stock up on lightbulbs though) BUY THIS BOOK!!! It's got everything a great story needs...Mr. Koontz is SO talented!

    This book was great. I COULDN'T PUT IT DOWN! I had to keep the lights on lastnight so I could sleep!! I'm so thrilled that Mr. Koontz is 'back'. I've read nearly all of his books and in the past couple of years have been disappointed in his writing subjects. It doesn't matter, what matters is he's back to writing like he was meant to write. LOVED IT!!!! I'll be waiting in line to buy his next novel...with spare lightbulbs just bought ready to be used if needed...

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2015

    more from this reviewer

    Go see what I¿ve done, it¿s a beautiful thing. I know Dean Koon

    Go see what I’ve done, it’s a beautiful thing.

    I know Dean Koontz is a prolific writer but I had always avoided, or at least not sought out his work, until a co-worker handed me this book to read. I didn’t think I would be able to care about it and did not enjoy the prospect of slogging through 624 pages of an uninspired ghost story.

    Sometimes it’s great to be wrong! I absolutely loved this book. It’s captivating as all get out, I think I devoured the whole thing in less than a week. Koontz is very good (or super evil?) at ending each chapter with some kind of hook or reveal which makes me unable to stop reading, a quality which I both love and hate about my favorite novels. I’m also a sucker for a good procedural, and this investigation is far reaching and interesting; and while I consider myself something of a skeptic in the supernatural department, this book is still quite scary. I don’t think I could have been more impressed by Dean Koontz, I will definitely keep my ear to the ground for more work from this excellent writer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2014

    As always, great writing!

    I have to say, this is not one of my favorite SK novels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2013

    Awesome, clever, and thrilling

    I loved What The Night Knows.

    The thrill of this novel is that Koontz both 1) gives you contradicting characters' perspectives (requiring you th reader to discern what is truely happening), and 2) invites you to imagine yourself standing with the characters as the action is going on.

    Masterfully writtrn thrilling story. Highly recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2013

    Scary....

    I enjoyed this book.. it was freaky scary.... i reccomend this book to ppl who love horror stories and who love getting gosebumps from reading them... X- D

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2013

    If your into horror stories! Read this novel! It's the best thri

    If your into horror stories! Read this novel! It's the best thriller book I've ever read! His writting is a page turner, and the book gets you hooked! The chapters are a little long, but the story from a detectives perspective is fasinating! I told all my friends and family of this author, I adore his novels! If your a new reader to this author, I recommend this novel for a first read! Great cover art, and a great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2013

    Alyssa to alyx

    I will talkk to u

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2013

    A truly haunting story

    I loved this book. it was one of a few books that actually unnerved me at some parts. What an excellent story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 511 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 26