Customer Reviews for

What to Do When You Worry Too Much: A Kid's Guide to Overcoming Anxiety

Average Rating 4
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2008

    Great book for nervous kids!

    It is hard to find resources for a nervous kid, especially one that is written for a kid to read. My 9 year old reads the book on his own and takes the suggestions and puts them into action. He also finds parts funny, which is great. I get the book out when he tells me he's feeling nervous about something. It doesn't put him down for feeling that way, but helps him to see that he is normal and that he can have power over his feelings in very positive ways.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2007

    Great resource for therapists who work with children!

    I just received my copy of this book and had to write a review. This is an excellent resource for counselors, who work with anxious kids, or for parents, who have anxious kids. It is well-written for kids, ages 6-12, with good examples and illustrations. It also allows for kids to 'work-through' some of their worries by drawing and practicing techniques.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2006

    Less grumbling in our house these days

    I picked up this book because who can resist the title, and because my daughter benefited from the first book in Dawn Huebner¿s series. This one went to my son who, as the author describes, is happy as long as things are going his way, but falls apart when problems arise. We have worked the book together, and are practicing the strategies, especially those involving jumping hurdles and thinking more flexibly. I am impressed by how child-friendly the book is. My son actually looked forward to reading it, and now takes pride in turning his thoughts around. I appreciated the explanation to parents, and the clear instructions about what all of us can do to not be so stymied by problems. There is definitely less grumbling in our house these days.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2005

    A truly child-friendly (and parent-friendly) book

    A truly child-friendly (and parent-friendly) book that goes well beyond anything I have seen on the market. This book immediately engaged my daughter, helping her learn about her anxiety and, even more importantly, what to do about it. Using language, metaphors, and humor that elementary school age kids can easily relate to, this book teaches a set of specific skills to reduce unproductive worrying. And it actually worked! A unique book. I'm glad I found it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2005

    Excellent solution

    As any mental health provider will tell you, Anxiety disorders are one of the most frequent problems children face. Trying to help a frightened child talk about and address their fears is often very difficult. Children fear that even talking about the problem will make it worse. Dawn Huebner's book provides the solution. In developmentally appropriate and engaging scenairos, Dr. Huebner puts the problem in perspective and provides interventions and activities which are fun! The book provides a child friendly means of understanding how anxiety disorders can grow and affect a child's life. She than presents cognitive and behavioral skills in a manner in which the child can understand and practice. There are even workbook style formats for documenting progress and skills achieved! All of this is presented in a gradual, friendly manner which is invaluable for the anxious child. This book is a must have for mental health professionals, teachers, guidance counselors and parents of anxious children.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2005

    An informative workbook for children

    This informative and clear workbook for elementary school age children, written by Dr. Huebner, has been very helpful for my children. My 7 y.o. states, 'This book is great! Now when I worry I know what to do!'

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2015

    This book is wonderful! It is really geared towards kids and ex

    This book is wonderful! It is really geared towards kids and explains things with illustrations and stories they can relate too. My son actually enjoys our time reading this together, and asks if we can read it again. It has really helped him with his worries.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2014

    This book makes addressing anxiety, worry or concern accessible

    This book makes addressing anxiety, worry or concern accessible to kids. My child could think of worst case scenarios for just about everything. The book did two very important things for my child. First, it helped him understand that he was not the only child like that and he got this from his father. Second, it gave him a mechanism to address the concern and fear on his own. I highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2010

    Great book to help out a nervous kiddo

    The activities in this book are great to kid gets thinking and working on reducing their anxiety!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1