Customer Reviews for

What to Expect the First Year

Average Rating 4
( 36 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2003

    Good general information, bad parenting advice

    This book has good general advice on what developmental milestones your baby may be reaching and the symptoms of various illnesses. However, the parenting advice is very outdated and harsh. They want you to treat your baby like a puppy that needs to be trained to behave, instead of as an individual with wants and needs of their own. They are very oppossed to extended breast feeding, co sleeping and responding to a babies signals. I'm sure people who follow this advice have well behaved babies, but at what cost? Are these the kids that freak out in high school because they have never had their needs met? I would recommend instead The Baby Book and First Feelings for good advice on parenting a baby.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2003

    The Trusted Parenting 'Encyclopedias'

    I love What to Expect When You're Expecting as well as What to Expect the First Year. The authors did a fabulous job of including just about everything I want to know, especially the developmental and medical norms and milestones. I appreciate the friendly tone of the series. My husband and I consult the books as concerns come up and we usually come away feeling informed and reassured that everything is OK. I think every new parent should own this trusted series that eases the anxieties of a new parent.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2003

    This is the perfect book if you are far from home...

    Living in another country is hard enough, but when you are in another country and pregnant for the first time - it can be harrowing. Though I had the support of the US Military Healthcare facilities close at hand, this book was filled with the advice and instructions I would have normally gotten from my female family members - all of whom lived thousands of miles and long-distance phone bills away. When you snap awake at 2 A.M., wondering why you didn't fall immediately 'in love' with your newborn - this book even has an answer for that.... (And, they are so right ¿ True Love sometimes takes a while to grow.) This book headed off many late night panic and guilt attacks.... Entertaining and comforting, I recommend this book to any new mother - be you two or two thousand miles from home.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2002

    Surviving the first six weeks

    After my difficult deliverance with twins I had the problem with infection and endometritis, "thanks" to the horrible conditions in Yugoslav hospital. In this chapter I found any explanation of my problem which the doctors were withholding for unknown reason. This book really helped me to pass my difficult postnatal period and to return in normal life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2002

    Good General Guide for Baby's First Year

    This is an excellent book to use as a guideline for your baby's first year. I did think it was a bit preachy about breastfeeding, but all in all was happy with it. When in doubt, though, go with your own gut feeling, since this is advice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2002

    This book really came in handy!

    I started reading this book about 2 months before my son was born, my first child. It helped SO much! I was a new mom with really no help except for my husband, so it worked out great for both of us! Great tips for colicy babies too! I also appreciated the section of the book that goes over ailments & what to do to ease their discomfort.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2002

    Excellent Reading

    This is an excellent book. It will answer all your questions and more. If you want to know one thing or why something is the way that it is, this book will tell you. Any concerns about your new baby? This will give you suggestions. EXCELLENT!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2001

    great

    I have a 12 months old baby boy and I've been reading this book since he was born. I am Italian so I'm using the Italian version and I think it's great. You can really find the answer to any of your questions. I'm now going to send a copy to a friend of mine who is pregnant.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2001

    baby bible!

    I recommend this book to everyone! Everything was so clear. Cant wait to start 'the toddler years'.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2000

    A MUST READ FOR FIRST TIME PARENTS.

    This book is packed with a lot of useful information. It is great for first time parents even if they were exposed to a lot of children in their life. I always read one month ahead of my daughter to know what to expect.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2000

    a must buy! wonderful!

    i love every book in this series! i think every mother should own them! and now i am so excited that heidi murkoff has come out with books desined for kids! its wonderful! and that character angus.. my kids adore him!and you will too!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2000

    Couldn't imagine raising infants without it

    Loved the format, loved the advice. Month by month portion helps get a feel for what's next in your baby's life. Many options given for dealing with different issues. It is easy to see opinions of the authors, but their advice made sense to me, and felt right when I tried it with my children. I've referred countless times to the 'when to call the doctor' section. This book has really given me confidence as a parent. When ever I've had a question, I knew I could turn here to find an answer, or at very least an idea.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2000

    Outdated breastfeeding info...AAP recommends minimum of one year!

    I have had this book for years, and I am always frustrated by the breastfeeding 'advice'. The AAP recommends nursing for *at least* one year, and the WHO recommends at least two years. This book starts giving weaning information when your baby is only a few months old! I hope they will revise this with current information! I did enjoy looking at developmental milestones each month.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2000

    EXCELLENT BOOK FOR NEW PARENTS

    I found this book to be an excellent guide for a first time parent. It eased my stress, and I found almost every concern and problem that I had with my newborn. My kids are now 5 and 3. I buy this book as a gift for all new parents.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2000

    best book I ever owned

    I have three kids and used this book with all of them. It helped me evaluate how my child is developing and when my kids got sick it helped me to figure out what it was and if I needed to call the doctor. I like the way it was organized. It helped me alot with each of them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2000

    Prepare to be disappointed!

    This book and What to Expect when you are Expecting were given to me as a gift. Good thing because after reading only half of it I would have been very angry that I'd wasted my money on the book. I loved the first book in this series but was very dissappointed by the narrow minded opinions expressed in the second one. I expected the author to offer a better educated view on topics such as nutrition and co-sleeping, to name a few. Her suggestions on getting your baby to sleep through the night upset me so much that I haven't picked up the book since. I would not recommend this book to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1