Customer Reviews for

What to Expect the First Year

Average Rating 3.5
( 113 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(27)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Great Parenting Book

I was given this book with my first child 11 years ago. I relied heavily on the informaion with her so when my husband and I had our second child last month I immediately ordered this book. After the loss of a baby we were super paranoid and wanted to make sure our newe...
I was given this book with my first child 11 years ago. I relied heavily on the informaion with her so when my husband and I had our second child last month I immediately ordered this book. After the loss of a baby we were super paranoid and wanted to make sure our newest addition was developing properly. This book really put our minds at ease. The book is broken down into chapters based on the month of the baby. There is a section of general information followed by a series of questions and answers. I found this helpful because you do not have to read paragraph after paragraph of information that doesn't apply to your family. For examply, I skipped all the information regarding bottle feeding children. This feature allows for easy navigating and referencing. Again, I would highly recommend this book to both first time parents and parents with more than one child.

posted by 3588704 on May 16, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

This is a reissue, the information in the book is from 2003.

Don't be mislead (as I was) by the 2008 publication date listed on the Barnes & Noble website. This is simply a reissue of the 2003 edition of the book.
If you'd prefer to have the most current and up-to-date information about babycare, you may want to look elsewhere....
Don't be mislead (as I was) by the 2008 publication date listed on the Barnes & Noble website. This is simply a reissue of the 2003 edition of the book.
If you'd prefer to have the most current and up-to-date information about babycare, you may want to look elsewhere.

posted by abuvia on March 9, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2010

    Great Parenting Book

    I was given this book with my first child 11 years ago. I relied heavily on the informaion with her so when my husband and I had our second child last month I immediately ordered this book. After the loss of a baby we were super paranoid and wanted to make sure our newest addition was developing properly. This book really put our minds at ease. The book is broken down into chapters based on the month of the baby. There is a section of general information followed by a series of questions and answers. I found this helpful because you do not have to read paragraph after paragraph of information that doesn't apply to your family. For examply, I skipped all the information regarding bottle feeding children. This feature allows for easy navigating and referencing. Again, I would highly recommend this book to both first time parents and parents with more than one child.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A must have if you're new to Parenthood

    After reading the classic "What to expect when you're expecting" and having access to very useful, practical information that helped us during pregnancy, my wife and I decided to get the next book from these successful series when our babygirl arrived. It has proven to be a very valuable resource and guide to find answers to all FAQs you have as a new parent during the 1st year of your child.
    Well written, with lots of practical examples, it has become our family advisor to better understand and deal with all common baby issues from our daughter.

    If you're a new dad or mom I recommended it as your 1st valuable guide to parenthood. I didn't give it a 5 only because I would love to see better illustrations and a nicer presentation, but in terms of information value it's definitely worth the price.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Good for New Parents

    I totally loved this book when I had my first baby. It's a complete baby guide where you can find the basics and answeres for your most common questions. By reading it, I felt a lot more secure and confident about raising my child, besides, the information is constantly bing updated.
    For my second baby, however, I didn't use it much, I relied mostly on my own experience.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    A good read and very helpful!

    I liked the wide variety of information but I feel the authors went overboard on the whole breastfeeding issue. Overall though, a good book for first time parents. I also enjoyed that the authors covered premature birth as my son was born at 27 wks. gestation.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Like it a lot!

    Well, my wife loves it and I am reading too so... GO FOR IT!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    I use it everyday.

    I first read it all the way through and then I began to use it as a reference. I even read things in past months and it reassured me about some things. I use it everyday as a reference... when poop is funny, when there is none,when she has rashes, when she has screaming teething pain, everything. I wish it had more about helping baby sleep, but it still covers it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2010

    Very helpful

    My husband and I took a parenting class and all the info they gave us coincided with what this book recommends. The book is cheaper than the class. We just had a baby girl and I have used this book a lot already. It's very helpful for first-time parents.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    New Mama loves this book!

    I had to get this book after reading What to Expect When Your Expecting during my pregnancy. As a first time mom I had a lot of questions and a lot of nagging worries once I brought my baby home, this book answered almost all my questions and gave me a lot of reassurance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2009

    Essential

    Great to have on hand especially when you aren't sure what to do in "that moment." Nice insight into what cues you should be looking for in your child. Not the "bible" that I have heard others say about it but very good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    What to Expect

    I really am enjoying this revised version of the classic "Baby Manual". I used the "What to Expect" Trilogy with my now 5 year old son and I am continuing with the revised versions with my new born daughter. It is a great book for any new or soon-to-be new mom.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2007

    A reviewer

    I picked this title up right before giving birth to our son this past september! As first time parents, this book is an awesome baby 'bible,' if you will! Great!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2004

    ok but...

    This book is great as a reference on develpment, illnesses and so forth and really helped me to know what was normal vs. something to be concerned about! I really liked the index too - very thorough and easy to grab the info I need when I have my hands full and need something fast. The info on breastfeeding falls short so I only gave it 4 stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2