Customer Reviews for

What to Expect the First Year

Average Rating 3.5
( 112 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(27)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Great Parenting Book

I was given this book with my first child 11 years ago. I relied heavily on the informaion with her so when my husband and I had our second child last month I immediately ordered this book. After the loss of a baby we were super paranoid and wanted to make sure our newe...
I was given this book with my first child 11 years ago. I relied heavily on the informaion with her so when my husband and I had our second child last month I immediately ordered this book. After the loss of a baby we were super paranoid and wanted to make sure our newest addition was developing properly. This book really put our minds at ease. The book is broken down into chapters based on the month of the baby. There is a section of general information followed by a series of questions and answers. I found this helpful because you do not have to read paragraph after paragraph of information that doesn't apply to your family. For examply, I skipped all the information regarding bottle feeding children. This feature allows for easy navigating and referencing. Again, I would highly recommend this book to both first time parents and parents with more than one child.

posted by 3588704 on May 16, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

This is a reissue, the information in the book is from 2003.

Don't be mislead (as I was) by the 2008 publication date listed on the Barnes & Noble website. This is simply a reissue of the 2003 edition of the book.
If you'd prefer to have the most current and up-to-date information about babycare, you may want to look elsewhere....
Don't be mislead (as I was) by the 2008 publication date listed on the Barnes & Noble website. This is simply a reissue of the 2003 edition of the book.
If you'd prefer to have the most current and up-to-date information about babycare, you may want to look elsewhere.

posted by abuvia on March 9, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted January 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    More Than I Expected

    I just bought this book for a firend of mine who's having a baby in June 2009. I briefly went through it and found that it was really more than I expected. It's a very complete and thorough reference for all of the "need to know" things during that first year. I recommend it highly.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    GREAT BOOK

    WE HAVE LEARNED A LOT SO FAR. VERY INFORMATIVE.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2010

    Excellent Guideline for 1st Time Parents

    This book is a great source for new parents, because it breaks each month down and explains milestones for that month. It goes into detail about timeframes for development, but it also explains that children develop at different intervals. This book explains everything from changing diapers and bathing to talking and walking. I know that a lot of this is common sense, but it can reassure what you already know, and also give good tips that you haven't thought of. I like that you can read the book month by month, when your child reaches different ages, and not have to read the whole thing at once. It also has an index and you can look up certain developmental milestones or issues you are having, instead of trying to remember where it was in the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    I also recommend Sugar's "The Silent Crisis Destroying America's Brightest Minds"

    What All Americans Need to Know About Their Child's Education

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    What To Expect The First Year is a must have for any new mother.

    I am a new grandmother who purchased this book for my daughter, Kaitlyn, who had her first baby. When I was pregnant with Kaitlyn, 25 years ago, I purchased all of the books by Heidi Murkoff beginning with What to Expect When you are Expecting all the way through What to Expect the Toddler Years. I wish I had held on to all of those books, however, when Kaitlyn's friend became pregnant in high school, I gave them all to her to help her out.

    This book is like the old time version of Doctor Spock's book that my own mother had, but much much better. It is easy reading, with great illustrations, and it is so easy to follow month by month. When I had Kaitlyn, I used to get so excited at the end of the month to read the information for the next month in anticipation of all the wonderful things I could expect to happen.

    Also, as a new mother, I had many questions and concerns, and this book answered all of those questions, and put my mind at ease. I would even look up information In the book before I called the pediatrician's office, and in many cases, I was satisfied and relieved that everything was just fine with my daughter and didn't even need to make the call. This book was like having your own private pediatrician at home.

    After Kaitlyn, I had two more daughters, and with each pregnancy and birth, I used these books faithfully to help me out day by day. This book, in particular, makes a wonderful gift for any new mother. It really is a "must have" on the shelf for new moms!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2010

    Very Informative: Wish it was available for the Nook though

    My first child was born last September and I have used this book so much it is dog-eared. I very much recommend this book and the website to anyone. I do wish, however, that I could get this book for the Nook. And the subsequent book for the Toddler Years.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    An excellent resource

    I purchased this book as part of a permanent library in anticipation of my first child. I find that this is a solid resource for many of my first-timer questions. There is a lack of info for premature babies and resulting breastfeeding difficulties, but otherwise it is well thought out and comprehensive. I would recommend it to others, especially those expecting their first children.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great Book for First Time Mom's

    I would have to say this is a perfect book for first time mom's. It answered most of the questions that I had come across as being a first time mother. There were questions in the book that I was afraid to ask the doctor because they were slightly petty but the book answered them thoroughly for me

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2009

    Life saver

    Thank goodness we bought this book before our son was born in 2005. This was our first choice to look up the answers to million little things you wonder as a new parent the first 4 weeks of your child's life. We found it very helpful. Some things on sleep, food, etc - are not mean to be as a doctrine bur a suggestion; so if you read with open mind I think you will find this book very valuable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2006

    Couldn't live without it

    During my pregnancy, 'What to Expect When You're Expecting' became my owner's manual to explain everything I was feeling. When the baby came I felt lost--until I bought this book. The Q & A format is down-to-earth and easy to skim quickly (important with a baby around). If you liked 'WTEWYE,' you'll love this book. Reading it was comforting, reassuring, and made me feel like an old friend had returned.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2004

    Great reference for new parents

    My wife and I were recently blessed with our first child. It was a LOT of work! This book was a handy reference for all those things we weren't sure how to deal with, including crying, sleeping, and eating (which is all your baby will do for the first several months anyway). Chapters focus on month-by-month development, and there are additional chapters that focus on other broader subjects, such as health issues, special needs children, postpartum recovery, etc. I only wish I had read more of this book before the baby arrived, because there is a lot to learn. There was more than one time that I had to frantically flip through the book to get some quick advice. The pediatrician authors are great at simplifying everything, although their prose gets a little annoying at times. If you are expecting a child or recently had one, you need this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2004

    A Must Have

    Of all the books I've bought and received as gifts, this is by far the most resourceful. Practically everything a parent should know is in this book. As a first time mom, it was a great help. When I had questions or concerns, I would look it up in this book and then call my baby's pediatrician, only to have him or his nurse give me basically the same advice. It's a must have for any parent, new or veteran.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2003

    The Trusted Parenting 'Encyclopedias' for more than 2 decades

    loved What to Expect When You're Expecting as well as What to Expect the First Year. The authors did a fabulous job of including just about everything I wanted to know, especially the developmental and medical norms and milestones. I appreciate the friendly tone of the comprehensive series. My husband and I consult these reference books as concerns come up and we usually come away with a number of 'how to' suggestions and quite a bit of reassurance that everything is going to be OK. I think every new parent should own this trusted series that eases the many anxieties of a new parent. In addition to THE WHAT TO EXPECT BOOKS, I highly recommend THE POCKET PARENT (also published by Workman) as a compatible little pocket guru of sanity saving suggestions focused on the most challenging behaviors of the next age group...2's, 3's, 4's,& 5's

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2