Customer Reviews for

What to Expect When You're Expecting

Average Rating 3.5
( 379 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(159)

4 Star

(89)

3 Star

(47)

2 Star

(29)

1 Star

(55)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

I love this book!

I ordered two different books on pregnancy after finding out I am expecting my first baby. I have never been pregnant before and this book gives me all the information I need. My husband and I have been reading it every week for more than 5 months now. I never even refe...
I ordered two different books on pregnancy after finding out I am expecting my first baby. I have never been pregnant before and this book gives me all the information I need. My husband and I have been reading it every week for more than 5 months now. I never even refer to the other book I ordered any more. It answers all my questions and is a great resource, especially for first time moms!

posted by FirstTimeMommy on November 20, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

43 out of 54 people found this review helpful.

Alarmist & Unrealistic

After reading this book, I have no idea why it comes so highly recommended by so many people. Huge portions of the book dwell on possible complications and frightening scenarios without stressing that, though possible, most of these scenarios happen in a small majority...
After reading this book, I have no idea why it comes so highly recommended by so many people. Huge portions of the book dwell on possible complications and frightening scenarios without stressing that, though possible, most of these scenarios happen in a small majority of cases. I found the book to be remarkably condescending particularly with its repeated warnings to lay off alcohol and drugs; I'm not disputing the importance of avoiding each, I'm saying that it's really not necessary to repeat the warnings so often at the expense of not offering other suggestions on health and well being. In addition, the book gave the impression that for the duration of pregnancy you more or less cease to be an individual and instead are charged with the lone task of incubating your baby. Most women I know, myself included, took the job seriously but didn't feel that they needed to sacrifice most aspects of themselves in the process. I also thought many of the book's suggestions were highly unrealistic. For example, one segment suggested that if you're a caffeine junkie or looking for a subsitute for something like a drink after work to try and subsitute something healthy for you and the baby. Their suggestion? Scrubbing some vegetables. Yeah. Because scrubbing vegetables comes even close to something you do to pamper yourself. All told, I just didn't feel that the book was that positive or did much to address positive solutions to questions.

posted by 1167309 on July 27, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2007

    Who wants to be stressed and terrified their whole pregnancy?

    Seriously, MUCH better books out there. This was a scary ride! I threw it out when I was about halfway through it. Pregnancy is not a condition or illness which is what this books make you feel like it is. Not impressed. And what is up with it making it sound like your giving birth in 1900? Need to get up to speed with womens rights and all information.

    23 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2008

    Terrifying!

    As a first time pregnant mother, this book has made me afraid of being pregnant! Every terrible thing that could possibly happen to your unborn child is clearly laid out in this book. I finally had to quit reading it and just put it away. I agree it is important to be informed, but books like this just scare any new mother and take the fun out of being pregnant!

    17 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2008

    Terrible book

    This book is terrible. As if in pregnancy, you're not emotional enough. The second I opened the book and began reading, the whole book is about everything that can POSSIBLY go wrong in pregnancy. Forgive me, but I like to think optimistically, and this book has no optimism whatsoever. If you like the idea of reading about your child possibly dying in utero in millions of different ways, then by all means, but I would never suggest this as a pregnancy read. NOT AT ALL! Just a forwarning.

    12 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2007

    the worst pregnancy/childbirth book out there

    This book is a frightening look at what is one of the most normal and intimate of human experiences. The tone is often condescending and the information basic, at best. It approaches pregnancy and childbirth as 'medical conditions', as if women are incapable of making sense of a pregnancy on their own. I have 3 children- with birth experiences in a hospital setting and at home and CANNOT RECOMMEND this book to anyone, in particular those who view pregnancy as a normal condition.

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2004

    Take worry and stress to the next level...Buy this book.

    They should rename this book 'What Could Possibly Go Wrong When You're Expecting.' This book is written in an alarmist fashion ... the last thing you need when you're pregnant. They tell you what awful things could be signaled by certain symptoms; often your chances of getting said awful thing is low, but they don't tell you any percentages. They'd rather freak you out...even if chances are, your symptoms are normal. I don't know why this book is so popular. Every page is a downer...Just look at the woman on the cover illustration. Does she look happy? No. Probably because the book in her hand is this one, she just read it, and it's freaked her out! I picked up a week-by-week book at K-Mart (see below,) and it is wonderful. I threw this book away...I didn't even want to give it to someone else. Reading this book, you wouldn't imagine, but some women actually find pregnancy the best experience of their lifetime. Get the advice of your doctor when something goes wrong or if you're worried. Don't buy this book. Enjoy your pregnancy.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2011

    waste of money

    overall, I found that this book was fearmongering.....it made pregnancy and childbirth sound like something horrid.....there are 100s of better childbirth/pregnancy books to choose from!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2010

    First time moms; IGNORE THIS BOOK

    I was a pregnant rookie and this book filled my head with dread. It should be retitled "You Can's Do Anything When You're Pregnant", meaning if you do anything but excersize and eat right then you are doomed to harm your unborn fetus in unimaginable ways. Instead, listen to your own better judgement. You're baby will be fine (even if you do eat fast food and yes, dare I say it, smoke cigarettes).

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2005

    Beware!

    This book has an overly medical approach to pregnancy. It will leave you paranoid and will hinder you in decision making. This tells you everything that can go wrong and treats invasive interventions as routine. I would not waste my time and money on it, if I were you.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2010

    DO NOT BUY THIS BOOK

    It is loaded with bad information which is sure to make an expectant mother more nervous than she already is, much more than she ever should be. There are much better books available that have better information, presented in a much less threatening and intimidating way. Try the book by Simkin and Klauss, Pregnancy, Childbirth and the Newborn. It's so much better and you won't regret it.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2005

    Many better books to choose from

    This book offers the most very basic information only. The childbirth section provides more instruction on how to be a patient of the OB, hospital, nurse, etc. than on how to cope with labor and everything it entails. Wow -- talk about teaching a woman how to be a lemming!!!! Do yourself a favor and buy a more comprehensive book that explores OPTIONS instead of telling you how to be the perfect lemming. Of the 20+ books I have read on pregnancy, this was the very worst one, and yet you hear about it all the time! A first-time mom especially deserves to read a more comprehensive book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2012

    Wow, I bet you had no idea that there were so many things that c

    Wow, I bet you had no idea that there were so many things that could go wrong! Do yourself a favor and skip this book. Go pick up Your Pregnancy Week by Week. Still a highly medical model, but it's more fun to read and doesn't spend the whole time making you feel like you're googling worst case scenarios!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2004

    Not Worth the Money

    I read this book as a recommendation and I was so disappointed with it. I had my first child 4 months ago so obviously I read this while I was expecting. For those of us who are first timers, it does not address many of the questions that a new mom has. There are no clear cut answers to many of the questions in this book. Any woman that is pregnant for the first time in her life, naturally has questions about what is happening and this book does nothing to help. I would recommend 'Pregnancy for Dummies', this book is a great read for any Mom - to - be.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2013

    Alarmist and infantilizing

    What a terrible book. The alarmist approach (focusing on anything and everything that could go wrong) is matched by an infantilizing tone ('mommies' instead of 'women' or 'mothers' is an especially salient example) and overall bad writing. Awful and useless.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2013

    This book does a great job of telling you everything that could


    This book does a great job of telling you everything that could possibly go wrong.  As if pregnancy isn't scary enough, this book takes fear about your pregnancy to a whole new level.  I got less than halfway through the book and decided I couldn't read it anymore.  My husband and I have been trying to get pregnant for over 3 years.  I want to enjoy being pregnant, not constantly afraid that if I make the smallest mistakes (like skipping a meal because I'm just not hungry), I'll kill my baby.  I do not recommend this book for anyone.  

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2012

    I recommend this book

    For burning in a fire! Crappy book and it made my wife more nervous than she already was! This book deserves a 0 rating.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2011

    A

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Posted July 29, 2011

    Not Nook Friendly

    I would rather have the actual book than the Nook version. I'm sure this book has lots of useful information, but its difficult to navigate with the Nook. The hyperlinks don't always take you to the correct place. The tables are a jumbled mess. The pictures are small. The bookmarks do not work. I'm in search of another good pregnancy resource that's compatible with the Nook. Very disappointed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2012

    To person below me

    No. I havent read it but i know its not cuz me moms haz.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2012

    Good but not nook friendly

    Great book just not good layout much better as a real book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Amazon has it for $4 cheaper on kindle.

    Amazon has it for $4 cheaper on kindle.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3