Customer Reviews for

What to Expect When You're Expecting

Average Rating 3.5
( 380 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(159)

4 Star

(89)

3 Star

(47)

2 Star

(30)

1 Star

(55)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

I love this book!

I ordered two different books on pregnancy after finding out I am expecting my first baby. I have never been pregnant before and this book gives me all the information I need. My husband and I have been reading it every week for more than 5 months now. I never even refe...
I ordered two different books on pregnancy after finding out I am expecting my first baby. I have never been pregnant before and this book gives me all the information I need. My husband and I have been reading it every week for more than 5 months now. I never even refer to the other book I ordered any more. It answers all my questions and is a great resource, especially for first time moms!

posted by FirstTimeMommy on November 20, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

43 out of 54 people found this review helpful.

Alarmist & Unrealistic

After reading this book, I have no idea why it comes so highly recommended by so many people. Huge portions of the book dwell on possible complications and frightening scenarios without stressing that, though possible, most of these scenarios happen in a small majority...
After reading this book, I have no idea why it comes so highly recommended by so many people. Huge portions of the book dwell on possible complications and frightening scenarios without stressing that, though possible, most of these scenarios happen in a small majority of cases. I found the book to be remarkably condescending particularly with its repeated warnings to lay off alcohol and drugs; I'm not disputing the importance of avoiding each, I'm saying that it's really not necessary to repeat the warnings so often at the expense of not offering other suggestions on health and well being. In addition, the book gave the impression that for the duration of pregnancy you more or less cease to be an individual and instead are charged with the lone task of incubating your baby. Most women I know, myself included, took the job seriously but didn't feel that they needed to sacrifice most aspects of themselves in the process. I also thought many of the book's suggestions were highly unrealistic. For example, one segment suggested that if you're a caffeine junkie or looking for a subsitute for something like a drink after work to try and subsitute something healthy for you and the baby. Their suggestion? Scrubbing some vegetables. Yeah. Because scrubbing vegetables comes even close to something you do to pamper yourself. All told, I just didn't feel that the book was that positive or did much to address positive solutions to questions.

posted by 1167309 on July 27, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 89 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2004

    Moms and Dads to be ... Gets this book!

    This book was my greatest help during my first pregnancy. It was full of great information and I loved the monthly details on what I was to expect and how big the baby might be, ect. It was a gift from my sister and brother in law and it was very helpful.I think there are a lot of tips and good advises for moms and dads to be !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2004

    Buy this book

    I really enjoyed finding out the answers to many specific questions. Although I am worried I can't follow all the diet recommendations. There is way too much food to eat in a day according to their suggestions. I especially liked the month by month developmental stages they review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2004

    I have read it again!

    I have several children and a new baby. We are a blended family. I love this book and it takes on new meaning each time I read it. It is head and shoulders above the rest. Keep it for each child. Two others that you should try to read BEFORE baby comes is Pocket Parent by Gail Reichlin and Mommy-CEO, by syndicated family expert, Jodie Lynn. Both have so much wisdom and should be a must do before baby comes to see what is in store for toddlerhood. All three are treasures for today's society.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2003

    Good advice saves my babies life

    Well worth the read, although sometimes frightening! I read something in this book which talks about movement of the fetus and how important that is....did their 'juice tests', my baby still didn't move. Went to the dr, told her that my baby hadnt moved for 2 days. After being monitored overnight, I delivered by emergency c-section, my 3 pound baby girl, 8 weeks early, because her umbilical cord was tangled around her torso, and was crimped in one place. Had I not read the section on fetal movement, I would never have known anything was wrong, and so, for this, I have to say, this book proved invaluable to me, and I believe, helped to save my babies life! She is now a healthy 7 year old! As 'scary' and straight forward as this book may sometime seem, I am eternally grateful to the authors. Blessings

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2003

    An essential guide through the months of pregnancy

    When my wife and I first learned we were expecting our first baby, we went to the bookstore to find a book to let us know what lay ahead. Fortunately, we stumbled across What to Expect When You're Expecting, which we later learned seems to have been read by every parent our age we know. The book has so much information to offer that we rarely had a question go unanswered. The tone is friendly and non-threatening, and never seemed to be too preachy about any particular subject. The only thing that got on my nerves was the author's disconcerting use of frequent paranthetical interruptions (much like this one in the middle of this sentence) that broke up the train of thought and made it hard for me to read out loud to my wife as we went to sleep at night. The 'sequel' (What to Expect the First Year) shares the same annoying tendency. Other than that admittedly minor complaint, we enjoyed the book and learned a lot. If you are pregnant, or trying, you need this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2003

    Good, but not best.

    I feel that this was a very informative book, but sometimes too informative. It's a bit heavier than I had bargained for; more technical.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2003

    What to Expect When You're Expecting

    This is one of those books that some say is the greatest since sliced bread, while others say don't waste your money. I think it is a matter of oppinion. There are parts of this book that are preachy and scary and I wish I never read..but to the most part, It is a top rated book. It truly did help me through my pregnancy and for that reason I recommend it. Just don't take everything so serious.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2002

    great guide

    This book truly is indispensible, especially since it also includes information on postpartum difficulties, a new father section, and a newborn chapter. Especially good for first-timers. My only complaint is that there are no pictures (detailed ones, anyway) of what the fetus looks like, which is something that really interested me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 89 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 5