Customer Reviews for

What to Expect When You're Expecting

Average Rating 3.5
( 382 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(160)

4 Star

(90)

3 Star

(47)

2 Star

(30)

1 Star

(55)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

I love this book!

I ordered two different books on pregnancy after finding out I am expecting my first baby. I have never been pregnant before and this book gives me all the information I need. My husband and I have been reading it every week for more than 5 months now. I never even refe...
I ordered two different books on pregnancy after finding out I am expecting my first baby. I have never been pregnant before and this book gives me all the information I need. My husband and I have been reading it every week for more than 5 months now. I never even refer to the other book I ordered any more. It answers all my questions and is a great resource, especially for first time moms!

posted by FirstTimeMommy on November 20, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

43 out of 54 people found this review helpful.

Alarmist & Unrealistic

After reading this book, I have no idea why it comes so highly recommended by so many people. Huge portions of the book dwell on possible complications and frightening scenarios without stressing that, though possible, most of these scenarios happen in a small majority...
After reading this book, I have no idea why it comes so highly recommended by so many people. Huge portions of the book dwell on possible complications and frightening scenarios without stressing that, though possible, most of these scenarios happen in a small majority of cases. I found the book to be remarkably condescending particularly with its repeated warnings to lay off alcohol and drugs; I'm not disputing the importance of avoiding each, I'm saying that it's really not necessary to repeat the warnings so often at the expense of not offering other suggestions on health and well being. In addition, the book gave the impression that for the duration of pregnancy you more or less cease to be an individual and instead are charged with the lone task of incubating your baby. Most women I know, myself included, took the job seriously but didn't feel that they needed to sacrifice most aspects of themselves in the process. I also thought many of the book's suggestions were highly unrealistic. For example, one segment suggested that if you're a caffeine junkie or looking for a subsitute for something like a drink after work to try and subsitute something healthy for you and the baby. Their suggestion? Scrubbing some vegetables. Yeah. Because scrubbing vegetables comes even close to something you do to pamper yourself. All told, I just didn't feel that the book was that positive or did much to address positive solutions to questions.

posted by 1167309 on July 27, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 160 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted November 20, 2009

    I love this book!

    I ordered two different books on pregnancy after finding out I am expecting my first baby. I have never been pregnant before and this book gives me all the information I need. My husband and I have been reading it every week for more than 5 months now. I never even refer to the other book I ordered any more. It answers all my questions and is a great resource, especially for first time moms!

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Expect good things!

    This is probably the most comphrensive pregnancy guide I've ever read. It's got everything!! Which, might, be a problem as pregnancy tends to turn on the worry mechanism in your brain! Regardless, this is a great book, big and heavy, with most anything a pregnant woman needs to know.

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2012

    This book is very good. It is well written with many answers to

    This book is very good. It is well written with many answers to the questions I have had. Many times its put my mind at ease because what I was experiencing is considered normal. It gives good advice on what to eat, how to exercise, and what not to do. Unlike many, I don't feel that it was offensive or alarming. If the subject had nothing to do with me or what I was going through, I skipped it. And most of the issues this book deals with are everyday issues, such as fatigue. I am a first time mother, and I really liked this book.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Essential when pregnant. It helped me with the birth of my first

    Essential when pregnant. It helped me with the birth of my first son Alexander and I felt comforted having it by my side when I became pregnant this March. 

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2009

    Love this book!

    I love this book. It's so easy to read and so informative. It's set up is similar to a magazine.. It's just really easy to read. A lot of the book is in a Q&A format which is nice and straight forward. It covers pretty much everything. I even bought a copy for my best friend for Christmas and she loves it too! It has a lot of interesting facts and really puts you at ease. It covers everything from before you even think about getting pregnant to way past giving birth. Great read!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    This is so helpful

    OMG I so loved this book, I was given it as a gift and probably the best book on pregancy I have ever read! I was pregnant with my forst child and was so scared after hearing all the horror stories I was told. This book helped me out when I was in doubt on what to do! I am now going to buy the book to give to my close friend who just found out she is expecting!!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2013

    U stupid ppl

    U know not to lick poop (pass it on)

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    This is my first time for being a father and my wife being a mother. This book came highly recommended. We love reading it and it's been very informative.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Fun, Entertaining and Educatonal!

    I bought this book as soon as I found out I was pregnant. Thus far, I've read through the chapter on the 3rd month of pregnancy and everything is great. It's well written, funny, and I'm learning from it. I don't plan on finishing yet, mainly becasue I want to read trimester by trimester, but I have learned from it. There's plenty of information on what to expect with your body changes, the baby's growth, "side effects" advice on how to deal with morning sickness, and more! If I have any friends get pregnant in the future, I am going to advise they read this.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    For All Mothers To Be

    I had heard of this book from my friends, so when my sister found she was pregnant, I decided buy it for her. Well, even though I've nevr read it, she raves about it and I trust her opinion. Her comments focus on it's easy to read/understand format and it covers just about everything you could ever think of or run into. She thanks me on a regular basis for finding this book for her, and that makes me feel good.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2014

    Birth stories

    I'd love if I could read some excellent birth stories. This book sounds great thought

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2014

    Does anyone have stories???

    Do any of you have stories of having babies thanks!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2014

    Highly recommend

    5star

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2014

    Highly recommended

    i bought this book for my daughter in law who is expecting her first child. this booked helped me when i was pregnant so i thought she would enjoy it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    I've had 5 children, and I used an older version of this book wi

    I've had 5 children, and I used an older version of this book with every single pregnancy! I thought the information was educational, and extremely beneficial. And, as a mom who DID have some complications during my pregnancies, I valued the information in this book! I've given it as a gift to expectant moms for years, and those moms have gone on to give it to others. If this book wasn't GREAT, it wouldn't have stood the test of time! I'm ordering this version right now as a gift and I'm confident it will be as well received by this new expectant mom, as all the moms I've given it to before her.. After reading some of the negative comments about this book, I'm at a loss as to what those reviewers are taking offense to, to be honest. I was honored to be bringing new life into my family, and I wanted to give my babies the very best start to their lives. This book encouraged me in that goal!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2014

    Great

    Lovedit

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2013

    Good

    I liked a lot

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2013

    :))

    Helpful book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2011

    Very Helpful

    As a new mother i am very nervous. This is my first pregnancy and the book is and has answered all my questions. Something i turn to when i have a question that my mother cant answer. Informative and organized with lots of information

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2011

    Must Have!

    I am in the 9th month of my second pregnancy and I love this book. It is a must have for me. I bought the new addition at the begining of this pregnancy and if I have a 3rd child will probably buy a new addition then as well. There are so many questions that arise during pregnancy that this book helps to answer. It also talks about your babies growth and development week by week. Some people have commented that it just has a lot of negative stuff in it. I do not find this to be true. The book is informative about all kinds of different things related to pregnancy, pre-pregnancy and labor. The author states in the book not to read the chapter on when there is a problem unless there is a problem. This book has comforted me in numerous situations when i was worried something was wrong but after reading up on it I realize it is completely normal. It has also helped me stau on track with when to join a bithing class, when to pack my hospital bags, when to find a pediatrican. This book is great! If you are pregnant or trying to conceieve you should have this book!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 160 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8