Customer Reviews for

Whatever You Like

Average Rating 4
( 1244 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(510)

4 Star

(327)

3 Star

(196)

2 Star

(96)

1 Star

(115)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Cruising the Shores!

Wow! This book was so amazing to me that I could not scroll down fast enough since it was a E-Book. I continually admired Maureen Smith books, so I know I would never be disheartened with her books. Maureen Smith put her foot in this book. The main characters, Roderic...
Wow! This book was so amazing to me that I could not scroll down fast enough since it was a E-Book. I continually admired Maureen Smith books, so I know I would never be disheartened with her books. Maureen Smith put her foot in this book. The main characters, Roderick and Lena were so endearing and special that I was rooting for them throughout the story. I liked how Maureen Smith gave you a taste of Japan as the main characters relationship blossoms even as the Cherry blossom trees bloom in the spring. Also, the passion among these characters were exploding as well as steaming hot. I had to take a break from reading when my eyes popped out of my socket. Ladies I really hope there are no children around when reading this book! Maureen, keep them coming and please write stories on those curious secondary characters. I could see they got a story to tell.

posted by PE on November 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

14 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

Too much sex!

I should have read the synopsis before purchasing this book. I didn't like this one, it had too much sex. I guess this is what today's generation is looking for. Call me old fashion but what happened to the "oooh's, aaaaah's and wasn't that sweet" in the romance boo...
I should have read the synopsis before purchasing this book. I didn't like this one, it had too much sex. I guess this is what today's generation is looking for. Call me old fashion but what happened to the "oooh's, aaaaah's and wasn't that sweet" in the romance books with a plot that touches your heart? So if you want to read something with explicit sexual verbiage and an abundance of sex scenes, this is it!! I'm still a fan of Ms. Smith, but this one didn't do it for me.

posted by foxyTF on November 7, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1257 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 63
  • Posted November 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Cruising the Shores!

    Wow! This book was so amazing to me that I could not scroll down fast enough since it was a E-Book. I continually admired Maureen Smith books, so I know I would never be disheartened with her books. Maureen Smith put her foot in this book. The main characters, Roderick and Lena were so endearing and special that I was rooting for them throughout the story. I liked how Maureen Smith gave you a taste of Japan as the main characters relationship blossoms even as the Cherry blossom trees bloom in the spring. Also, the passion among these characters were exploding as well as steaming hot. I had to take a break from reading when my eyes popped out of my socket. Ladies I really hope there are no children around when reading this book! Maureen, keep them coming and please write stories on those curious secondary characters. I could see they got a story to tell.

    18 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2010

    Recommended

    A pretty good book. A little too overly sexual in some places. Wish we'd learned a little more about the Roderick. Why are the characters on the front cover white when the characters are black?

    16 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 7, 2010

    Too much sex!

    I should have read the synopsis before purchasing this book. I didn't like this one, it had too much sex. I guess this is what today's generation is looking for. Call me old fashion but what happened to the "oooh's, aaaaah's and wasn't that sweet" in the romance books with a plot that touches your heart? So if you want to read something with explicit sexual verbiage and an abundance of sex scenes, this is it!! I'm still a fan of Ms. Smith, but this one didn't do it for me.

    14 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2010

    very concerned

    Dear ms. Mislead
    Sorry your choice of reading is so short sighted. I have read both black and white romance books and can relate just fine TO BOTH! Passion is passion in any skin!It's people like you that have caused humanity to excel at such a slow pace! Perhaps this was a test for you not to be so quick to judge a book buy it's cover, and be more open to what's inside! Bless your ignorant heart...FYI I'm white and loved the book;) Deal with it!

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2010

    Attraction, Lust, and Love!!!

    In regards to "Anonymous' comment", instead of hindering my interest in reading this book, it only increased it. In fact, I wanted to formulate my own opinion on this book. This is actually my first Maureen Smith novel. I have to say, I thoroughly enjoyed it!!! This book had nothing to do with black or white romance. It had everything to do with attraction, lust, and love that everyone can truly relate to. If you're interested in a really good, steamy book, which also happens to tug at your heart strings, then download it!!! I'm glad I did.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2010

    STEAMY!

    The sex scenes were a bit raunchy, but the actual story was a sweet romance. I want a man like Roderick!!!

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2011

    amazing........hot......black people?

    the story was really god and had a unique story plot like pretty eoman but the cover misled people into thinming the story was about a white couple and not a blacm couple i ,ove maureen smith's books and the fact that the cover is notportraying black live is rediculus.....a picture is worth a thousand words

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Good erotic read

    The sex scenes are good and I like the couple. For the sake of constructive criticism though, I'd like to point out the plot isn't all that amazing. The whole story is basically a prolonged written porno with romance

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2011

    MIsleading cover but good book

    Whoever chose the cover art should be fired. The book is good, but it's weird realizing halfway through that the couple is black and I'd already built an image of them in my head as otherwise. It threw me off totally at that point and I stopped relating to the customers. The story is good and well written, but I was left feeling like I was tricked. I wish I'd actually read more of the reviews rather than just looking at the ratings.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Whatever You Like - Great Read!!

    By day Lena is a grant writer but by night she is a escort to some of Chicago's wealthiest men. She has one policy not to sleep with them and she is finding that hard to do when she meets Roderick Brand. The are immediately attracted to each other and Roderick is determined to have Lena. Lena on the other hand she doesn't want to but she will find out how relentless Roderick is when he wants something. I loved this one, I could not put it down. It is definitely a great read and I am hoping that Roderick's twin gets a story of his own.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2010

    Exceptional READ!

    This book was a nonstop feast. I loved every second of it. I couldn't put it down (eventually I did to go to bed).

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2010

    Highly Recommended

    I could not put it down great read!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2011

    Don't waste your time

    Totally predictable.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2011

    Waste of time.

    More about sex than two people falling love. Not that well written. The writing is contrived, and the interaction between the characters is not that interesting.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2011

    Whitewashed Cover?

    The book is a fun read. But WHY are the cover characters white?

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2011

    Teetered on porn.........

    the cover didn't portray the story being about a nubian relationship, but that didn't matter. the story was quite hot, not what i usually read but it kept you reading.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2010

    boring

    after the first 3 sex scenes, i was over this book. Not a meaningful read at all. waste of time

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2010

    eh.

    good idea, but pretty sad writing, and the plot was taken out by all of the sex scenes.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2010

    Too much Sex

    Every other page there is a sex scene. Much of the plot is cut out because of it. Dont waste your time.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2010

    Terrible

    No plot.

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1257 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 63