Customer Reviews for

Whatever You Like

Average Rating 4
( 1244 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(510)

4 Star

(327)

3 Star

(196)

2 Star

(96)

1 Star

(115)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Cruising the Shores!

Wow! This book was so amazing to me that I could not scroll down fast enough since it was a E-Book. I continually admired Maureen Smith books, so I know I would never be disheartened with her books. Maureen Smith put her foot in this book. The main characters, Roderic...
Wow! This book was so amazing to me that I could not scroll down fast enough since it was a E-Book. I continually admired Maureen Smith books, so I know I would never be disheartened with her books. Maureen Smith put her foot in this book. The main characters, Roderick and Lena were so endearing and special that I was rooting for them throughout the story. I liked how Maureen Smith gave you a taste of Japan as the main characters relationship blossoms even as the Cherry blossom trees bloom in the spring. Also, the passion among these characters were exploding as well as steaming hot. I had to take a break from reading when my eyes popped out of my socket. Ladies I really hope there are no children around when reading this book! Maureen, keep them coming and please write stories on those curious secondary characters. I could see they got a story to tell.

posted by PE on November 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

14 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

Too much sex!

I should have read the synopsis before purchasing this book. I didn't like this one, it had too much sex. I guess this is what today's generation is looking for. Call me old fashion but what happened to the "oooh's, aaaaah's and wasn't that sweet" in the romance boo...
I should have read the synopsis before purchasing this book. I didn't like this one, it had too much sex. I guess this is what today's generation is looking for. Call me old fashion but what happened to the "oooh's, aaaaah's and wasn't that sweet" in the romance books with a plot that touches your heart? So if you want to read something with explicit sexual verbiage and an abundance of sex scenes, this is it!! I'm still a fan of Ms. Smith, but this one didn't do it for me.

posted by foxyTF on November 7, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 327 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 17
  • Posted December 1, 2010

    Recommended

    A pretty good book. A little too overly sexual in some places. Wish we'd learned a little more about the Roderick. Why are the characters on the front cover white when the characters are black?

    16 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2010

    STEAMY!

    The sex scenes were a bit raunchy, but the actual story was a sweet romance. I want a man like Roderick!!!

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Good erotic read

    The sex scenes are good and I like the couple. For the sake of constructive criticism though, I'd like to point out the plot isn't all that amazing. The whole story is basically a prolonged written porno with romance

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2011

    MIsleading cover but good book

    Whoever chose the cover art should be fired. The book is good, but it's weird realizing halfway through that the couple is black and I'd already built an image of them in my head as otherwise. It threw me off totally at that point and I stopped relating to the customers. The story is good and well written, but I was left feeling like I was tricked. I wish I'd actually read more of the reviews rather than just looking at the ratings.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2010

    Highly Recommended

    I could not put it down great read!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2011

    Whitewashed Cover?

    The book is a fun read. But WHY are the cover characters white?

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    good

    Simple and tasty! Quick read, no surprises or let downs. Delivers exactly what you think it will!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2010

    To Misleading-

    Thank you so much for your warning. I had no idea that white people and black people had different passionate encounters! It's a good thing I didn't download this book without reading your review. I would have been so confused! [Insert dripping sarcasm wherever you see fit!]

    Generally the parts of romance books I can't relate to are the ones involving people with a great deal of money and time to engage in all the fun without having to clean the house or feed the kids! Race has never been a confusion point.

    *Can't rate accurately because I haven't read it...although I might!

    2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    Loved it. This one is worth every penny. I am a new fan of Maureen Smith and I know I will be checking out her other books.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    Enjoyed

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Too Hot For Words!

    This book was great! I read alot of books like this one and hands down it's one of my favorites. It's the first from this author for me, so I was surprised by it. She is now on my favorite authors list. It's got a very realistic story line behind it. The characters are so well written in this story that I fell in love with them and their story. It's got a good twist and most importantly is it's sexy as all will get out. So if your looking for a compelling, sexy love story. Then this would fit perfect.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2014

    Hot!

    Loved it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2013

    Great Read

    I loved this book it was very refreshing to finally see an african american bdsm relationship. It was hot and steamy and it was great to see that the woman was very educated instead of how some of these books always has the woman as broken. I would recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2011

    enjoyable

    this book was fun to read. i fell in love with the characters. did not want to put the book down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2011

    Steaming Hot!

    This was my first book by Maureen Smith. I can say that I liked it mostly because it was a rip off from one of my fave movies, Pretty Woman. The sex scenes were quite graphic and softcore-ish. If you're more into the hearts and flowers romance don't get this title. If hot and steamy is your thing, then you won't be disappointed. It's good inspiration for keeping things spicy IRL. That being said, I did have trouble with a few things: 1) Roderick is described as a mahogany complexioned, Idris Elba look-alike yet the man on the cover is not even remotely close to that. The cover pic is of two fair-skinned people who don't even appear to be AA, if you ask me. 2) I had trouble believing that Lena is this wholesome, family-oriented woman who doesn't date much (outside her escort services), is mortally embarrassed at having slept with a client, yet she's tying a man up and having her way with him like a PRO the second time they hooked up! I'm just saying.... Overall, I still enjoyed the book and would highly recommend it to others who enjoy Maureen Smith or this genre in general.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2011

    A really fun read!!

    Couldnt put this one down. I didnt realize it was a little risky of a book but at parts it is. Nothing too major though. I type of woman the main charcter was exactly the type I like to read about, young, professional and sexy! I would say its fun lite reading for your spare time.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2011

    Pleasant Surprise!!

    I boought this because it was on sale. I really enjoyed it. The passion scenes were engaging and the story kept my interest. I will definitely give this author another try!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2011

    Worth Checking Out

    Good Reading, couldnt put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2011

    It's a up to date, Pretty Woman story! But hotter!

    Easy to get into the book... and had a decent story line. It's every girl's fantasy -- getting pursued by a billionaire, living in the life of luxury... Very intense scenes... just wished the book was longer!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2011

    wow

    it was quick but i couldnt put it down. you know how it ends within the first few chapters but that doesnt stop you from continuing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 327 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 17