Customer Reviews for

What's Age Got to Do with It?: Living Your Happiest and Healthiest Life

Average Rating 3
( 67 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

whats age got to do with it?

I love love love this book!!
everyone should have it young, or old..
I learned so much from this book :)

posted by robinrocks on December 12, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

What's Age Got to do with it?

Title: What¿s AGE got to do with it?
Author: Robin McGraw
Classification: Self-help
Publisher: Thomas Nelson
Hardcover: 240 pages
ISBN: 1400202140

I must admit I ordered this book for review because I was intrigued about how a woman of 55 ca...
Title: What¿s AGE got to do with it?
Author: Robin McGraw
Classification: Self-help
Publisher: Thomas Nelson
Hardcover: 240 pages
ISBN: 1400202140

I must admit I ordered this book for review because I was intrigued about how a woman of 55 can look so good. Hair, skin, nails, clothes, even shoes everyday, and all day. For those of us who don¿t have an unlimited budget to work with, taking care of your health as well as we would like doesn¿t happen for the most part. Looking our best may be being swamped in the middle of 6 children at one time, homeschooling, 2-3 loads of dishes in the dishwasher and 2-3 loads of clothes. Fixing 3 nutritious meals everyday, cleaning and all while trying to maintain some balance in the world of being a pastors wife.

After reading the first part of this book I realized that this book is really about Robin, not about the rest of us. I got out of it that she was more excited about telling us about herself than she was about how to stay healthy and look good so we would BE healthy and feel good. I think that by the time a woman has reached her 50¿s, none of the things that Robin has talked about doing will make much of a difference. Most of the things had to have been focused on during their 20¿s, 30¿s and 40¿s to make a difference. If they are looking for a quick fix to look like Robin McGraw, they aren¿t going to find it in this book. This book was a huge disappointment for me.

posted by an_angels_mommie on January 27, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    What's AGE Got to do With It

    While I found the book to be interesting and inspiring, I found that I already knew most of the information provided. If a person has read any health magazines or researched any medical information, they probably already knew most of what was covered in the book. I enjoyed reading about Robin's childhood and home life, and was impressed with her ability to put herself first right from the start. That's something I have never been able to do. The information about hormones was new information to me; I didn't know that you could have your levels checked so frequently. Her makeup routine is way more than I will ever do, and her experience at makeup counters has been far different from mine--I'm not so sure a lot of stores are willing to help you out as much as they did her. Her thoughts on style was interesting and I envy her ability to instinctively know what looks good on her. Overall, the book was a good read, but not a lot of information I didn't already know.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2009

    All about Robin McGraw's Beauty Tips

    I admit I'm still reading through this book. It's got alot of information to go through, but what I've read is interesting and informative. Here is a woman who really knows how to take care of her body and her looks! Some of the stuff that she buys to help herself look good are pricey and not everyone can afford it (me included). I'm not annoyed by that, after all, it is Robin's story and I can take it or leave it. I also like reading up on the advice by the experts that she knows. That makes the book really worth it to me. The book has a very friendly tone, which I appreciate and I feel that she does not talk down to women. It is now going to be in my permanant library.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    What's Age Got To Do With It?

    Although nowhere near the type of book I usually read or review, Robin McGraw's "What's Age Got To Do With It?" has it's place among the self help releases. This offering does bring together experiences and advice, but I couldn't help but feel a little deja' vu while reading it. Most of the subject matter has been done before, with the possible exception of the still new subject of hormone replacement which she endorses, and it's ground well covered. We all believe that at certain times it's best to put yourself first and to work on your health, wellness and lifestyle.

    The writing is conversational and friendly, which gives the book the feel of advice from someone who wants to help, but without being overbearing. Topics covered are everything from makeup tips to health screening and focus, not surprisingly, on the fairer sex. Mrs. McGraw's recomendations for putting yourself first are I'm sure welcomed by the women who spend much too much time on their kids, husbands and careers. I personally wish the last chapter on faith had been a little longer. This subject has more to do with overall well being than some of the areas covered earlier in the book.

    All in all What's Age Got To Do With It is an enjoyable read and could entice some women to make even sutble changes to their lifestyles in order to live a happier and healthy life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    It's not like discovering America, as there are plenty of very good books on the same matter, bit it;'s readable, has easy to remember tips and it's likable.

    Robin will never got the Pulitzer. Having say that, nice and clever from her to use her public image as the wife of... to reach women and try to guide them to a better middle age life. I could write also something similar, but as no one knows me, nobody will follow my advice, so...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2009

    What's Age got to Do with It? 55

    I enjoyed the book. It gives women "permission" to pamper themselves and not feel quilty. It's light reading and fun, lots of good tips for women but probably geared for women over 40. Kind of a pep talk type of book with a lot of good old-fashioned common sense. Interesting look at Robin, Dr. Phil's wife.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    All things to all women

    I read that Robin McGraw, at 55, wrote this book because her mother died prematurely after too many years of putting the needs of others before her own health. Since my mother died at 55, I decided to read this book.<BR/><BR/>"What¿s Age Got To Do With It?" is a description of how Ms. McGraw (who¿s married to Dr. Phil) keeps herself healthy and attractive at her age. She has an equally healthy mindset, and makes it clear that women of any age need to make time for themselves and their health even when taking care of a family. <BR/><BR/>This isn¿t exactly groundbreaking information, but since many women do put their needs second to those of their family¿s, reading this might make a difference for them. The book is organized into sections dealing with exercise, nutrition, hormones, makeup and so on, with anecdotes on each topic. <BR/><BR/>Ms. McGraw quotes several experts at length, and also describes the science behind processes like menopause. This is a nice contrast to the anecdotes, which at some points get a little too happy-families. Still, the stories which specifically focus on health are relevant, and I enjoyed the ones about makeovers gone wrong.<BR/><BR/>Unfortunately, since this is not a long book, it doesn¿t go into some topics (such as spirituality) in depth. What readers often get instead is common knowledge, and the product placement reached the point where I started watching for the next brand-name cosmetic. <BR/><BR/>I¿d recommend this book to women who want an overall look at health and beauty, accessorized with several pages advising them on exactly what to eat (taken from Dr Phil¿s "The Ultimate Weight Solution Food Guide"). Ironically, my mother would have loved this ¿ the mixture of health tips and celebrity-lifestyle would have worked for her. To me, though, it was a case of a book trying to be all things to all women, which rarely succeeds.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    What's Age Got To DO WIth It

    I was prepared not to like this book. My copy arrived after Dr Phil had his wife RObin as a guest. The audience seemed less than enthusiastic. It spoiled the first few chapters of the book for me. However Robin's natural honest charm won me over.<BR/>THe book really is extremely open, hones and full of helpful information. Still many women will be overwhelmed at the amount of time and money that it takes to look as good as Robin. My goal is not to look like Robin but to make the best of what I have and look after myself as best I can. What's Age Got To DO With It encouraged me to do just that. I have ramped up my exercise routine and set some boundaries in my life. It's great that Robin has been so open and clear about her faith as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1