Customer Reviews for

What's Left of Me (Hybrid Chronicles Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 40 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

(I received a digital copy of this book for free on a read-to-re

(I received a digital copy of this book for free on a read-to-review basis. Thanks to HarperCollins publishers, and Edelweiss.)
15-year-old Addie lives in a world where every baby is born with two souls; two different consciousness’ living in the same body and mind. Bet...
(I received a digital copy of this book for free on a read-to-review basis. Thanks to HarperCollins publishers, and Edelweiss.)
15-year-old Addie lives in a world where every baby is born with two souls; two different consciousness’ living in the same body and mind. Between the ages of 5 and 10, every child loses their second soul, in a process known as ‘settling’. The dominant soul fully takes control of the body, and the recessive soul simply fades away.

Addie is unusual in that she didn’t settle until she was 12. A fact that nearly cost her her life, but what nobody knows is that while Addie has full control of her body, her sister Eva still lives on within her mind. Addie/Eva are what is known as a hybrid, and in the USA this is basically illegal, if they are caught they will be experimented on or killed, so Addie says nothing, and Eva remains trapped in her own body.

When a girl at school Hally reveals herself to Addie as a hybrid too and tries to get Addie to admit that Eva never disappeared, Addie wonders if it is a trick, but Eva is desperate to find out if she could get her control back and no longer have to live imprisoned in her body.

Unfortunately though, Hally manages to get herself sent to an institution for hybrids, and tells the people there Addie’s secret, meaning that Addie is taken too, and must now find a way out, before the people there try to take Eva away from her forever.


I really enjoyed this book. I loved the relationship between Addie and Eva, and felt sorry for poor Eva being totally unable to exert control over her own body. Eva was such a strong character, stronger even than Addie who was supposedly the ‘dominant’ soul. She hung on in there, desperate to hang onto life, not wanting to fade away, always wanting to experience more, even when everybody told her that she should be gone already.
I felt sorry for Eva in the way that she was treated, even by Addie, who at one point blames their hybrid status on Eva, because if Eva had just let herself fade away like she should have, Addie would be normal.
I also felt sorry for the other children at the institute who were being experimented on. It was so terrible how their other halves were being ripped away from them, and how they were told that they were sick and wrong because they were hybrids.

I really don’t understand how people could possibly live with this kind of torture! Having a child who has two separate personalities inside, naming them different names, and then having to live with the knowledge that at some point one of them will basically cease to exist! I also find it very difficult to imagine living with someone else in your head, and having to share a body, but also, if you had had someone else in your head since birth, how would it be to have them disappear and be no longer there! The grief that the children felt about the loss of their twin was just so poignant, and sad.

The story was well paced, and the finale was so tense! My heart was racing, my hands were shaking, and I was silently begging ‘They’ve got to make it, they’ve got to make it!’
There was a little touch of romance, but nothing too much, I’m guessing that this might be explored more in future books.

Overall; I really enjoyed this book and can’t wait to read the next books in the series! If you love dystopian YA, you’ll love this!
8.75 out of 10.

posted by Sarah_UK1 on September 18, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

A little too Sci-Fi for me.

This is one of the coolest covers I've seen in a really long time! I've been staring at it for a couple of weeks and only just now noticed the profile of the other girl.

I was really looking forward to reading this because the summary sounded intriguing and unique. K...
This is one of the coolest covers I've seen in a really long time! I've been staring at it for a couple of weeks and only just now noticed the profile of the other girl.

I was really looking forward to reading this because the summary sounded intriguing and unique. Kat Zhang has done an excellent job of presenting a story that questions what it is that makes us a person. Is it our soul or is it a physical body?

This was more Sci-Fi than I expected and I did find it hard to keep track of who was who at times. For example, you might have three physical people in the same room but there would actually be six total - two souls each sharing one body. When the topic of romance came up, I felt a little awkward because how do you handle a kissing situation when both people can experience things but only one wants too? I'm sure this will be explored in future books but I couldn't help thinking that it vaguely reminded me of a Siamese Twin scenario.

I do feel this story is well written with a very interesting concept and raises thought provoking questions. While it may not have been the book for me, someone else will love it, I have no doubt!

posted by Cupcakegirly on September 19, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted December 17, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I don't want to imagine what it'd be like to be in Eva's positio

    I don't want to imagine what it'd be like to be in Eva's position, watching the world pretend to forget about you when before they would call you along with the other soul inhabiting your body. Before, it was Addie and Eva, Eva and Addie, but now it's just Addie. To watch your parents sob with relief when they think you've disappeared. Eva hasn't heard anyone call out her name in years. Because of this, I don't know if I can fault her for jeopardizing her and Addie's safety for the chance to speak again and walk, just to feel herself in control of their body again.
    Eva is compassionate. She doesn't fault Addie for being hesitant to relinquish control of their body or even for being the one to dominate all of their parents' love, for living the life she could have had. She's the more self-assured of the two for all that Addie has the outside friends; she knows that Addie couldn't live without her and keeps an eye out for her other self. Eva is the one willing to take risks whereas  Addie is the meeker of the two and tends to follow the rules. Addie is forgetful, hesitant at crucial times, and dependent on Eva to make the hard choices. She can come off as self-centered, but she's a sweet girl. As much trouble as she gives Eva, she truly does care about her and does the best she can in her own way to protect the two of them.
    The strength of the novel lies in the power of Eva's voice. In the way she oftentimes talks about her and Addie's shared body as "our body," their hand as "our hand," because it belongs to both of them. They're like twins, only closer. They share a life. The only difference is that Addie is the one in control most of the time, and Eva can only assist her as she takes them through their daily life. Out of all the characters, the two of them are the most developed, though their daily conversations with each other. I do wish that we got to see more of the other characters, especially Hally and Lissa, Devon and Ryan. However, it doesn't mean that they're any less dynamic than Eva and Addie. It only feels as though we see less of them because Eva and Addie interact with each other so much; and also because they are so heavily supervised at the Ward.
    Most of the world-building takes place within Eva and Addie's head. We know that the Americas claim to have severed all trade and connection with the rest of the outside world, that hybrids are considered a threat to society, and that those who fail to separate are sent to institutions. Why so, we have yet to find out. However, it's all right for this book because Eva and Addie are still trying to figure out what the truth is; they're still fighting to stay alive. Mostly, What's Left of Me is a setup for the greater plot, and it looks like there's a lot more action to come.
    I can't wait to read the second book in the Hybrid Chronicles. I'm looking forward to seeing more of the hybrids and learning more about the dystopic world they live in.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2012

    What I Liked: 1) Eva. She was my favorite of our two main charac

    What I Liked: 1) Eva. She was my favorite of our two main characters (Addie and Eva). Because Eva is the recessive soul, she could have easily become a so-so character. But it really becomes her story as we go along, because she is the one who doesn't get to have much of a life, who is really fighting for every second she gets. And she is also our narrator. Because Eva is really hardly anything more than a voice, you really get to know her on an emotional level, which is awesome. 2) The hospital where Addie/Eva are taken for testing. I didn't so much like it, as thought it was a great setting for the "hub of all evil" - haha! They are studying the hybrid gene and how to control it. 3) How much there is to think about with this book! It's been 2 days since I've read the book (well, really, 8 days once it's posted) and I am still going over things over and over in my head. How long has the world been like this, where bodies are born with two souls? How are people affected when their sister or brother soul disappears? How are families affected? Eva mentions at one point how when they were young her parents would refer to them as Eva-and-Addie. How do they feel when one of those isn't there any longer? There is so much to think about as you are going through this book, and even once it's over you will still be curious and anxious for the next story. 4) I loved the ending. Love, love, loved it. It was one of the best non-cliffhanger-y endings that still set up the next book in a great way. Just thinking about it makes me all jittery and excited for book 2!

    What I Didn't Like: There wasn't anything that I just didn't like, but I will caution you that when it comes to two people controlling, or trying to control one body, some confusion is to be expected. There was one point where there were three bodies in the room, but six people talking. Just...pay attention while you're reading, because while some of the twin souls are very easy to differentiate just in the ways they talk, others you don't get to know well enough.

    Overall Thoughts: What's Left of Me is an awesome debut from author Kat Zhang and an explosive opening to what looks to be an exciting series. It's thought-provoking, full of action, and has some great characters for readers to know and love. I can't wait to see what's next in this series, because What's Left Of Me has only left me wanting more!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2014

    Havent read

    Can u tell me the deets my friend has it but i want to read it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2014

    Book two?

    Wheres book two i have been dying to read it already

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2013

    I read this book for a school lesson and I thought it was ok.  I

    I read this book for a school lesson and I thought it was ok.  It was about hybrids which is one person with two souls basically.  If you are 
    still a hybrid at the age of 11you can be taken away by the police, I guess you would call them.  Then you are usually never seen again.  
    I liked this book because it was pretty interesting to think what if this would be our world eventually.  I didn't like it because it was pretty 
    confusing to read.  Also at some parts it was slow moving.  Other wise I would recommend this book to any one who likes a calling to read,
    or if they like reading about a messed up government.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    An Interesing Twist on Humankind. The cover of this book caught

    An Interesing Twist on Humankind.
    The cover of this book caught my eye long before it came out. As you read the first few pages the meaning really sinks in.


    You know how you are born, one soul, one name, one life? Well, this book puts a big twist on being human. In this book we are all born with two souls, two names are given to us and eventually the dominate soul takes over while the other disappears. Normally, this happens by the age of 10 or so. For those whose souls don't "settle" and one does not disappear, they are termed a hybrid. Part of the world is hybrids while the other part is not, and the two sanctions are at odds with each other. Wars have been going on and in this story, hybrids are the bad guys.


    This story centers around Addie and Eva. These souls share one body. Nobody knows about them. Everyone thinks that only Addie is present. If anyone found out different, they would be sent away, institutionalized, never to return. That is until another hybrid confronts them. Even though Eva is still there, she hasn't actually moved their body in about 3 years, only Addie has had that capability since than and neither souls thought that would change. The other hybrid lets them know that there is a way for Eva to regain full functions. From here things find a way of going awry. Slowly they are found out by higher authorities. Soon after that they are institutionlized. The horrors they face, the lives they see changed, the truth they find out bring them closer to the end but also closer to those that want to help.

    The story was a bit slow to start, but surprisingly with all the additional souls you learn it wasn't hard to keep track of who was who. A twist on the prejudice many have faced through the years, be it race, sexual orientation, religion, disabilities, this story is completely unlike others. The action really kicked into high gear once Addie and Eva arrived at the facility and the ending reminded me of The Handmaid's Tale by Margaret Atwood, which is one of my favorites.


    I look foward to the second book in The Hybrid Chronicles, Once We Were, which is to be released the end of August of this year.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1