Customer Reviews for

What's New, Cupcake?: Ingeniously Simple Designs for Every Occasion

Average Rating 4
( 111 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(59)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Too Cute

What I found the most striking about What's New Cupcake is the photography by Alan Richardson. The pictures are so vibrant and colorful that they almost seem to jump off the pages. This is a good-sized book, at about 9" x 10", so they are also nice sized and detailed ph...
What I found the most striking about What's New Cupcake is the photography by Alan Richardson. The pictures are so vibrant and colorful that they almost seem to jump off the pages. This is a good-sized book, at about 9" x 10", so they are also nice sized and detailed photos. The cover photo with the "Rubber Duckies" cupcakes is too cute for words.

What's New Cupcake starts out like a craft book with a list of needed materials and tools. Nothing unusual is needed and most are items that would be already on hand, except for the variety of colorful candies. The instructions for decorating the cupcakes are clear and the Karen Tack's designs are fun and very decorative.

The first chapter, April Fools Play, has cupcakes that look like something entirely different. How about cupcakes that look like a sub sandwich or a banana split? There are sections with ideas for all of the major holidays and party ideas for children and grown-ups.

Just a couple of examples of the design titles are:

Busy Bees (a honeycomb of cupcakes)
Mum's the Word (beautiful flower cupcakes)
Fur Balls and String Monsters (You have to see it!)
Shower Heads (baby faces)
Knit One, Frost Two (knitting needles and yarn - my personal favorite)

Along with the decorating instructions there are quick dressed up cake mix recipes for cupcakes, frosting, and sugar cookies.

posted by timetravel on March 20, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

No name, please

The text is tiny in some places and big in others. It repeats information a lot. Nice pictures, but not really worth it. Beware.

posted by Anonymous on July 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Great!!"!"

    Love this boook but you need to be skilled to make these cute cupcaakes!!! Overall i would say yes to anyone who wants this awesome book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2010

    Great Cookbook

    This is a great cupcake book for almost any event but if u get this I also reccomend getting Hello Cupcake.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Entertaining and Inspirational

    I really liked "Hello, Cupcake." Now I can add this one to the list. The book is great for getting ideas for parties or movie night. There is a large photo for each cupcake and clear instructions for how to recreate it. The back of the book has good recipes for cake batter and frosting, too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Very cute book and ideas

    I had purchased the first Hello, Cupcake book two years ago and have used it on multiple special occasions for my kids' events and birthdays. Everyone loves the "faux food" cupcakes and although almost every design is time consuming it is well worth the effort. The authors give detailed, helpful instructions and if you follow them the cupcakes really do turn out like the pictures in the book. When I saw they had a new book out I had to buy it immediately. Lots of great new ideas I can't wait to try. The authors are truely talented artists.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    wonderful

    So much fun and easy. Great ideas perfect for all age birthday of any occasion

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2010

    Amazing ideas!

    Neat options for making treats for kids and even having them help you or do the decorating themselves. The steps are all broken down, and the ingredients are presented in a detailed fashion so that you can actually find them in stores.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2010

    Excellent!

    I loved this book! I already have "Hello, Cupcake" at my library and will soon need to replace it because it is used so much, so I was thrilled to find out there was going to be another one.

    It completely fulfilled my expectations. The new designs are adorable, and most are easy enough for the novice (or to those cooking with children) to do. Though I am a bit concerned about the amount of candy and icing on the cupcakes, there are created in a way that substitutions and adjustments can be easily made. The only caveat about these recipes is that they will take time to create.

    I also enjoyed the instructional tidbits in between the recipes. It helped to adjust and create variations on the decorations shown.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2010

    Too much fun!

    I consider myself an accomplished baker and am always looking for new ideas and simple ways to decorate. Well this book delivers! The techniques are ingenious! Okay, maybe I don't want to put quite that much time into a cupcake - but I certainly could if I wanted to and this book makes it possible. If nothing else, it's just fun to Oooh and Aaaah over. Great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Terrific sequel with more cute ideas

    The authors of Hello, Cupcake have done it again. This sequel is packed with even more fun, whimsical ideas to take advantage of the cupcake trend. And, again, they do it without fancy equipment or complicated ingredients.

    What's New, Cupcake builds upon the basics found in the first book by showing you how you can use sugar cookies to expand your cupcake building skills. They also add a technique for making hard candy decorations.

    The sense of whimsy is what sets this series apart from other cupcake books. The point is not just to make a cute cupcake, but to get a reaction from the people eating them. So while they have a duckie cupcake pattern (as shown on the cover) they also show you how to make a diving duckie. Which the kids find hilarious.

    There are more April Fool's cupcakes, also. Cupcakes meant to look like other food items. The broken dozen of eggs is probably my favorite, but the french fry cupcakes are pretty clever, too.

    And not to worry if you're not a bake from scratch aficionado. It's perfectly fine, and sometimes preferred, to use mixes and already prepared frosting. Which means you can put that extra time and effort into making these cupcakes look even cuter.

    There are a few more cupcake "cakes" where multiple cupcakes are used to create one overall design. And although many of the designs are cute, some aren't as good as the original book or rely too much on specific candies. Overall, though, this was a great follow up and well worth adding to your cupcake decorating library.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2