Customer Reviews for

What's New, Cupcake?: Ingeniously Simple Designs for Every Occasion

Average Rating 4
( 112 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(60)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Too Cute

What I found the most striking about What's New Cupcake is the photography by Alan Richardson. The pictures are so vibrant and colorful that they almost seem to jump off the pages. This is a good-sized book, at about 9" x 10", so they are also nice sized and detailed ph...
What I found the most striking about What's New Cupcake is the photography by Alan Richardson. The pictures are so vibrant and colorful that they almost seem to jump off the pages. This is a good-sized book, at about 9" x 10", so they are also nice sized and detailed photos. The cover photo with the "Rubber Duckies" cupcakes is too cute for words.

What's New Cupcake starts out like a craft book with a list of needed materials and tools. Nothing unusual is needed and most are items that would be already on hand, except for the variety of colorful candies. The instructions for decorating the cupcakes are clear and the Karen Tack's designs are fun and very decorative.

The first chapter, April Fools Play, has cupcakes that look like something entirely different. How about cupcakes that look like a sub sandwich or a banana split? There are sections with ideas for all of the major holidays and party ideas for children and grown-ups.

Just a couple of examples of the design titles are:

Busy Bees (a honeycomb of cupcakes)
Mum's the Word (beautiful flower cupcakes)
Fur Balls and String Monsters (You have to see it!)
Shower Heads (baby faces)
Knit One, Frost Two (knitting needles and yarn - my personal favorite)

Along with the decorating instructions there are quick dressed up cake mix recipes for cupcakes, frosting, and sugar cookies.

posted by timetravel on March 20, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

No name, please

The text is tiny in some places and big in others. It repeats information a lot. Nice pictures, but not really worth it. Beware.

posted by Anonymous on July 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 60 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted March 20, 2010

    Too Cute

    What I found the most striking about What's New Cupcake is the photography by Alan Richardson. The pictures are so vibrant and colorful that they almost seem to jump off the pages. This is a good-sized book, at about 9" x 10", so they are also nice sized and detailed photos. The cover photo with the "Rubber Duckies" cupcakes is too cute for words.

    What's New Cupcake starts out like a craft book with a list of needed materials and tools. Nothing unusual is needed and most are items that would be already on hand, except for the variety of colorful candies. The instructions for decorating the cupcakes are clear and the Karen Tack's designs are fun and very decorative.

    The first chapter, April Fools Play, has cupcakes that look like something entirely different. How about cupcakes that look like a sub sandwich or a banana split? There are sections with ideas for all of the major holidays and party ideas for children and grown-ups.

    Just a couple of examples of the design titles are:

    Busy Bees (a honeycomb of cupcakes)
    Mum's the Word (beautiful flower cupcakes)
    Fur Balls and String Monsters (You have to see it!)
    Shower Heads (baby faces)
    Knit One, Frost Two (knitting needles and yarn - my personal favorite)

    Along with the decorating instructions there are quick dressed up cake mix recipes for cupcakes, frosting, and sugar cookies.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    So sweet! :P

    I read this in a cupcake design class and I am DIEING to get my hands on it! I love the pictures and templates. The author (Karen Tack) wrote the book so well. The reader can understand exactly what to do, wether you're an expert baker or just beggining.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    OMG SO COOL

    this is awesome! the cupcakes are so cute, i saw the paper-version but this is a little cheaper!!! a must-have for every baker

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2011

    Awesome

    This book is awesome i love the pizza one

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2011

    Great Book!!!!!!!!!!!

    I looked at the cover and knewit would be an amazing book and it was. I totally reccomend this book! It is great for party cupcake ideas. Enjoy!!!!!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2012

    Creative!!!!!!!!

    I love this book but only the non ebook version.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2012

    Easy enough for kids!

    I got this book because I love decorating cakes and the instructions and pictures made it so easy to follow and do, even though I was only ten!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2011

    So cute!!!!

    All the recipes r soo cute. I definately recommend 4 all cupcake lovers. :-D

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2011

    Awsome awsome awsome!

    Delicious, yummy, and fun recipes to share with friends. Also they are fun to eat and make. Easy to follow too!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2011

    Highly recommended

    This book is SO easy to understand. It has step by step instructions along with the pictures on how to do things. It has pictures of the essential tools to make your cupcake creating easier. I was supprised to see the simple things they used to creat such awesome cupcakes. Most things are things you already have or can find very easily. They even help you develop ideas of your own. I'm extremely glad I purchased this book. I have children and they think these cupcakes are amazing!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2011

    great!

    I thought this book was amazing it has wonderful cupcakes that are easy to bake! I loved it!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2011

    adorable!!!!!!!

    they taste, look and feel fantastic!! i would recoment this 2 anyone who has the time 2 make them!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!:)

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2011

    beautiful123

    omg. i saw this book at my bookfair and fell in love with the covrr. so i started to read it. when i saw the cupcakes,i had to gt the book. bit it was too expensive. so i look it up on my nook nd the price was cheaper. i recomend his book to anyon wo loves to cook!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2010

    HIGHLY RECOMMENDED--GREAT FUN!

    I originally bought the book for my niece and by the time I got to the register I had decided to keep it for myself! I was instantly hooked by the clear directions and love the easy to find items to make the cupcakes. No need to buy specialty items. They make it easy for you to substitute items. I've promoted the book to all who would listen. I also went back and bought a second copy to give to my niece.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2010

    festive and fun

    This book is fun for rainy day activities for kids - some of the cupcake designs are intermediate but overall, kids can assist and then be tickled with the outcome. There are many clever uses for candy items - it really opens the window for silly creative fun. We enjoy it so much I have actually started giving them as gifts to other moms.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2010

    Super Book!

    This is a great book for anyone interested in new ideas done in a simple way. Pictures offer great detail and recipes are easy to follow. There is something for all skill levels in this book, and the pictures are just fun.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2012

    One of the best cupcake decorating books ever! I received this b

    One of the best cupcake decorating books ever! I received this book as a gift when I opened my very own cupcake decorating business and I have found it extremely helpful. The illustrations are very vibrant and the directions are very clear. You don't have to be a professional to recreate the things in this book. Very awesome ideas. I would recommend this book to anyone with a little patience and the ambition to be a cupcaker.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2010

    Awesome for ideas for any kind of party...my kids love it

    These are some of the most creative ideas I've ever seen for cupcakes. Most of the concepts are easy to execute...but there are a few that I'd call advanced and for more expert artists.

    I made several concepts from the first book "Hello Cupcake" - we had so much fun at the table when they were served...everyone oohed and ahhed. I was incredibly excited to see the next version "What's New Cupcake" and the ideas in this book didn't disappoint.

    Kudos to the authors for being so creative and giving detailed descriptions to make awesome looking treats for adults and kids!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2014

    The photos are great. The instructions a easy to follow. I find

    The photos are great. The instructions a easy to follow. I find these two aspects of the book to be very important in a book like this. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2014

    Anomynys

    One of the best cupcake books ever!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 60 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3