BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

What's So Great about Christianity

Average Rating 4
( 42 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Incredible Read !

The author uses logic , science , philosophy , and wit to lay out an iron clad case in favor of faith. Atheists who are intellectualy honest would have a rough time mounting a defense.

posted by JosephGabriele on September 25, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

An articulate exposition but . . . .

Mr. D'Souza's description of the impact of Christianity in the history of the world is persuasive. He tends to gloss over the failings of the church where its warts are all too apparent, however, in order to minimize claims that organized religion in general and Christ...
Mr. D'Souza's description of the impact of Christianity in the history of the world is persuasive. He tends to gloss over the failings of the church where its warts are all too apparent, however, in order to minimize claims that organized religion in general and Christianity in particularly are the cause of much suffering in the world. As only one example, D'Souza acknowledges the horrors of the Spanish Inquisition but attempts to downplays its impact, claiming that the Church did not target Jews but only those who had claimed to convert to Christianity but in fact still practiced their original faith. He totally ignores why so many Jews and Muslims converted or claimed to convert to Christianity in the first place - after the Spanish/Christian conquest of Granada from the Moors, King Ferdinand and Queen Isabella dispossessed all Jews and Muslims from their property and drove tens of thousands from their homes and out of Spain altogether. Thus, to say that the madness of the Inquisition was limited to lapsed Christians is blatantly misleading and only adds fuel to the fire that rages between the fundamentalist Christians/Muslims/Jews on the one hand and the fundamentalist atheists on the other. This discussion is best served by a more balanced presentation of the facts.

posted by Anonymous on April 18, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted September 25, 2010

    Incredible Read !

    The author uses logic , science , philosophy , and wit to lay out an iron clad case in favor of faith.
    Atheists who are intellectualy honest would have a rough time mounting a defense.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    D'Souza Builds a Mighty Fortress of Inteligence

    Dinesh D'Souza musters the great intellect, education, and formidable persuasion he used for his political volumes and marches them out to promote the Christian Faith. In fact he has become one of the a predominate debater of the major atheism advocates.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2007

    A reviewer

    Whether to believe or not to believe, Dinesh explores the facts with a fair and objective balance that makes this book an enjoyable one. I challenge you to read it for yourself and make a decision based on the facts within the book.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2009

    Very poor

    I have read the "What So Great About Christianity" and it is lacking in all areas to give well reasoned and sound proofs for why christianity is great. He asks us to have an open mind as we read through his book, but he writes from a closed-minded approach with his opinions being correct and those who oppose him as wrong. He sets up straw-men then proceeds to knock them down without giving tangible proof that supports his claims. He succeeds to confirm for me why christianity IS NOT GREAT! It stands with all other faiths to hold people in slavery. Christianity along with their holy book are great myths.

    2 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2008

    An articulate exposition but . . . .

    Mr. D'Souza's description of the impact of Christianity in the history of the world is persuasive. He tends to gloss over the failings of the church where its warts are all too apparent, however, in order to minimize claims that organized religion in general and Christianity in particularly are the cause of much suffering in the world. As only one example, D'Souza acknowledges the horrors of the Spanish Inquisition but attempts to downplays its impact, claiming that the Church did not target Jews but only those who had claimed to convert to Christianity but in fact still practiced their original faith. He totally ignores why so many Jews and Muslims converted or claimed to convert to Christianity in the first place - after the Spanish/Christian conquest of Granada from the Moors, King Ferdinand and Queen Isabella dispossessed all Jews and Muslims from their property and drove tens of thousands from their homes and out of Spain altogether. Thus, to say that the madness of the Inquisition was limited to lapsed Christians is blatantly misleading and only adds fuel to the fire that rages between the fundamentalist Christians/Muslims/Jews on the one hand and the fundamentalist atheists on the other. This discussion is best served by a more balanced presentation of the facts.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2008

    defending truth

    the arthur dinesh dsouza has writtion a very indepth and most hard to put down best seller that gives exellent research to show that christianity has alot of truth and this page turner give it a great defence and what I found fasinating from this best seller was the arthur showed some intresting documentation that athiest goverments are the ones that through out history have committed the most mass murders the writer brings to mind the goverments of communist china, nazi germany,commuinst russia and commusist north vietnam. I find athiest groups dont want to menchion this fact . great book for a Bible study or perhaps a gift for someone special.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2008

    A reviewer

    The author spoke at our school today and he has very intelligent and educated answeres as to why he believes what he believes and it's really something to hear him speak. It's a great book and I really reccommend it for anyone who is lost or for someone who just wants to strenghten their faith!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2007

    You need to read this book!!!

    To be honest I am not much of a reader. But this book really cought my eye. Once I started reading it I had trouble putting it down. This book is great for helping you defend your faith. If you are a believer or non believer this book is for you. D'Souza talks a big game and backs it up! Great book!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2009

    Disappointing

    I was very disapointed in this book. It comes off, in my view, as simple pandering to Christians. Frankly, as a Christian I resent it. I have read some of the books cited in this book and I do not believe the author has read those books. I also found the reasoning to be a little thin. If however you want a book that will make you feel good about Christianity this is it.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2009

    Disappointing

    I was very disappointed in this book. It comes off, in my view, as simple pandering to Christians. Frankly, as a Christian I resent it. I have read some of the books cited in this book and I do not believe the author actually read those books. I also found the reasoning contained in it to be a little thin. If however you want a book that will make you feel good about Christianity this is it.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2008

    A Refreshing Breeze

    The reason we teach of course is so we can reach. The insight that reverberated in my mind as I read this book was this: Is what I'm living for worth dying for? Before I forget, I am certainly hopeful that what is offered in this book can facilitate more dialogue between Atheists and Christians. I had the opportunity to observe some of the recent debate between this author and Christopher Hitchens. It felt conclusive to me. Use your free will and examine your conscience in this exemplary and timely dissertation concerning reality and the signs of the times. I must say that I found zero dichotomies in this most gracious book. One can clearly see that man is fallible, but Christianity offers hope. Conversely, it seems to me that Atheism offers only missing-link Darwinism. Dear reader, I'm quite sure that your intellect will rise a few notches by reading this bestseller. This read is quite a companion in dealing with adversity, and maybe even to understand a little bit about these times of uncertainty. I doubt you will find anything abstruse as you immerse yourself in this informative and verdure filled journey of these modern times. Find out where morality begins, because it doesn't end. I have walked away from the last page with this thought: 'Hope deferred makes the heart sick.' From this book I ask myself: At my death which is inevitable, what is next?

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2013

    Great Debate Book

    This book will you load you up for any debate you may have with an unbeliever.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2012

    Idiotic book

    This book is a bunch of illogical smarmy drivel. The great sin here is that an idiot like Dsouza manages to make a living peddling his stupidity and bigotry to the ignorant masses.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2012

    Read this excellent book!

    This is a brilliant, illuminating, fascinating book that reveals the historic facts about a faith that has changed the world for GOOD. I learned so much by reading this book! History gets rewritten so often in our fake politically correct world but D'Souza can be counted on to give us an education in the facts and an enjoyable read at the same time. I have reread this book several times now and plan to give this book for Christmas gifts next year.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    This book may not convince many atheists, but it's good nevertheless.

    In this book, the author tries to prove that Christianity is the world's one best religion. Unfortunately, when he uses philosophical arguments to try to prove that Christianity is without a doubt true, he falls flat; his line of reasoning is difficult or impossible to follow and doesn't always make sense. I also didn't think that some of his comparisons of Christianity with Islam are accurate or fair. He falls into the trap of comparing Christian ideals with Islamic reality. This is not fair, as one needs to set one group of ideals against another group of ideals or one world's reality against that of another world. One also needs to make sure that one is comparing ideals or realities from contemporaneous time periods. After all, if one were to contrast medieval Christian religious tolerance with medieval Islamic religious tolerance, Islam would come out far ahead. Finally, one of his stated reasons why we all should be religious is plainly ridiculous. He says that religious people in today's world are the ones having children, so that from a Darwinian point of view, the religious life is clearly superior. However, it should be mentioned that he himself has only one child!

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3