Customer Reviews for

What's a Ghoul to Do? (Ghost Hunter Mystery Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 157 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(82)

4 Star

(53)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

A Great Way to Start a Series!

What's A Ghoul to Do? Was a brilliant start to this series. The characters were fresh and fun (Gilley instantly became my favorite, although Dr. Steven Sable is a close second), M.J. stayed just as kickass as she was in the beginning and I loved the blooming relationshi...
What's A Ghoul to Do? Was a brilliant start to this series. The characters were fresh and fun (Gilley instantly became my favorite, although Dr. Steven Sable is a close second), M.J. stayed just as kickass as she was in the beginning and I loved the blooming relationship between her and Steven. The mystery never dried out I thoroughly enjoyed every little bit and the ghosts were just as fun to read about as the living breathing characters. I would recommend this to anyone into the paranormal looking for a fast and fun mystery.

posted by NoDoubtingSound on December 6, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Fun

A fun read :) at times predictable, yet still enjoyable.

posted by RavynSky on January 17, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 82 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted December 6, 2011

    A Great Way to Start a Series!

    What's A Ghoul to Do? Was a brilliant start to this series. The characters were fresh and fun (Gilley instantly became my favorite, although Dr. Steven Sable is a close second), M.J. stayed just as kickass as she was in the beginning and I loved the blooming relationship between her and Steven. The mystery never dried out I thoroughly enjoyed every little bit and the ghosts were just as fun to read about as the living breathing characters. I would recommend this to anyone into the paranormal looking for a fast and fun mystery.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Could not put it down!

    I was two chapters in and I ran out and bought all the books that followed in this series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2014

    I'm usually not for romance or anything ridiculously mushy...How

    I'm usually not for romance or anything ridiculously mushy...However, I liked the book. It had a great blend of romance, butt-kicking and
    supernatural mishaps. Without a doubt I will be continuing the series. I can't wait to read the 2nd book! Great mystery plot lines are always 
    appreciated.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2014

    I found this book,What's a Ghoul to do, at a book store. From th

    I found this book,What's a Ghoul to do, at a book store. From the time I started read it to the end, I couldn't put the book down. I read the book in two days, I think. I loved this book. I loved the characters. I loved that M.J. is a strong woman that can think for herself. The book was full of action and, of course, the mystery itself. Loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2014

    I loved this book, I bought the second one immediately after and

    I loved this book, I bought the second one immediately after and started it. It starts out with a bang and continues on. Between the ghost busting, a murder mystery past and present, and romance it has is all. Just when you think you have the mystery solved there's another twist. I love M.J. and although Steven may mess up some American sayings (many of which I liked his version better and had a good laugh)it was cute, I admit a little overdone sometimes but I still enjoyed it. This book had many twists but I think it pieced it all together nicely, and the sarcastic comments were right up my alley. Highly entertaining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2014

     

     

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2014

    Very enjoyable

    Loved it!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2012

    Couldnt put it down

    My husband and i coulnt put it down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2012

    Love it

    I just love this book i read it to all my friends!! M.J. Holliday is: sexy,hardcore, and just bad ass. Gilly Gillyspie is: prue funny and a girls best friend!! Dr.Steven Stable is: hote, sexy, and Dr.Delicious!!!! I love the hole series!!!!! Get it if u dare!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2012

    Really fun read.

    Great book. A real page tirner and lots o fun.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2012

    Love Her

    I am a HUGE fan of Victoria Laurie! I read her other series on a whim recently and enjoyed them so much I had to get this one too! Her characters are so much fun and make for a very enjoyable read. The plots are very thought out, but fun and funny at the same time. They are easy reads that are truely fantastic. Thank you for these books Victoria and I hope you continue to write more!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    Fun read

    I love reading books that are well writen and fun. This is both.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2011

    Great Series!

    I borrowed this book from my cousin and was hooked. When I finally got my Nook, I bought the rest of the series. I also recommend the Abby Cooper, Psychic Eye series. Victoria Laurie is an excellent writer and I will continue to follow all of her work. Keep up the great work. ST

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Must Read!

    I 'just' finished this book last night and I am totally hooked on this series by Victoria Laurie. This book had me mesmerized from the first sentence to the last. If you like stories about spirits, this book is for you! Very likeable characters. This was a great book. I'm off to Barnes and Noble to get the rest of the series!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Ghosts and Ghouls OOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!

    Bought it twice and read it twice-forgot I had it already. But truly love the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Lots of Fun

    I picked this book up because it looked interesting and discovered that I loved the characters. The story was fast paced and I kept waiting to see what would happen next. Some things were easy to figure out but I enjoyed the overall mystery. Currently reading book 2 and hope it is as much fun as the first.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    loved this book

    i was a bit hesitant on buying this book because i had never heard of victoria laurie, but i decided on getting it anyway. IM glad i did because its is such a great book. It has some hilarious secctions, the characters are lovable, even the bird is funny,"YMCA!" LOL. dr. delicious is hottt! The only character in this book i did not like much was teeko.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 16, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent Read

    I love this series. A real smart read. I love Gilley, the series wouldn't be the same without him. And the dialogue with Steven is sometimes hilarious being that he is a foreigner. I just got through reading the second book in the series, and it is just as good if not better. Its like Ghost Whisperer without the sappiness. Can't wait til the next book, I hate waiting!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2008

    I can't wait to get the next one!

    I finished this book in two days! I absolutely couldn't put it down! MJ Holliday, her sidekick Gilley, and her bird Doc are the funniest, most welcoming characters I've read in a long time! I caught myself laughing out loud...during a time when I really needed it! I can't wait to read their next adventure!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2008

    WOW!!!!!

    This book was GREAT. I just could not put it down. I stayed up all night to finish it. I just happen to come across it at the book store and thought why not. Will read her other books next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 82 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5