BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

What's So Amazing about Grace?

Average Rating 4.5
( 38 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted January 3, 2011

    Recommended

    Challenges the Christian Community to exercise Grace rather than judgment. Leave the task of judging to Jesus and just love like God loves. Accountability is left to the Godhead.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2012

    One of my favorite books!

    I have read this book more times than other other book besides the Bible. Phillip Yancey has created a classic book about grace that I believe every person would greatly benefit from reading. There are many, many true life examples that have encouraged me, given me insight, expanded my understanding and taught me compassion for others. I highly recommend this gem. Buy it!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2008

    I am on my second reading

    I absolutely love this book. It has changed my life. It has helped me to become a better person and a more loving, graceful Christian. I am so excited to be in a book study of this book this Summer. It is a life changer that everyone should read and then maybe more people would be changed by Love rather than judgment.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2000

    What the World Needs Now

    Philip Yancey is one of my favorite authors. As a pastor, I recommend this book to my peers. Our culture is sick and tired of right-wing, fundamental, and legalistic rhetoric from Christian leaders and churches. This book is a breath of fresh air for us to return to Jesus' ministry of grace, a ministry of love and forgiveness.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2000

    Something to help

    As a young man I am at a point in my life where I find myself struggling to find the answers to some of life's biggest questions. This book was helpful to me by showing me how powerful a gift grace really is. The grace of God is a powerful thing. Mr. Yancey shows his readers how grace relates to every aspect of our lives and is not restricted to a faith community, but open to all God's creation. Grace, as well as this book, is something that all Christians should share.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2012

    Amazing

    Amazing. I hope every right winger reads this book. Grace is amazing- I wish more Christens understood that.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    great book!

    I've always been a fan of Philip Yancey. This is one of my favorite books. Philip Yancey has a way of making you feel like you know him. He shares his thoughts and encourages you. Grace is something that we all need a lot more of.

    Thanks, Philip Yancey!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2004

    Philip Yancey Is Amazing!

    Author Philip Yancey offers a refreshing viewpoint of grace in his spiritually challenging book What¿s So Amazing About Grace? He effectively uses the scriptures as a lens to focus on the life we lead today. His illustrations help the reader to turn that lens on himself or herself ¿ not in a critical way, but in a soul-opening way. He has chosen some of the most startling and effective illustrations I have ever encountered. This book, already being used in our Christian colleges, needs to be required reading for anyone who takes his or her Christian life seriously.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2002

    It changed my life

    This book literaly changed my life. It allowed me to grow in God because I learned what his grace really meant. I have bought copies of this book for family members and friends and it has changed their life as well.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2001

    Great Bood

    This is the best book that I have ever read. I could not put it down. This book is life changing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2000

    I can't wait for it to come out in paperback!

    I borrowed this book from the library and its taking me forever to get thru it even though I normally inhale a good book! After each passage I have to get a kleenex and then do some deep thinking and praying. Give it as a gift - both to yourself and to a loved one!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2013

    Cassy

    He just shrugged it off. *she sighs*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Perfect Headline! Grace IS amazing!

    It is great for those who want to grasp the concept about what is grace and what is required to access it. He could address repentence a little bit more, its given very minimal focus.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2001

    Kiwis eat kangaroo?

    Mr Yancey writes a challenging book. However, I would like to question his research. He claims that 'New Zealanders eat kangaroo' (p. 149 footnote). Considering that there are no kangaroos in New Zealand, I was surprised to read that we are known for eating them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2