Customer Reviews for

Wheat Belly: Lose the Wheat, Lose the Weight, and Find Your Path Back to Health

Average Rating 4
( 298 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(145)

4 Star

(75)

3 Star

(42)

2 Star

(19)

1 Star

(17)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

186 out of 190 people found this review helpful.

Its not a diet!! Its a LIFESTYLE!

This is a great book explaining some of the connections with wheat and not only weight gain but disease. A previous reviewer compared this to the Atkins diet which compelled me to post my own review... that can't be farther from the truth.

Don't buy this book if...
This is a great book explaining some of the connections with wheat and not only weight gain but disease. A previous reviewer compared this to the Atkins diet which compelled me to post my own review... that can't be farther from the truth.

Don't buy this book if you're looking for a "diet' - no diet works unless you're going to eat that way the REST of your life!

This is a lifestyle change. Dr Davis is explaining the proof of how wheat products (and processed products) have a negative affect on our health.

As someone who has eliminated wheat due to allergy testing and a designated intolerance, I can tell you it changes your life for the better! The fact that weight falls off when you avoid wheat is really just the icing on the cake - its the health improvement that is amazing.

Avoiding wheat does not mean you can't ever eat a slice of bread again. You just have a limited selection. Once I stopped eating wheat products all the time, I stopped wanting them so much. They definitely have addictive properties as he discusses.

At minimum its very interesting information, but if you are ready for a healthy lifestyle change, this book is a great way to start educating yourself.

posted by ChicagoGirl74 on September 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

47 out of 52 people found this review helpful.

Highly Recommended - it is worth the read!

This book helps people make informed decisions about their health and diet. It is very informative and connects many health issues directly to hybridized wheat. I have been eating wheat-free for over a month and am seeing positive physical changes. My fingernails are re...
This book helps people make informed decisions about their health and diet. It is very informative and connects many health issues directly to hybridized wheat. I have been eating wheat-free for over a month and am seeing positive physical changes. My fingernails are really growing long and strong. I have lots of new hair growing in. My energy level has really increased. This book is well worth the read.

posted by 5455938 on October 29, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 299 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 15
  • Posted September 27, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    loved it

    got this book as a gift- since then I can only recommend it

    14 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2012

    Eye Opening

    I got this book and read it and started a wheat free/sugar free diet. I have been on it a month now and have lost 12 pounds, the weight just melts off, I am sold on this way of eating. I have plenty of items I can snack on so I never feel hungry. Love It!!!

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2011

    Forget It

    It sounds as if he has stock in flackseed. Also, if you have had cancer you are cautioned about too much flackseed. Grounf almond in place of flour is very expensive. Just do not eat a lot of breads, get exersize, drink pleanty of water and breath properly says Dr. Weil and you will be healthy.

    9 out of 82 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2012

    The book is definitely interesting, although rather heavy on the

    The book is definitely interesting, although rather heavy on the fear-mongering, and falls squarely into the fallacy of "correlation is not causation" most of the time. He literally manages to relate wheat consumption to almost every disease and health condition, from obesity to cancer, acne and hair loss, and even brain damage and schizophrenia. It seems a little farfetched to say the least.

    But having said that, he does provide some rather compelling evidence. I think the book is worth the read if nothing more than for the interesting medical effects he brings up. It's also surprisingly well written so it keeps you engaged.

    But truthfully, the gist of the book comes down to "if you're healthy then fine, if you're not healthy, it might be because of wheat". To me the result of the book is, if you have some health problems that have not been diagnosed, then eliminating wheat might help. From my point of view there is no downside to at least trying - other than, if it does work, you have to never eat wheat again. Which is why, if you're relatively healthy, then I would not recommend this book as a diet or cure-all resource. But despite that the medical and scientific discussion that is most of the book is at the very least interesting and makes for a good read.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2011

    Save your money and get out the old Atkins book

    Diet is basically Atkins only it blames wheat instead of sugar. The chapters of explanation of the evils of wheat were good, but a little too technical and hard to get through. Since the diet requires the elimination of almost all carbohydrates, his basic premise that wheat is the problem is suspect.

    8 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2012

    Highly recommend!

    Great scientific backup. That's important to support an unpopular/new idea. I've long known the hype about cholesterol was misguided or worse, and this doctor shows the evidence in a clear and understandable manner. This way of eating makes me feel good! I discovered accidentally years ago that bread makes me feel hungry and fat, it's good to see the science behind it. B&N offers this as a Nook book, which made it convenient and quick to read. Couldn't reccommend more!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2012

    Very Interesting Stuff

    This book sheds some light on why most of us are obese. Very interesting observations. Some things go against what our nutritionist has told us, so now we have more questions for her. Otherwise, great read!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2012

    This book absolutely changed my life, my health, and my way of l

    This book absolutely changed my life, my health, and my way of living and eating! Everyone, no matter their health goals, whether to lose weight, feel more energetic, lose joint pain, feel younger etc., can find the answers in here! A must read for anyone wanting a better, healthier, and longer life! Dr. Davis knows what he is talking about, and reveals the ways we have been mislead and lied to for so long about what is truly best for our health!

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2011

    Highly Recommend

    Recommended by my doctor. Very interesting - and seems to be working for weight loss....

    6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Thought provoking

    Interesting explanation for why carbs/wheat are so difficult for us to digest and a very likely reason for added belly fat. The genetic modifications in our wheat, soy and corn are a sorry fact of agribusiness. The minimal difference between whole wheat and white flour/white sugar as it breaks down in our body is a helpful reminder to those who try to limit "unhealthy" carbs in favor of whole wheat.
    The advice to limit processed gluten free foodstuffs (unless living with celiac disease ) is wise for those who are trying to avoid type 2 diabetes and other related illnesses. All in all, an interesting book that will spark some healthier eating habits.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2012

    Piqued my interest

    I have not finished reading this book yet. However, what I have read is thought provoking, interesting and supports much of what I have come to think about modern, prepackaged, processed foods. I prefer to grow what I can myself with old fashioned cow/horse manure as fertilizer and can, freeze or dehydrate fresh vegetables and fruits. Healthier and better for you.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2012

    Highly recommended

    This is a well written, logical book of fact based information. It is written in language though scientific, it is easily understood. The in information provided could be life-saving, definitely life-changing!

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2012

    This book gets a big thumbs down from me. I have had no wheat or

    This book gets a big thumbs down from me. I have had no wheat or wheat-containing products for over a month. It has done nothing for me. I am diabetic and tried it to get better blood sugar numbers. I have been carefully watching carbs for several years, so changed nothing except the no wheat program. As for weight loss, I have not lost any "wheat belly" and am exactly where I was...varying 2-4 lbs. from day to day. So, at this point I cant say I have benefited at all from the rigid elimination of wheat from my diet. My recommendation is that you try "The Hungry Chick Dieting Solution." I have already learned so much.

    4 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    This book changed my life!

    My Diabetes doctor suggested (strongly) that I read this book. After just one chapter I knew this doctor was onto something big. Reading about the research and the history of wheat was what really convinced me to give it a try. I haven't had any wheat for a month now and I am seriously seeing results. My glucose has dropped by 20-30 points and I've lost about 8 pounds. I'm not hungry and this isn't very difficult at all.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2012

    Great book, eye opener

    I got this book because I want to lose weight. I've been gluten free for about a month now. I get no more mnigraine headaches. I ate a small piece of a pastry this morning. And, about 10 minutes later, I had the worse stomach cramp. I feel better physically. I'm increasing my work outs. I'm not sure if I lost weight yet, because I'm afraid to step on the scale..lol. But, I feel a whole lot better going gluten free.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    As the husband of a diagnosed celiac (not the trendy self-diagno

    As the husband of a diagnosed celiac (not the trendy self-diagnosed kind, the objective and measurable autoimmune reaction to gluten protein kind), I gave this hot book a real chance. After all, we're living in a virtually wheat-free home already (I still eat wheat bread). Bottom line: It takes a decent idea (reducing wheat consumption) and blows it way out of proportion.

    To me, there are five main weaknesses to the author's argument:

    1) The author's anecdotal evidence. When the patients eliminated wheat from their diets, they lost weight. The author may be a doctor, but even he must know this isn't good enough. Clinical studies of the weight-wheat relationship are needed. Unfortunately...

    2) The clinical studies he cites deal with celiacs, and he uses them to build a case for non-celiacs. This does nothing to support his case. If you're not a celiac, your body is going to react to wheat differently. This cognitive dissonance is glazed over, as is...

    3) The author's incredible hubris when making outlandish statements. In one passage, the author writes, "Eating a three-egg omelet that triggers no increase in glucose does not add to body fat." Seriously? The author also states fiber content in wheat products doesn't affect blood sugar. That doesn't add up. Foods high in fiber digest slowly, which prevents blood sugar from spiking. True, a big load of carbs will spike blood sugar, but fiber can spread that spike into a plateau. To disregard that seems unusual and suspect to this reader. But that's not nearly as bad as...

    4) The claim that eliminating wheat is a catch-all cure. Name the ailment, the author will trace the source back to wheat. Eliminating wheat will solve all your problems. Without the M.D. after the author's name, this book would've been viewed as the snake oil that it is - albeit trendy snake oil. If you accept fad diets as sound science, I guess there's no convincing you. If none of these four points persuade you, the fact remains that...

    5) This is all just one person's theory. For as damning as some of the passages are, he does make some decent points. Modern wheat hybrids designed for yields and commercial consistency, for example, might have sacrifed consumer health along the way. Diets high in wheat also tend to be high in processed foods, which are generally the worst of the food options out there. Great. But causation and correlation are two different things.

    Without further study and clinical evidence, this book remains a shaky idea promoted by someone building on refugees from the Aitkins diet craze. Like that wave, this one will pass, too, only to be replaced by something else. If eliminating wheat works for someone, great. But I suspect the majority of this book's readers will eventually move on to the next "poison" in the cupboard. Corn? Rice? Soy? Oats? It's not a question of if, but when.

    But I will give this book and the accompanying wheat-noia credit: It gave my celiac wife some better options at the grocery store!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2013

    A Huge Disappointment - Don't waste your money!

    This book was a total waste of money and time. The author goes on and on about wheat and how bad it is for us, and how it has changed over hundreds of years. Then, when it gets down to what he recommends that you eat, it is no more than a low-carb diet like Atkins. It's not just wheat that he says to avoid, but all carbohydrates. This is nothing new. Don't waste your money.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2013

    Highly recommended

    Heard about Wheat Belly from a friend and the idea intrigued me. I had already given up meat and dairy because of antibiotics and hormones, so this seemed a logical next step. I have dropped wheat from my diet and found my body going through some changes. First everyone in my area is suffering from allergies and runny noses as I usually do, but not me this season. Second, I started losing weight again after being very frustrated with being stuck at the same weight for months. Third, I do believe that the GMO wheat Dr. Davis talks about have a very negative affect on our health. I can only tell you that it is working for me and the information is definitely worth the consideration. I also love the cookbook, though I don't eat meat or dairy so I do some substituting.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2013

    Awesome

    Very informative

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2012

    Informative, helpful - I recommend this book if you've got digestive issues

    I thought this book would be just another diet book, based on the latest disease-du-jour: wheat intolerance. But my GI issues aren't getting any better and I know people who no longer eat wheat and feel much better, so I bought it, read it, and recommend it. The author doesn't just make a case for giving up wheat, he's got the research and it's convincing.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 299 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 15