Customer Reviews for

Wheat Belly: Lose the Wheat, Lose the Weight, and Find Your Path Back to Health

Average Rating 4
( 294 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(144)

4 Star

(75)

3 Star

(41)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

185 out of 189 people found this review helpful.

Its not a diet!! Its a LIFESTYLE!

This is a great book explaining some of the connections with wheat and not only weight gain but disease. A previous reviewer compared this to the Atkins diet which compelled me to post my own review... that can't be farther from the truth.

Don't buy this book if...
This is a great book explaining some of the connections with wheat and not only weight gain but disease. A previous reviewer compared this to the Atkins diet which compelled me to post my own review... that can't be farther from the truth.

Don't buy this book if you're looking for a "diet' - no diet works unless you're going to eat that way the REST of your life!

This is a lifestyle change. Dr Davis is explaining the proof of how wheat products (and processed products) have a negative affect on our health.

As someone who has eliminated wheat due to allergy testing and a designated intolerance, I can tell you it changes your life for the better! The fact that weight falls off when you avoid wheat is really just the icing on the cake - its the health improvement that is amazing.

Avoiding wheat does not mean you can't ever eat a slice of bread again. You just have a limited selection. Once I stopped eating wheat products all the time, I stopped wanting them so much. They definitely have addictive properties as he discusses.

At minimum its very interesting information, but if you are ready for a healthy lifestyle change, this book is a great way to start educating yourself.

posted by ChicagoGirl74 on September 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

47 out of 52 people found this review helpful.

Highly Recommended - it is worth the read!

This book helps people make informed decisions about their health and diet. It is very informative and connects many health issues directly to hybridized wheat. I have been eating wheat-free for over a month and am seeing positive physical changes. My fingernails are re...
This book helps people make informed decisions about their health and diet. It is very informative and connects many health issues directly to hybridized wheat. I have been eating wheat-free for over a month and am seeing positive physical changes. My fingernails are really growing long and strong. I have lots of new hair growing in. My energy level has really increased. This book is well worth the read.

posted by 5455938 on October 29, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted June 25, 2012

    This idea is ridiculous! I read through this book at the store a

    This idea is ridiculous! I read through this book at the store and I refuse to buy it and I'll explain exactly why. First I've read MANY books on health, diet and exercise. This non-wheat diet, like many other major lifestyle changes is just NOT feasible for 99% of the public. You know what else doctors suggest giving up? Animal products, that's right, the Vegan diet recommends giving up all animal fats completely, and yes many studies have shown that it can reduce diabetes, heart disease and even cancer completely! But even my Vegan friends have told me that their honest opinion is that the Vegan diet is NOT for most people. It's also another HUGE lifestyle change that most people can not accommodate for the rest of their lives because it's very extreme!!! I am a huge health nut. I eat well and exercise and indulge when I want to. Being healthy is a simple equation of diet and exercise and balance and ANYONE who knows how to treat the majority of the people in this country will tell you that! I hate ideas like this that become popular. You do not need to give up whole grains to be healthy or even skinny! Yes, people who eat ANYTHING in excess will most likely experience the consequences, including wheat products. Eat too many and of course it's harmful, just as harmful as eating too many processed foods, too much soda, too many chips, too much candy and too much meat. It's called balance, and the reason the American population is becoming so obese is because people who are obese can't find balance. I understand some people have medical situations, I do understand that, but if your so compelled by research then go find some done on the obesity epidemic in this country. You will find that MOST people who are diagnosed as obese became obese because of their diet, exercise and lifestyle choices! If you feel like doing something extreme like this FOR THE REST OF YOUR LIFE is going to help you then by all means, but honestly if you're like the majority of us, and like me, then start eating more of the foods your Dr recommends and get off the couch. My review seems harsh but the over weight American population needs harsh, not some ridiculous idea that this book presents.

    25 out of 130 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2011

    Forget It

    It sounds as if he has stock in flackseed. Also, if you have had cancer you are cautioned about too much flackseed. Grounf almond in place of flour is very expensive. Just do not eat a lot of breads, get exersize, drink pleanty of water and breath properly says Dr. Weil and you will be healthy.

    9 out of 82 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2012

    This book gets a big thumbs down from me. I have had no wheat or

    This book gets a big thumbs down from me. I have had no wheat or wheat-containing products for over a month. It has done nothing for me. I am diabetic and tried it to get better blood sugar numbers. I have been carefully watching carbs for several years, so changed nothing except the no wheat program. As for weight loss, I have not lost any "wheat belly" and am exactly where I was...varying 2-4 lbs. from day to day. So, at this point I cant say I have benefited at all from the rigid elimination of wheat from my diet. My recommendation is that you try "The Hungry Chick Dieting Solution." I have already learned so much.

    4 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2013

    A Huge Disappointment - Don't waste your money!

    This book was a total waste of money and time. The author goes on and on about wheat and how bad it is for us, and how it has changed over hundreds of years. Then, when it gets down to what he recommends that you eat, it is no more than a low-carb diet like Atkins. It's not just wheat that he says to avoid, but all carbohydrates. This is nothing new. Don't waste your money.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2012

    Waste of mone

    Other than the mantra of "eat no wheat or wheat products", nothing of value was in the book.

    1 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2014

    Frankewheat?

    Interesting reading but did not like the book at all. Everyone has a theory these days about nutrition. This author is crazy and thinks he is an authority on nutrition and how not eating wheat will cure all illnesses

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1