Customer Reviews for

Wheat Belly: Lose the Wheat, Lose the Weight, and Find Your Path Back to Health

Average Rating 4
( 294 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(144)

4 Star

(75)

3 Star

(41)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

185 out of 189 people found this review helpful.

Its not a diet!! Its a LIFESTYLE!

This is a great book explaining some of the connections with wheat and not only weight gain but disease. A previous reviewer compared this to the Atkins diet which compelled me to post my own review... that can't be farther from the truth.

Don't buy this book if...
This is a great book explaining some of the connections with wheat and not only weight gain but disease. A previous reviewer compared this to the Atkins diet which compelled me to post my own review... that can't be farther from the truth.

Don't buy this book if you're looking for a "diet' - no diet works unless you're going to eat that way the REST of your life!

This is a lifestyle change. Dr Davis is explaining the proof of how wheat products (and processed products) have a negative affect on our health.

As someone who has eliminated wheat due to allergy testing and a designated intolerance, I can tell you it changes your life for the better! The fact that weight falls off when you avoid wheat is really just the icing on the cake - its the health improvement that is amazing.

Avoiding wheat does not mean you can't ever eat a slice of bread again. You just have a limited selection. Once I stopped eating wheat products all the time, I stopped wanting them so much. They definitely have addictive properties as he discusses.

At minimum its very interesting information, but if you are ready for a healthy lifestyle change, this book is a great way to start educating yourself.

posted by ChicagoGirl74 on September 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

47 out of 52 people found this review helpful.

Highly Recommended - it is worth the read!

This book helps people make informed decisions about their health and diet. It is very informative and connects many health issues directly to hybridized wheat. I have been eating wheat-free for over a month and am seeing positive physical changes. My fingernails are re...
This book helps people make informed decisions about their health and diet. It is very informative and connects many health issues directly to hybridized wheat. I have been eating wheat-free for over a month and am seeing positive physical changes. My fingernails are really growing long and strong. I have lots of new hair growing in. My energy level has really increased. This book is well worth the read.

posted by 5455938 on October 29, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 144 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2011

    Not a fad diet book! Informative look at the wheat industry.

    When I was first learned that I have a gluten intolerance, I went to the bookstore looking for information on GF living, celiac disease, GF cookbooks, etc. I saw "Wheat Belly" but was turned off by the "lose the wheat, lose the weight" tagline at the top because I thought it was just a fad diet. I wasn't looking to lose weight--I was looking to feel better. A couple days later it kept coming up in my searches, so I decided to download it to my Nook. It is definitely NOT a diet book. It's a very informative, well-researched look at the wheat industry. Reading it actually made going gluten free easier on me because I now have other reasons that are bigger than my own personal ailments to completely remove wheat from my diet. It has also helped me convince my husband to go GF with me, which makes it A LOT easier. Everyone should read this book and then decide if they still want to keep wheat in their diet. I'm living proof that you can survive without it and feel SO much better.

    101 out of 104 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2011

    Highly recommended for celiac patients and diabetes patients

    I have diabetes and struggle with my numbers. One week eating as Dr. Davis advises and I am 6 pounds lighter and my AM numbers are in the normal range. I am rereading the book and highlighting many facts and tips to keep up this new lifestyle. This is something that will be a part of my new life. My new life with more energy, less pounds, healthy numbers. Thank you, Dr. Davis!

    52 out of 53 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2012

    I want to tell everyone about this book!

    I'm just glad this book came along when it did. I had stopped eating gluten in an attempt to feel better, and it helped some. Then I got this book a few weeks later, and it explains why that was so, and helped me structure my eating in a better way. It's shocking to realize that as wheat has been altered over the last 50 years or so, there has been so little attention paid to its nutritional effects. There may be some exaggeration here - there's lots of documentation, but it seems almost too extreme to believe. In any case, for me, it made me change my diet completely, and I have been feeling better, lost some weight, lost the bloating, and am expecting even more health benefits as I go along. The best thing of all is that I have lost the food cravings I have had all my adult life, which made me feel a frantic need for food, especially bread and baked goods. In a day or two of no wheat, all that just vanished, so food is just food, no need for will power to keep it under control. What a great relief! And that makes the whole thing of giving up wheat very easy! You have to cook, and it's a little hard when eating out, but even that is an interesting learning experience, and the book gives you help with it. I'm telling all my friends and family, Just do it - read the book and follow the advice!

    48 out of 51 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2011

    this book will Change your health, body and life for the better

    Understand why north Americans are the fattest and sickest population on the planet

    Corporate profits have trumpet our health and wellbeing and the story of wheat (and grains)

    Highlights this perfectly

    Read this book and wake up to the fact that your government cares little about your health and

    A lot about big money interests

    Learn why and how wheat is making you fat, sick and stupid

    Read this book if you care about living longer, feeling and looking better

    Other foods to avoid at all costs, soy and polyunsaturated vegetable oils

    40 out of 50 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2011

    Highly Recommended!!!

    Finally somebody explains the wheat-health connection, which I have known of for 45 years by personal experience, but could never bring myself to believe. Sometimes a bit tedious to get through all the medical terms, but well worth the effort. Thank you- Dr. Davis!

    37 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Wheat Free

    I have been wheat free and gluten free since I read this book. It is well written, very informative, and is a must for anyone who wants to get healthy and stay healthy. I feel great and have lost significant weight. It's a shame what has happened to wheat. Read this book and be informed!

    36 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2011

    Really well-researched book - great read!

    I have really been struggling with my weight for a long time and started a paleo-type way of eating about two weeks ago. This book had great information on why wheat is so bad for us and offers great information for me on getting and staying healthy and getting my weight under control.

    32 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2011

    This one works!

    Very informative and well researched. If implemented, there is steady weight loss (about a pound a week for me) and one becomes more energized. I've recommended the book to several people and have enjoyed the results, even though I'm only 4 weeks into the program.

    28 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2012

    Wheat Is the New Tobacco

    This book is long overdue. Today's wheat is not the wheat of 100 or even fifty years ago. Far from being a healthy component in a balanced diet, wheat is responsible for a great many ills among far more people than is generally known. Dr. Davis explains clearly the history of wheat, how it has been mutated into something that really can't be called wheat, and how eating wheat affects us, chronically and acutely.

    19 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2011

    a good read.

    This book has a lot of info in it that we usually don't hear about. So far I am impressed with the author.

    18 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2011

    Highly recommended still doesn't cover it!

    Very insightful. An absolute "Must Read". Do not even debate whether or not to purchase this book. The recipes are great too!

    17 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    Bowel problems

    This book is to further your research on a number of bowel problems. I have crohn's disease and it has been a learning process for 15years now. I keep hearing more and more people suffering with some kind of bowel disorder.
    You must be your own doctor because treatments will work differently from another person. It is a trial and error process that took me 7 years just to get at 90% remission.
    Good luck to anyone who suffers.

    16 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2012

    Worthwhile read

    Eye-opening and thought-provoking; well-researched premise & documentation on an incredibly pervasive food in our diet

    15 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    loved it

    got this book as a gift- since then I can only recommend it

    14 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2012

    Highly recommend!

    Great scientific backup. That's important to support an unpopular/new idea. I've long known the hype about cholesterol was misguided or worse, and this doctor shows the evidence in a clear and understandable manner. This way of eating makes me feel good! I discovered accidentally years ago that bread makes me feel hungry and fat, it's good to see the science behind it. B&N offers this as a Nook book, which made it convenient and quick to read. Couldn't reccommend more!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2012

    Very Interesting Stuff

    This book sheds some light on why most of us are obese. Very interesting observations. Some things go against what our nutritionist has told us, so now we have more questions for her. Otherwise, great read!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2012

    This book absolutely changed my life, my health, and my way of l

    This book absolutely changed my life, my health, and my way of living and eating! Everyone, no matter their health goals, whether to lose weight, feel more energetic, lose joint pain, feel younger etc., can find the answers in here! A must read for anyone wanting a better, healthier, and longer life! Dr. Davis knows what he is talking about, and reveals the ways we have been mislead and lied to for so long about what is truly best for our health!

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2011

    Highly Recommend

    Recommended by my doctor. Very interesting - and seems to be working for weight loss....

    6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2012

    Highly recommended

    This is a well written, logical book of fact based information. It is written in language though scientific, it is easily understood. The in information provided could be life-saving, definitely life-changing!

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    This book changed my life!

    My Diabetes doctor suggested (strongly) that I read this book. After just one chapter I knew this doctor was onto something big. Reading about the research and the history of wheat was what really convinced me to give it a try. I haven't had any wheat for a month now and I am seriously seeing results. My glucose has dropped by 20-30 points and I've lost about 8 pounds. I'm not hungry and this isn't very difficult at all.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 144 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8