Customer Reviews for

The Wheel of Darkness (Special Agent Pendergast Series #8)

Average Rating 4
( 182 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(75)

4 Star

(51)

3 Star

(33)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Loved this book

Agent Pendergast has got to be one of the best characters out there.
What I love about these books on Pendergast is that they're stand alones. You do not have to read them in order (even though I have) but for someone that hasn't read any one book from this series will...
Agent Pendergast has got to be one of the best characters out there.
What I love about these books on Pendergast is that they're stand alones. You do not have to read them in order (even though I have) but for someone that hasn't read any one book from this series will have no problem in picking up whichever book and start to read it..but be warned..you will end up reading all them. You can't help it.

posted by adventureag on May 4, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Not the best

I am a Pendergast fanatic, so I will read a childrens novel if he is in it. But I must admit this noval did not have the best story line. I will keep it in my library of course because he is in it, but I will need a follow up quick. I would like to see the writers ma...
I am a Pendergast fanatic, so I will read a childrens novel if he is in it. But I must admit this noval did not have the best story line. I will keep it in my library of course because he is in it, but I will need a follow up quick. I would like to see the writers make Viola more prominent in the Pendergast series. No, I don't like romantic mush, but Pendergast deserves to be happy and in love, so it would be nice to make her presence known occasionally. As for Constance, she is getting on my nerves.

posted by toniNC on July 15, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted May 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved this book

    Agent Pendergast has got to be one of the best characters out there.
    What I love about these books on Pendergast is that they're stand alones. You do not have to read them in order (even though I have) but for someone that hasn't read any one book from this series will have no problem in picking up whichever book and start to read it..but be warned..you will end up reading all them. You can't help it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2013

    good read just not my favorit

    good read just not my favorit

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2010

    Love this duo of Preston and Child.

    This series is fantastic and the Pendergast family and friends will hook you in from the very first book in the series(Relic). I would suggest starting at the first book in the series as i have no doubt you will be looking forward to the next book before you finish the first. This book provided an exciting journey starting in Tibet where Pendergast and his charge Constance Greene are asked to retrieve an item stolen from the monastery. The clues and hunt for the item take them all the way home an and out to sea. Once on board a series of brutal murders interfere with their mission, throw dear brother Diogenes into the mix and you have yourself an exciting exotic chase to save the world. Exactly what i expect from these writers. This series is exciting, smart, and filled with sharp wit and sarcasm. I really enjoy the characters and their development in the course of this series each book stands on its own merrit and i look forward to many more. I do find that these books will take over your time, one more page, one more chapter, you won't put them down so be prepared to check out of relatiy for a while and enjoy the thrilling ride.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    another fun time with Pendergast

    I'm not sure why so many people have rated this one low. Its another very good Pendergast story. Okay, maybe its not the best one but its still definitely worth reading and I think long-time Pendergast friends will enjoy it. Doug & Linc - keep up the great work! (I think I can call them by their first names after meeting them a couple months ago on their book tour!)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Wheel of Darkness

    As always Douglas Preston presents a good book to escape into an a rainy day.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2007

    Love Agent Pendergast.

    If there is anyone out there like Agent Pendergast I would really like to meet him. I just love this character. Cabinet of Curiosities was still my favorite book, however, I will read anything with this character in it. I think the ending was a little flat but that might be because I skipped to the last page to see what was going to happen just after I had started reading the book. Also, I'm not into boating so all the nautical jargon was a bit boring however still pretty easy to understand.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3