BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Wheel of Darkness (Special Agent Pendergast Series #8)

Average Rating 4
( 182 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(75)

4 Star

(51)

3 Star

(33)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Loved this book

Agent Pendergast has got to be one of the best characters out there.
What I love about these books on Pendergast is that they're stand alones. You do not have to read them in order (even though I have) but for someone that hasn't read any one book from this series will...
Agent Pendergast has got to be one of the best characters out there.
What I love about these books on Pendergast is that they're stand alones. You do not have to read them in order (even though I have) but for someone that hasn't read any one book from this series will have no problem in picking up whichever book and start to read it..but be warned..you will end up reading all them. You can't help it.

posted by adventureag on May 4, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Not the best

I am a Pendergast fanatic, so I will read a childrens novel if he is in it. But I must admit this noval did not have the best story line. I will keep it in my library of course because he is in it, but I will need a follow up quick. I would like to see the writers ma...
I am a Pendergast fanatic, so I will read a childrens novel if he is in it. But I must admit this noval did not have the best story line. I will keep it in my library of course because he is in it, but I will need a follow up quick. I would like to see the writers make Viola more prominent in the Pendergast series. No, I don't like romantic mush, but Pendergast deserves to be happy and in love, so it would be nice to make her presence known occasionally. As for Constance, she is getting on my nerves.

posted by toniNC on July 15, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 75 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2007

    An Exciting Book

    This was a great mystery with supernatural undertones. I had to stay up late to find out the ending. Pendergast is an interesting character. A smart detective, an intellectual thinker, and an extremely well read man. Constance, his ward, accompanies him on a ship where trouble afloats with murders. Of course Pendergast has a reason to be aboard this fateful ship. For those of you familiar with Child and Preston, this is a stand alone Pendergast novel. It is fun to see Constance along for the ride too. The book begins in Tibet where a mysterious artifact is missing. Then the plot settles on the ship. There several strange disappearances occur. The ship's crew are good characters, trying to solve the murders themselves and save the ship. The ending is spellbinding and conclusive. Don't stay up to late reading the book like I did.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    terrific Pendergast paranormal thriller

    Following their struggle with his insanely evil but brilliant brother Diogenes (see BRIMSTONE, DANCE OF DEATH and THE BOOK OF THE DEAD), FBI Special Agent Aloysius Pendergast knows he and his ward Constance Greene need time away. They head to the extremely remote but still not destroyed by the Chinese Gsalrig Chongg Buddhist monastery on the Tibet-Nepal border. They hope some solitude will lead to needed mental healing. ---- However, Abbot Tsering, who is one of the few Buddhist monks who speak English, informs ¿Friend Pendergast¿ that women are not allowed here as none have come before the thousand years the edifice existed and in fact he has not seen one since he was two years old that the Most High Lama Rimpoche is dead and they seek his nineteenth reincarnation and finally they are the keepers of the sacred Agozyen, which used wrongly could make humanity extinct the artifact was just stolen from a secure locked area. The almost visiting Americans agree to search for the relic, which takes them to a luxury cruise ship, where brutal murders imply the evil has been freed. ---- Fans of this great series will find the Tibetan journey with its 'locked room' (actually niche) mystery and the subsequent lethal cruise trip a refreshing change from the previous terrific Pendergast paranormal sagas. Adding to the always well written supernatural suspense besides the trademark save the world from evil thriller prime story line is whether Constance still carries Diogenes¿ offspring that humanizes the hero. THE WHEEL OF DARKNESS is a fabulous frightening battle between good and evil with the bad spirits seeming to have the upper hand. ---- Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2013

    Lives up to the standards of the Agent Pendergast series

    Another page turner by Preston and Child.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2013

    excellent

    This really holds your attention

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2012

    Fantastic page turner

    Pendergast at his best

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2012

    Many twists...

    Action and many twists dominate this thriller. A good read but i couldn't put the last 100 pages down!

    On to the nedt in the series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2010

    Awesome

    Keeps you on the edge of your seat the entire time!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Gotta love Preston & Child

    This one didn't start out with the intensity of the first 7, but it gradually got you there - intensity growing with each turn of the page. The "unusual" plots in the Pendergast series keeps me hooked. How DO they do it...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2010

    I am hooked

    Ever since I discovered this series I have enjoyed every one that I have bought.I only wish that they all could of been read by Rene Auberjonois.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2009

    Special Agent Pendergast is Awesome!

    I love Special Agent Pendergast. He is so good at what he does. I really love all the books featuring this character. The mystery is thrilling until the end and I was hooked. I found much enjoyment reading this series. For anyone who loves mystery, cleverness, and puzzling clues will love the Pendergast series of books. I hope the writers will continue to write Pendergast stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2009

    Interesting and Thought Provoking

    This was a very interesting, well developed novel that explored mysticism, good vs. evil, and the many facets of human nature. I found it enjoyable, entertaining and thought provoking as well as just plain fun.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2008

    Leaves you wanting more Pendergast tales!

    This is another great Pendergast tale in which the author's have taken him in a 'fresh' direction. Pendergast charged with the care of Contance, takes her to a secret learning center for Tibetan monks. While there they learn that an ancient object has been stolen. What is more, it was an object that was to be used to 'cleanse' the world from sin when the world becomes out of control. Pendergast is asked to track down the thief and bring the object back before it is unleashed on the world. Pendergast and Constance follow the thief across Europe and the trail leads to an ocean liner making its maiden voyage (the Britannia) to the US. Mysterious things start happening aboard ship, including some grisly murders. Also, some other things happen that could make the Britannia the next Titanic. This is an excellent follow-up to the recent trilogy and we learn more about Pendergast's life, what might have really happened to his brother and what really happened between his brother and Constance. The book picks up momentum like a snowball and heads towards a tense climax!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2007

    Fantastic

    The Wheel of Darkness Another thriller by the masters of mystery. This is the third of a trilogy. It¿s a stand alone Pendergast mystery. An art object is stolen from a monastery, the thief is murdered, and the murderer sails on an ocean liner and continues as a serial killer. The master of the ocean liner has a Captain Bligh complex. He refuses to change the ships course for the nearest port even though there are numerous murders on board. Meanwhile, Pendergast is searching for the missing art object. Along with the story there is a lot of interesting information about the ocean liner and its casinos. There is also some information about how a monastery operates. This is a book you won¿t want to put down once you start reading it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2007

    A reviewer

    This was my first Preston novel. The style and characterizations reminded me of The Gore Experiment and Paint Me As I Am. (Novels written by H. Jay Scheuermann) I highly suggest this book and plan to buy more Preston novels

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2007

    A reviewer

    When I can finish a book in 2 days it is a can't put down beginning to end. I cannot wait til the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2007

    The best of Pendergast

    To me, this is simply the best of all the Pendergast series novels. I thought that Still Life With Crows was the best previously, but this takes the crown for me. This is what 'Adventure' writing is supposed to be. I have enjoyed all of Preston and Child's offerings, but this may be my all time favorite.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 75 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4