Customer Reviews for

Wheelock's Latin

Average Rating 4
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Comphrensive and friendly

This is my second time trying to learn Latin, and I'm having a much better time at it thanks to this edition of Wheelock's Latin (which is, by the way, the 'standard textbook' for Latin language courses). Latin isn't effortless or simple, but it's very rewarding! My on...
This is my second time trying to learn Latin, and I'm having a much better time at it thanks to this edition of Wheelock's Latin (which is, by the way, the 'standard textbook' for Latin language courses). Latin isn't effortless or simple, but it's very rewarding! My only wish is that there was more midieval or ecclesiastical Latin in the lessons, but this text focuses almost exclusively on classical Latin, from ancient Rome. It's worth studying, especially for students of law, medicine, language, literature, history, politics, philosophy . . .

posted by Anonymous on June 27, 2002

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Nook version ruins a great textbook

Buy this text in real paper form while you can. The Nook edition is a bad joke full of typos, especially in the Latin where they wreck the authority of the text. All the grammatical tables are unscalable images in unreadably tiny fonts. A disastrous failure in publishin...
Buy this text in real paper form while you can. The Nook edition is a bad joke full of typos, especially in the Latin where they wreck the authority of the text. All the grammatical tables are unscalable images in unreadably tiny fonts. A disastrous failure in publishing.

posted by pklausler on April 23, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2002

    Comphrensive and friendly

    This is my second time trying to learn Latin, and I'm having a much better time at it thanks to this edition of Wheelock's Latin (which is, by the way, the 'standard textbook' for Latin language courses). Latin isn't effortless or simple, but it's very rewarding! My only wish is that there was more midieval or ecclesiastical Latin in the lessons, but this text focuses almost exclusively on classical Latin, from ancient Rome. It's worth studying, especially for students of law, medicine, language, literature, history, politics, philosophy . . .

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2005

    Still great in spite of LaFleur's changes

    I learned Latin with the previous edition and I now teach Latin out of this edition. This book is great, but LaFleur's changes have made it somewhat less so. If you're trying to learn Latin on your own, this book is probably your best bet. You don't need the corresponding workbook because the text includes all the exercises you'll need within the lessons as well as some supplementary ones at the end.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2012

    Nook version ruins a great textbook

    Buy this text in real paper form while you can. The Nook edition is a bad joke full of typos, especially in the Latin where they wreck the authority of the text. All the grammatical tables are unscalable images in unreadably tiny fonts. A disastrous failure in publishing.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    Brushing up with Wheelock

    In high school, we always joked that my Latin teacher was old enough to have spoken it. I struggled through the second year, barely retaining enough to construct a meaningful sentence. Now faced with travel in Europe and spending a few days in France, I felt it time to learn a bit of the native tongue. While listening to the audio for basic French, I found that even after all these years the tiny bit of Latin I recalled came in handy. I was spurred to head to Barnes & Noble to find a book which would help me rediscover my scarce knowledge. After picking up several tomes, I found Wheelock's. I flipped through it and immediately liked his approach to the language. His brief but interesting history of languages in Europe, the influences of other cultures on Latin were particularly fascinating. Had this approach been taken in my high school years, perhaps my interest would have been much stronger. I am only in the first few pages but am very thrilled to have found this wonderful book. It is great to feel the author's enthusiasm for Latin and hopefully it will continue to rub off on me.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2002

    Wonderful material

    This book is well organized and very informative. I enjoy the fact that you start reading small passages in the first chapter.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2014

    Ya wanna know a derivative of os ( mouth) ?

    CheeriOS because they go in your MOUTH

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2014

    Learn latin press here

    Buy minimus in paper not nook kay

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2013

    Welcome to Stormclan

    Hello . Im Weatherbrook and i created Stormclan . A clan that follows the warrior code . A clan that is justiceful and the cats devide not the leader . We will vote for Leader deputy and med cat . Canidates have intill tommorrow . Voter can join and canidites cannot vote for themselves but voting resaults will be in a week . To join yes you have to vote . If you cant let me know and well figure something out . We welcone everycat . Just this time you have to vote so we get clear answers . Example vote . Canidites for leader Swanneck and Dinoball . I vote for Dinoball . Deputy Geyserheart and Gorgedrop . I vote for Geyserheart . Spotpack and Dogbush for med cat . I choose Spotpack . All cats must meet all requirements . Leaders but have full limbs and no disabiltys or powers. Older then 12 moons . Smart agile and witty selfless and are required . Deputy older then ten moons . Selfless careful and somewhat smart requried . Med cat somewhat smart . Loyal . Hope you join . Festus

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2013

    Help with latin

    I always wanted to speak a different language before.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2012

    Can i learn latin

    Vampygal send that fyi

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2012

    I wanna learn latin

    I wanna learn latin!

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2