Customer Reviews for

When Bad Things Happen to Good People

Average Rating 4.5
( 79 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(51)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

For anyone who has suffered the loss of a loved one, especially to diseases like cancer where suffering is devastating to the patient and his/her family.

When my Mom died from cancer, after a long fight, a close friend recommended this and gave me a copy. Our church, main stream Protestant, givs it to our members as a gift after a death, although it is written by a Rabbi and has an Old Testament outlook. Nothing has he...
When my Mom died from cancer, after a long fight, a close friend recommended this and gave me a copy. Our church, main stream Protestant, givs it to our members as a gift after a death, although it is written by a Rabbi and has an Old Testament outlook. Nothing has helped more people deal with loss, in my experience, than this book.

.

posted by 994078 on August 6, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

'There are better works to understand God's ways...'

Dr. Kushner was well-intentioned in his authorship of this book to be sure. However, his basic conclusion is that God is either all-powerful or all-loving. Since bad things happen, God isn't all powerful. The theology is faulty. As Christ was fully God, and still fully...
Dr. Kushner was well-intentioned in his authorship of this book to be sure. However, his basic conclusion is that God is either all-powerful or all-loving. Since bad things happen, God isn't all powerful. The theology is faulty. As Christ was fully God, and still fully human, so God can be loving and powerful without losing either attribute. God's power never works outside His perfect will, and sometimes that will permits evil. A much better book on endurance through adversity is 'With Joseph in the University of Adversity'. This book will answer most questions Kushner poses from a much more conservative and scriptural point of view.

posted by Anonymous on June 16, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2007

    Thought Provoking Read

    Rabbi Kushner's writing style and brilliant ability to show contrast with real life situations creates an eagerness to read on and an insatiable need to learn more. From the tone of this book it leads you to assume that Rabbi Kushner is just a lovable human being, rich in modesty and humility. This is a very short book which will be of value for both religious and non religious people. Whether religious or not, Rabbi Kushner's book has the ability to put a new prayer or creed in your heart, and will also enlighten you to not lose sight of the meaning of life in your life. People need not wait for some tragedy to come along to pick up this book. Personally, I am not currently dealing with a loss however, after completing this book I feel more prepared to take on the burden of coping with any unfortunate occurrences, which the future may hold. I bought this book to enable me to pass on comforting words to people close to me which were going through some tough times in their life. The majority of the readers of this book has mis-interpreted this book primarily from the misquoting of the title of the book. If you get the title wrong then this book will not serve its proper purpose to you. If you seek a bridge to the New Testament read Melvin Tinker's 'Why Do Bad Things Happen To Good People'. In Tinker's 'Why Do Bad Things Happen To Good People' you will find a more expanded interpretation of the Book of Job and other important passages in the New Testament that delivers what Kushner could not due to his commitment and belief in the Jewish faith. In my judgment, the two merged will give you a wider scope of learning.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    When Bad Things Happen to Good People

    This is an excellent book. I have read this twice. It is good after some life setbacks such as deaths, loss of property, money issues, and marital problems.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2001

    Intellectually Honest, Yet Sensitive and Thoughtful

    It was Kushner's great insight to see that people who are caught in tragic circumstances not of their own making usually get stuck in some version of the dilemma: if God is all-powerful, why do tragedies occur? On the other hand, if God is not all-powerful, of what use is this no-longer-supreme deity to us? Patiently, and with great wisdom, Kushner sorts through issues of God and grace. I'm a Protestant but I got more out of this book than years of Sunday School. 'When Bad Things Happen to Good People' may be a little oversimplified in places but it's a great place to start--especially if you're mad at God!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2013

    In what I got from the book confirmed to a degree that there was

    In what I got from the book confirmed to a degree that there was a "God" That created the world and man but after that it is left up to nature and us as humans to decide what happens next. My loss was not of family or freinds but in trust of my fellow man.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2013

    The book ┬┐Why Bad Things Happen to Good People┬┐ was one of the f

    The book “Why Bad Things Happen to Good People” was one of the few books I have actually enjoyed. I am not much of a reader; however after picking up this book, I actually was able to read through it and absorb the feelings that were felt by some of the characters in the book. The author Harold s. Kushner is a Rabbi and over the many years he has helped council families through tragedy and death of loved ones. He goes into depth of how families feel when a terrible accident, death of a loved one, physical disability, or accident happens within their families and friends. From his experience many of the families blame themselves for not worshipping strongly enough. Kushner himself went through the struggle of loosing a loved one, so he knew the pain of those who suffered. When people asked him why these things happened to them, he himself questioned why it happened to them. Which resulted in him looking deeper into the subject. His book includes numerous stories of people who have gone through suffering, and how he helped them overcome the pain. Kushner does an excellent job in this book, and I would definitely recommend this book to anyone who has lost someone close to them, or wonders why bad things do happen to good people.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    A Helpful Perspective

    The research was well done, sometimes a bit slow getting to the point. The overall premise was well explained. I found the message very helpful. It has given me strength to move through a bad time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2001

    Troy's Point of view of the book

    The book is a very good book, tell if something bad happens to you it does not have to be your fault, it could just be a punishment for someone else to help change their life. When they say bad things happen to good people well bad things happen to bad people also. It gives you the positive side as well as the negative side about being punished. The positive side is it makes you a stroger person and the negative part is that your are hurting and want it to come to and end. So read the book it will make you a much better person.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1