Customer Reviews for

When Bad Things Happen to Good People

Average Rating 4.5
( 75 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(47)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

For anyone who has suffered the loss of a loved one, especially to diseases like cancer where suffering is devastating to the patient and his/her family.

When my Mom died from cancer, after a long fight, a close friend recommended this and gave me a copy. Our church, main stream Protestant, givs it to our members as a gift after a death, although it is written by a Rabbi and has an Old Testament outlook. Nothing has he...
When my Mom died from cancer, after a long fight, a close friend recommended this and gave me a copy. Our church, main stream Protestant, givs it to our members as a gift after a death, although it is written by a Rabbi and has an Old Testament outlook. Nothing has helped more people deal with loss, in my experience, than this book.

.

posted by 994078 on August 6, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

'There are better works to understand God's ways...'

Dr. Kushner was well-intentioned in his authorship of this book to be sure. However, his basic conclusion is that God is either all-powerful or all-loving. Since bad things happen, God isn't all powerful. The theology is faulty. As Christ was fully God, and still fully...
Dr. Kushner was well-intentioned in his authorship of this book to be sure. However, his basic conclusion is that God is either all-powerful or all-loving. Since bad things happen, God isn't all powerful. The theology is faulty. As Christ was fully God, and still fully human, so God can be loving and powerful without losing either attribute. God's power never works outside His perfect will, and sometimes that will permits evil. A much better book on endurance through adversity is 'With Joseph in the University of Adversity'. This book will answer most questions Kushner poses from a much more conservative and scriptural point of view.

posted by Anonymous on June 16, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2009

    For anyone who has suffered the loss of a loved one, especially to diseases like cancer where suffering is devastating to the patient and his/her family.

    When my Mom died from cancer, after a long fight, a close friend recommended this and gave me a copy. Our church, main stream Protestant, givs it to our members as a gift after a death, although it is written by a Rabbi and has an Old Testament outlook. Nothing has helped more people deal with loss, in my experience, than this book.

    .

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great Book

    When I was going through a deep depression before/after my mother died, I read this book. It helped to move me beyond the deep loss I was feeling and brought me to a place where I began to accept that Bad things do happen to good people. I highly recommend this book.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2005

    Restored My Sanity

    I was floundering, wondering if I could ever trust God again with the safety of my family after the death of my 19 year old son in a collision with a drunk driver. I did not understand why God did not protect Christopher, after all,I prayed constantly for his safety. I could not see how any sin I may have committed was so bad as to cause another person to lose their life. I could not reason how my son's death could benefit the world in some great Master Plan. I was SO SO angry with God until I read Kushner's book. I now realize that God cried too when Chris died. The man who killed him had free will and chose to drive drunk. He was driving a vehicle much older and larger than my son's Honda Civic. The laws of nature took over. This book does not go against God in any way -- it reaffirms God's love for us and his wishes for our safety. And it literally saved my life.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2012

    Life Changing

    One of the best books that I have ever read. Not only for the wounded, but also for the healer. Not only for the mourner, but also for the comforter. Not only for Christians or Jews (I am neither) but for those of any faith. Not only for the heart but also for the mind.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2009

    A Classic Kushner Book for those coping with loss

    We have given this book to many friends, who found it insightful and inspiring when going through the most difficult of times.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    Best book ever written on the subject of loss, and trying to make sense of it.

    Best book ever written on the subject of loss, and trying to make sense of it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2010

    I found this book to be very helpful

    Regardless of your religion, I think this book can be very helpful in gaining a better understanding of God, your "Higher Power" or whatever name you use. I found that the author provides logical explanations that have allowed me to find the answers to many questions I have had. The real-life examples that he uses make it easier to understand the concepts he is discussing. In addition to helping me to better understand how God works, this book will be invaluable to me as I try to comfort others who experience loss.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2003

    This book changed my life!

    I was hit by a drunk driver and injured. The pain was terrible, and the doctors couldn't find the cause. Life was so hard, and there was no pleasure. I barely kept my business going and had some not very happy clients in the process as I struggled to do that which was required. A friend recommended this book. Not only did it provide the support I needed at the time, it clarified for me the role of God in our lives. How many times I hear people say things implying that bad things happened to them because they fell short somehow. Kushner banishes such thinking. Our trials and challenges are not due to our own short-comings or to an ever-watchful and harsh God who punishes us. The only short-coming we can really have is forgetting to turn to God when bad things do happen.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2001

    The First Reasonable Answers

    This is the first time I have read or heard a reasonable answer to the recurring questions of, if there is a God why does he permit these things to happen and why does he choose to ignore my prayers for help? So much common sense and wisdom in such a small book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2000

    KEEP YOUR FAMILY AND FRIENDS AWARE OF YOUR FEELINGS

    At a time when I wanted to get into bed and shut the world out Kushner reminds us of the importance of communication. Communication with our family, friends and faith. God bless him and anyone who needs answers.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2000

    The best book i've ever read

    This book was great. i didn't believe in God before i read this book. it helped me spiritually and it has made me a better person. everyone should read this book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2012

    A wonderful book

    I was going through a tough time trying to accept that the dearest person I knew had been dignosed with Alzhimers. I was given this book and it changed the way I viewed life, death and my relationship with G-d. I aways keep a copy or two of this book just to give away. It is a wondeful book. A must read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    Great book!

    Heartfelt writing from the author!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2011

    Compassionate and Wise

    The only words that have ever come close to helping make sense out of the senseless things that happen.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    An Oldie But A Goodie

    I first read this many years ago. Ordered several to give to friends who are facing troubling issues and questioning God's place in their lives. Kushner's explanations make such good sense to me. I highly recommend reading this again and again.


    I also recommend "When God Stopped Keeping Score" for anyone who feels bound by their anger, guilt, hurt or pain. I thought that the book was just about forgiveness, I soon learned, it was about so much more than that. It was about how you should deal with friends, family and yourself and more importantly, how to keep these relationships strong when things go wrong.

    Having read it, I feel like a better person. Maybe because this book spoke to me and not down to me. I have read a lot of books that was written like I didn't know anything. What the author of "When God Stopped Keeping Score" does is talk to you like a friend. I needed that. You will understand why when you read it. It is on sale here on BN.com.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2003

    Gives an excellent perspective of the every day unexplainables of life

    I picked this book up just a few days after loosing one of my close highschool friends in a car accident.At first glance I thought this book was going to be just another religious book explaining why the author feels god takes the lives of our loved ones. However this was not the case ,instead Kushner does and absolutely outstanding job of making the reader form their own opinions on the issue of why they think god makes the decisions he makes.I recommend this book to any one who is going through the tough times of losing a loved one. This book relates on all levels no matter what religion you are.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2003

    Very helpful--honest, real.

    Helped me deal directly and honestly with the anger and sense of abandonment I felt toward God after my father passed away. At that time I had prayed so much and he still died. I was feeling so helpless and lost. Kushner helped me see God is walking beside me through the hard times, and is not the the source of the 'bad things'. This book was very helpful for me.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2003

    Three Books to Read When Bad Things Happen

    I read 'When Bad Things Happen to Good People' when it first came out five years ago. At that time, I found it interesting. But it was not until I lived through the deaths of two of my closest friends and I reread Kushner's classic that the book hit me with full force. Two recent books also were important to me during this dark period. I recommend all three of these books for anyone going through difficult times: During the early summer, two of my best friends, both women in their 40's, died of breast cancer. I searched for books that would offer me help with my grieving, and a perspective on what I was going through. Most of the books I found were long on faith and hope, and short on thought. And then I discovered two books, both recently published, that saved my life. These were Harold Kushner's 'The Lord is My Shepherd' and Dennis Shulman's 'The Genius of Genesis.' I thank Harold Kushner and Dennis Shulman for giving me a way of understanding life and death in a broader context. All three of these books tenderly guided me through my valley of the shadow of death and toward healing, and, for this, I am grateful.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2003

    Deep, philosophical and encouraging classic!

    This book is one of the great classics. All of us struggle from time to time with this profound issue. The author delves into the depths of life and your soul. I absolutely recommend this book, and I also recommend you read Optimal Thinking. You will learn how to accept what is out of your control, and make the most of anything and everything that is within your control. Both of these books are first-rate!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2003

    IM A TEENAGER AND LOVED IT

    My best friend and her entire family died in a plane crash this year and this book helps give me such acceptance to death. I never thought i would have to think about death at only 17 but now that i have had to deal with it this book has made me so much stronger

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3