BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

When Blood Calls (Shadow Keepers Series #1)

Average Rating 3.5
( 170 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(44)

4 Star

(65)

3 Star

(29)

2 Star

(16)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

388 pages

Predictable but interesting. Good twist at the end. I would have love to read Doley's story.

posted by Lethy on March 31, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

So boring

I mistakenly bought the entire series thinking it would be a good read, but now. The book was boring, drawn out, painstakingly dull, jumbled, the relationship is quick and assumed, there's no buildup. I started reading the second book only to put it down two chapters in...
I mistakenly bought the entire series thinking it would be a good read, but now. The book was boring, drawn out, painstakingly dull, jumbled, the relationship is quick and assumed, there's no buildup. I started reading the second book only to put it down two chapters in when I just couldn't do it anymore. I'm going to take all three to the used book store and get credit for a decent book.
FYI, there really is no drama or suspense. It's too predictable, quick and a big let down.

posted by NewEngland on December 19, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 170 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted March 31, 2011

    388 pages

    Predictable but interesting. Good twist at the end. I would have love to read Doley's story.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    So boring

    I mistakenly bought the entire series thinking it would be a good read, but now. The book was boring, drawn out, painstakingly dull, jumbled, the relationship is quick and assumed, there's no buildup. I started reading the second book only to put it down two chapters in when I just couldn't do it anymore. I'm going to take all three to the used book store and get credit for a decent book.
    FYI, there really is no drama or suspense. It's too predictable, quick and a big let down.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    When Blood Calls

    http://bit.ly/99UcmC Sara Constantine is a hard-nosed LA prosecutor who is used to seeing things in black and white, no gray areas. But when she is promoted to a high security position in the mysterious Division 6, Sara is forced to question all the boundaries she thought were steadfast. And Luke, the vampire defendant in her first big case in this strange new shadow-world, is the main reason for her new doubts on her rigid beliefs. Part urban fantasy, part steamy paranormal romance, When Blood Calls draws you in and keeps you guessing. Plus, side characters like Doyle and Nick have me excited to read the next books just to learn more about them :) Though beware there are also some darker crime elements that Sara deals with as an attorney for a murder case which involve girls being kidnapped and harmed. It sort of has a Law & Order meets Moonlight vibe to it. If you're looking for a great new series with intricate world building and intriguing characters, then check out The Shadow Keepers. Especially since you won't have to wait long for books 2 and 3! Book 2 When Pleasure Calls comes out Sept 28th and book 3 When Wicked Craves comes out October 26th! When Blood Calls is book 1 in the new series, The Shadow Keepers.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2012

    I absolutely am hooked on these books!

    I have read when blood calls & the shadow keepers (short story) and it took me no time to finish them! I was so hooked that i didnt want to put them down! I highly recommened these series of books i have down loaded the rest of them and preordered the ones to come! Cant wait

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2011

    Great Book!!!

    It had adventure,romance, & mystery. Gread Read!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Pretty good

    I enjoyed the story and the mystery! It was very well done. The characters were great and I loved the ending even though it was expected :]

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Don't Bother

    When Blood Calls is suppose to be the first of three books by J.K Beck. These paranormal romance stories are supposed to keep you captivated and engaged. I found that she introduces so many characters in the first three chapters that I couldn't keep track of who was the main character and who I should care about. This novel was a waste of time and I will not be buying or reading the following novels.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2012

    3.75stars actually. This is a layered and complex world that h

    3.75stars actually.

    This is a layered and complex world that has vampires, all manner of shifters, djinns and other supernatural beings living alongside humans. During almost the first 15% of the book you're introduced to the major species and provided with some background that seems unassociated. Indeed a risky move for the initial introduction to what could be a long running series. As part of a challenge & a buddy read I was determined to continue. The pay-off was just about worth it. I don't care for flashbacks and there were a few of those that marred my enjoyment - those two items kept me from rating this book higher.

    The synopsis is quite accurate in the telling and there is no need to re-hash it. Both leads are likable, personable and multi-dimensional. They both present viable sides of a believable conflict that made the tension of the storyline flow well - once it started going. Some of the secondary characters didn't feel as strong to me and that is partially because so much of the story was spent on foundation and world building that there wasn't room without additional chapters. Hopefully this is something that can & will be handled in future releases for the series - after all if the secondary characters aren't interesting and this is a layered complex world there is no reason to continue.

    In addition to the leads, the idea of the shadow dwellers self governance and the ease with which they mirrored and worked with their human counterparts appealed to me. Another quite enjoyable tidbit was the climax and unveiling of the villain which was surprising. I also liked the layers of the shadow society as they were presented as mirrors of human society as well. The pacing was slow in places with the amount of detail relating to the world itself and the flashbacks but it did pick up for the majority of the piece; so it was uneven - again something that hopefully will be adjusted in later books.

    I liked the characters and the world enough to go forward with the next book of the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2012

    5/1/12

    Love this new series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2012

    Can't get into it

    There was no spark for me for this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2012

    recommend

    Liked it very much. It keeps you interested.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2012

    Not as bad as some say

    As someone who mainly stays in the paranormal romance genre, I was looking for a new author to add to my list. This was my first by this author. I too, had NO problem keeping charactors separate, didn't feel the sex scenes were too often, my only issue with the book was I thought it could have been longer thus making its good storyline great. Howver, I will read the other two as it was good enough to give me another author to read while I wait for new books from my favs to be published.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2011

    Intriguing

    I bought this eBook on a whim, and was very pleased with the purchase. Granted, vampires, were-animals and other shadow creatures are not my typical read. However, this had an intriguing storyline to off-set. Supsense. Romance. Action and adventure. I enjoyed it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2011

    Lost interest in the first chapter.

    I don't know why, but the central focus on the "special agent" - if he's even the protagonist really annoyed me. I felt that it wasn't worth investing in these characters' drama.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Recommend

    I haven't read anything by J. K. Beck until now, and I did enjoy it. I liked the suspense, but wish there had been less legal drama and indecision on Sarah's part. I was relieved when she finally decided to go with her heart. I would still recommend this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2011

    not very well written

    Any author that has to fill a story with pages of what can only be described as gratuitous sex which is the only thing that makes the story interesting is not much of a writer. This is my first and last book by this author and I will never recommend reading this book or author.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2013

    The language ruined it for me

    F-mongers??? Corny cussing... Didn't make it past the 3rd page

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2013

    I really enjoyed this book!!

    I really enjoyed this book!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2013

    A must read

    Get second book too

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2013

    When Blood Calls is the first book in The Shadow Keepers series.

    When Blood Calls is the first book in The Shadow Keepers series. This is a little bit darker than what fans of Julie Kenner have come to expect, but writing as J.K. Beck introduces us not only to a more dark side of one of my favorite authors, but also a start to a paranormal series that is more sinister than what I've read before.




    I loved the world J.K. Beck creates that Sara Constantine finds herself a part of with her promotion. She will continue to prosecute villains but now those villains are of the paranormal variety. Her first case involves a man she had a one night stand with and with whom she can't stop thinking about. She had no idea he was a vampire who is facing a death sentence for brutally murdering a judge. I thought it was interesting how quickly Sara adjusted to her surroundings, which include not only vampires, but werewolves, trolls, goblins and demons. She is in an unusual predicament when she comes face to face with her first defendant and realizes she already knows him intimately. She quickly decides that she will remain true to herself and seek justice no matter her feelings and even when things get pretty intense between Sara and Lucius, she still wants to fight for justice.




    I found Lucius to be a very compelling character. I enjoy reading a book where the hero and heroine are not perfect or are flawed in some way. Lucius is as flawed as a soul can get. He's a vampire and he has murdered and he makes no apologies for it. He's grieving the loss of his daughter centuries ago and is very protective of his ward, Tasha. He finds himself feeling connected to Sara, experiencing emotions he hasn't allowed himself to feel for a very long time.




    There are several secondary characters that were introduced that I'm highly curious about and hoping to see in the rest of the series. The best thing about this book for me was that this story isn't predictable in the slightest. I thought I had a pretty good idea what was going on and felt confident with what I believed would happen next and as quick as I turned a page, the story shifts and knocks me over!




    Overall, this is a very good start to a series that brings a different twist on the paranormal world. Interesting characters combined with some pretty hot romance and an intriguing story will fit the bill for most any reading preference. I am looking forward to the rest of the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 170 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9