Customer Reviews for

When Blood Calls (Shadow Keepers Series #1)

Average Rating 3.5
( 170 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(44)

4 Star

(65)

3 Star

(29)

2 Star

(16)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

388 pages

Predictable but interesting. Good twist at the end. I would have love to read Doley's story.

posted by Lethy on March 31, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

So boring

I mistakenly bought the entire series thinking it would be a good read, but now. The book was boring, drawn out, painstakingly dull, jumbled, the relationship is quick and assumed, there's no buildup. I started reading the second book only to put it down two chapters in...
I mistakenly bought the entire series thinking it would be a good read, but now. The book was boring, drawn out, painstakingly dull, jumbled, the relationship is quick and assumed, there's no buildup. I started reading the second book only to put it down two chapters in when I just couldn't do it anymore. I'm going to take all three to the used book store and get credit for a decent book.
FYI, there really is no drama or suspense. It's too predictable, quick and a big let down.

posted by NewEngland on December 19, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2012

    I absolutely am hooked on these books!

    I have read when blood calls & the shadow keepers (short story) and it took me no time to finish them! I was so hooked that i didnt want to put them down! I highly recommened these series of books i have down loaded the rest of them and preordered the ones to come! Cant wait

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2011

    Great Book!!!

    It had adventure,romance, & mystery. Gread Read!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2013

    I really enjoyed this book!!

    I really enjoyed this book!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2013

    A must read

    Get second book too

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2012

    Loved this one.

    Couldnt put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2012

    OMG I want more!

    Saw this book, thought I would give it a try. Wow, I read every book available in this series. I want more. I love the characters, the story line and the very interesting look into the concept of the legal system if it existed within the world of the supernatural. Treat yourself and read this one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great story

    Loved the characters and the twist and turns all the way to the end

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2011

    Really good

    When the book was done i didn't want it to end. A really good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2010

    OMG! I loved this book... Thrilling story, HOT characters...

    I was one of the lucky recipients of one of J. K. Beck's signed ARCs of "When Blood Calls" and just finished it last night. I couldn't sleep w/o finding out how it was going to end!!!! Needless to say since I couldn't put it down to sleep, I thought the story was fantastic. I was enthralled by how she intertwined vampires, weres, other supernaturals and humans in the story. The story was a romantic tale of detective fiction that was very believable. I was riveted by how the human prosecuting attorney was all business most of the time. but didn't come across as losing herself and her focus on the case as she coped with her feelings towards her one-night stand. I won't say anything else except that it had a totally unexpected ending for me. and I loved it! I can hardly wait for the next 2 books in the series.

    By the way, J. K. Beck is also known as Julie Kenner. so, if you've read any of Julie's books, like "Good Ghouls Do," you may want to know that she's now writing under the name of J. K. Beck. I found Julie's books when I was looking for more vamp stories with a humorous twist - they're fine for younger readers too. Her new series does not have the quirky bent. but, in it's place, she's added the detective fiction slant, a slightly darker twist and some very sexy interludes. making them more for adult readers.

    I know I'll be buying the 2nd & 3rd books in the series. they'll be coming out Sect 28th & Oct 26th (Aren't the short waits for the next in the series wonderful?)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Intrigue and murder and vampires, Oh My!

    A true relationship is built on the knowledge of a person's true nature - both the good and the bad.

    Sara is a prosecutor, newly introduced to the hidden society of paranormals that coexist with humans. Like all societies, there are the upstanding citizens, and the immoral lowlifes.

    Lucas is a vampire, the last of a long line of a powerful and crazy family, the Dragos. He has strong political connections that have helped him avoid the executioner many times. Though he has never been convicted, he is assumed to be the vigilante taking justice when the court system fails. But small details reveal the possibility of Lucas being a hired assassin, rather than a man working alone. Could these executions be sanctioned by the governing body of vampires, werewolves, shapeshifters and parahumans?

    Sara knows her first case is a clear and easy conviction. They have bulletproof evidence, a DNA match, and an eyewitness. So what, besides Lucas' heartstopping good looks and their passionate night of lovemaking, has Sara searching deeper?

    J.K. Beck explodes onto the paranormal scene with a novel that introduces a new way to serve justice. When Blood Calls is the first of a new trilogy filled with suspense and romance.

    She introduces the reader to her society of Shadow Keepers with the skill of a surgeon. The daily life of the criminal justice system that enforces the laws of the nonhumans is used precisely to insert minor and major information about the existence of these creatures and their lives.

    As Sara and Luke battle in the courtroom and in the bedroom, a hidden enemy lurks closer than they think. No one will see what's coming until it stands before them.

    Beck's paranormal trilogy is a must read for all who enjoy a good mystery, a dark existence, and a steamy romance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2010

    Captivating and addictive!

    Lucius "Luke" Drago is very sexy, handsome, smart and also a vampire...one who kills but for a very good reason. Sara Constantine is the woman who stole his heart and must now prosecute him for the murder of an evil man. They work together to try and find the true evil in the world , who escaped while on his way to prison, a man so vile it makes your skin crawl reading about him. Along the way to hinder and sometimes help we meet Agent Ryan Doyle, who hates the very air Luke breathes due to something that happened centuries ago, and his partner Agent Severin Tucker...both have very unique talents of their own. As the story unfolds you meet alot of unique people and non people. Murder and deceit, betrayal. lost innocents to pure evil and a love story interwoven into a must read book! I am looking forward to the 2 other books connected to this one. This author, through this book has made me a major fan of her work!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    this is a fascinating legal thriller inside an urban fantasy setting

    Manhattan-based government attorney Sara Constantine is euphoric following her win in court. She celebrates her victory by spending a heated one night stand with stranger, Lucius Dragos; who is at the tavern because Braddock, who he will kill later that night, is there. Sara is rewarded with a promotion to Division 6; whose lawyers prosecute vampires, werewolves, hellhounds and demons.

    To her chagrin, fate deflates her enthusiasm when she is assigned to argue the government's case against alleged killer Lucius Dragos. He likes Sara and not just because of the great sex. She somehow abates his demon. He argues she needs to take the blindfold off as he insists justice is not a blind legal adherence to the law because where evil deserves death; while she insists the law is the law even as she wonders if the man she prosecutes and loves is a vampire.

    Ignoring conflict of interest based on the Judge Scalia defense of not recusing In Cheney v. United States District Court for the District of Columbia Supreme Court case, this is a fascinating legal thriller inside an urban fantasy setting with a touch of romance. Though there is plenty of action in the first Shadow Keepers thriller, the story line is owned by the lead couple who debate justice. Readers will believe the Beck universe is real while pondering the same questions that disturb dedicated prosecutor Sara. If someone murders a serial killer they may be legally a criminal but morally are they delivering justice to an amoral ergo inhuman predator? That is the essence of Lucius' argument as he insists he killed a malevolence that deserved death, but as Sara (and the audience) ponders should he be judge, jury and executioner as a seemingly vigilante. Their falling in love enhances the legal vs. moral argument.

    Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3