Customer Reviews for

When Broken Glass Floats: Growing up under the Khmer Rouge

Average Rating 4.5
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted December 31, 2008

    A heartbreaking account of one woman's journey through hell...

    This is, without a doubt, the saddest book I have ever read. It moved me to tears again and again. Not only did I feel Ms. Him's pain, I began to appreciate just how little the average American knows of this period in recent history. A moving tribute to courage and survival. A must read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2008

    The Most Moving Book...Ever

    I under estimated the book at first. The quintessential of amazing. I am very picky and do not often recommend books. I have never cried so much it's sad, but is worth your time. It gives you a refreshing appreciation for family and life in general. This is a book you should read before leaving earth.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2008

    humanity at bay

    When the Khmer Rouge came to power in 1975, they subjected the gentle people of Cambodia to one of the most cruel tyrannies in all history. These false idealists sent even small children to forced labor camps, and killed nearly 1/3 of the entire population. The author and her family were repeatedly sent to several of the camps. Her father, mother, and kid brother perished. The author and several siblings survived, but just barely. Ms. Him recounts their suffering and survival in harrowing detail. What happened in Cambodia 1975-79 shows that the dreams of madmen are the nightmares of ordinary, decent people. As Russian author Igor Shafarevich has said, 'The triumph of socialism would not mean the withering away of the state rather, it would mean the withering away of mankind.' That's just about what happened in Cambodia under the Khmer Rouge.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2007

    A Moving and Powerful Book

    Before visiting Cambodia for the first time, I read this book along with a guide book and a book on the history of the country. This was the one that truly prepared me for experiencing the wonderful country of Cambodia, though. In the telling of her story, the author communicates a profound understanding of Cambodian culture, which differs greatly in many aspects from western culture, while also showing the universality of the human spirit in its best and worst forms. I felt connected to her and the people of Cambodia after reading this book even though I have never experienced anything remotely similar in my life. I will hopefully never be able to fully comprehend the horror that they had to live through, but this story serves as a lesson for all humanity on what is truly important in life. This is in some ways another Diary of Anne Frank. I recommend everyone to read this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2006

    Wonderful and Emmotional

    I loved this book. The story of how the author had such a huge loving and committed family was important to understanding the genocide that took many of her most beloved away from her. I think this book is an excellent read and informative for anyone not familiar with the Khmer Rouge genocide in Cambodia.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2014

    A tear-jerker for sure

    I had to read this book for my english class in 8th grade. I read it in a small group right after reading Night by Eli Wessil. I would not recomend that you do that. I had already cried everey day for about a month and this book was just as powerful. I thought it was well written and very good but it definatley makes one kind of depressed. Once you read this book and learn from it read something thats just downright fediculus like the hitch hikers guide to the univers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2012

    I have read so many books about Cambodia. This one is not that m

    I have read so many books about Cambodia. This one is not that much different many others. However, a personal account of life and death alone deserve a place in history. The courageous act to write this book may help many others like myself to heal a deep anger against that evil unemagineable acts of Khmer Rouge regime.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2010

    An Enlightening Read

    A shuttering story exposing genocide and torture throughout the reign of the Khmer Rouge in Cambodia. This novel awaken feelings of appreciation and thankfulness in one's life and exposes the shadows in which pain hides. I enjoyed the fact that Ms. HIm uncovers the horrors that lurk in this world, whether it was in the past or is now in the present. There was nothing wrong with this book. You should definitely give it a read if you have any interest in a provocative work that makes you ponder life while producing history. GREAT READ!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2006

    A Must Read!

    This book is amazing...transporting you back into time to describe the torment and family loss under the Khmer Rouge. A must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2003

    Nothing Like It

    I have never read a book that gets you so involved and opens your eyes to so much, like this book does. I have never read so much richness in a book before. Although the beginning drags a little it picks up right after that. I love this book it is a definite read, a 'must have' if you will, it truly is my guilty pleasure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2002

    Captivating

    This book is very honest and heartbreaking, I never knew much about Cambodia until I read it. She did an amazing job.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2