Customer Reviews for

When Bruce Met Cyn...

Average Rating 4.5
( 41 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2004

    A Prostitute?

    Minus the prostitute and this would have been a great book. Who becomes a prostitute because they THINK they killed someone (in self-defense)? It was extremely hard for me to believe that someone as smart and beautiful as the woman in this book was suppose to be, could not find any other job in five years. The writer constantly stressed the heroine's intelligence, but when it really mattered the most, this character made stupid decisions. As in most of Lori Foster's books, the hero is perfect and the heroine has serious issues. However, I still love this author because most of her books are good. I do hope she does better next time.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Solid

    This was the sweet book in the Visitation Series. I liked it...had a good story.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2005

    a young disapointed reviewer

    this was not what i'd expected when i first pick this book of the rack. it was the first i ever read of lori foster and i was sort of surpried because there's so much hype surrounding this authors work. not a light as you would want a romance novel to be. and sorry but a priest and a prostitute isn't the kind of susses story i like best. fun though. just not for me. totally recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2004

    Absolutely Must Read Book

    I Love Lori's books and this one is no exception. Bruce finally gets his story and meets his match in Cyn. Cyn is an ex-hooker who is trying to make a better life for herself, she distrusts Bruce from the start. It was fascinating watching Cyn and Bruce fall in love, there are many problems that they have to work through. Lori Foster brings back many favorites and teases us on the upcoming stories to be out. This is one of the series about visitation but it can be a stand alone book. I enjoyed this book and would definately recommend it to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2004

    ENJOYABLE

    I liked the story... Quick moving and entertaining. I liked the story about Bryan alittle better, however they are different types of characters and this story about Bruce does flow and I was glad they didn't have hot love scenes right away. Usually the back and forth teasing the heroine usually does annoyes me but not in this story.. It was appropriate.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2004

    This book is amazing!

    I am a huge Lori Foster fan, but even I was blown away by the level of intensity and perception of the human heart in this book. It is simply one of the most wonderful stories I have read in a very long time. Lori Foster dealt sensitively and honestly with many issues other writers would flounder under. The relationship between Cyn and Bruce is fantastically developed and realistically portrayed. Quite simply, it is a poignant, beautifully written book. And yes, sexy and romantic and all the other things that make an incredible romance. I loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2004

    Wow get this one!

    In this exciting and romantic tale a preacher, Bruce,mets Cyn an ex-hooker who's on the road of starting her life over but with danger on her heels that might not happen. This is a fun,romantic,and steamy story that will keep you hooked from page 1. You will be shocked at who the bad guy is and you will also revisit some of Loris other characters from Visitation! Get this one! You will love every page of it! Jenni

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2004

    Another Winner by Lori Foster!

    I love the story of Bruce and Cyn! Needless to say, this is another one of the best stories by Lori Foster. It is not only well written, but it also described Bruce and Cyn's characters perfectly. And I DO attracted by the preacher/hooker story line. It takes a great talented author and her superb writing skills to create such lively characters and making their romance sparkle. Go Lori, and keep writing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2004

    Bites off more than it can chew...Disappointing result

    If you buy the whole Pretty-Woman-hooker-with-a-heart-of-gold-and-unbounded-resilliance motif, maybe you'll buy this plot, but I cannot. I don't necessarily fault the author for the failure of this book. I think romance novels are precisely the wrong place to deal with serious issues like recovery from child abuse and prostitution as a primary plot. The first book about Bruce and Bryan wasn't quite as bad, because the prostitutes were secondary characters, and it wasn't necessary to delve into their psyches. There is no realistic way to do this in a novel like this for a main character that wouldn't sap the romance out of the story. I can't tell you how many times I put this book down in horror at the pop-psychology psychobabble that proxied for actual recovery. The premise of even the most fantastic story needs to be believable on a fundamental level. If I knew less about the subject, maybe I would have enjoyed the book more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2004

    Just might be my Favorite Lori Foster book yet!

    Cynthia Potter, at 22, has turned her last trick and has washed away the past. Starting over, she blindly points to a spot on a map - Visitation, North Carolina. And, it is not just that her finger has landed on Visitation, every time she sleeps, she has visions of a man, and of a peaceful place, with friendly people, something unlike she's ever known. Preacher Bruce Kelly is on his way home from visiting friends in Ohio and sees a young woman at a rest stop - apparently in danger. Bruce has spent many years helping women in need, providing ex-hookers a place of respite, and a chance to start over. His nature demands no less: he runs outside of the restaurant at a rest stop when he sees a big burly trucker manhandling this particular lady. Though the entrancing young woman can certainly defend herself, Bruce discovers she is in need of a ride, and since he's heading home to Visitation, offers her a ride at least that far. Fate: meet Bruce and Cyn. Bruce is determined to help Cyn - to get a job, to find a place to live, and to have a new start in her life. Though she has told him some details of her past, leaving out some pertinent details, he assures her that her secret is safe with him, and that she will find success in Visitation. Shocked to the point of tears, Cyn finds herself welcomed with open arms by the town's members. She finds a job - two jobs - and a place to live, right away. Eventually she opens a bank account, and is certain her life has truly just begun. Add to the strong attraction she has towards a certain sexy preacher, and her future looks bright and hopeful. What a fine line here! Two people, attracted beyond all reasonableness - one a former prostitute and one a preacher! Well readers. No worries at all. Lori Foster writes this book with an amazing amount of delicacy. Yet, his convictions make him the man that he is. In addition to his lustful feelings towards Cyn, Bruce feels a deep emotional connection towards her. Surprisingly enough to Cyn, she has similar feelings. Therefore, the sexual tension in When Bruce Met Cyn is done to near perfection. Lori Foster has written another winner. No doubt about that. Whenever readers pick up a Lori Foster book they can expect at least three things: strong family ties, deep emotion, and intense sensuality. Though the sensuality in When Bruce Met Cyn is dealt with in a different level, it is still in this book to the nth degree. This book is sure to keep the reader's interest from the very first page. Along with a touching romance, there is intrigue and danger in this book as well. Strong secondary characters, from previous books, have a delightful place in this story, thus rounding out yet another fantastic read by Lori Foster. Robin Taylor for In the Library Reviews

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2004

    Lori Did It Again

    WHEN BRUCE MET CYN is one of the hottest books out there. It has aready become one of my favorites from Lori. It's one of those books that you try to guess the ending but end up being suprised yourself.I loved the Preacher/Hooker story line. Lori has a way of making it work. Bruce and Cyn are made of each other and it shows. Lori has a great way of revisiting older characters from her other Visitation story lines which is a plus for me... I can't wait to read Julie's story and hopefully we will get to read Jamie's story as well... Can't wait

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2004

    EMOTIONAL AND VERY HOT

    This book really pulls at your emotions and you just cant help but love all the characters in this book - apart from the nasty villan. Bruce and Cyn really steam up every page. ***LORI FOSTER JUST KEEPS GETTING BETTER AND BETTER

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2004

    Lori Foster Does It Again

    If you liked Visitation, NC, go back for the tale of preacher Bruce and Cyn, the 22 ex-hooker who's trying to escape her tougher than usual life. The story tells the tale of Cyn's flight from her past as well as from a vengeful villian. The ending will surprise you in more ways than one. The characters from Say No to Joe? and The Life of Bryan are back with teasers that will make you anxious to read their stories also. Lori Foster does a great job of spinning a web of mystery around a sensual love story. When you're finished with this book, you'll be able to close your eyes and see Visitation and it's inhabitants, due to Lori's wonderful descriptions.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2004

    An Amazing Read!

    Bruce is a preacher who looks for the good in everyone, and his calling is to help others. Cyn is an ex-hooker looking to better her life without anyone's help, least of all a preacher's. When they first meet, Bruce believes she needs his help while she believes she can take care of herself. The spunky, independent young woman enchants him, while the kind, hunky preacher confuses her. Yet he's going to Visitation, which is where she's headed, so she goes with him to the place that has called to her in her dreams, hoping to start a better life. While in Visitation, Cyn begins to live her life on her own terms, finding satisfaction in honest work and meeting people who become her friends. Bruce is smitten with her, yet refuses to take advantage of her and insists on being her friend, but their attraction is overwhelming, and even he can't resist the temptation of love. Still, he wants her to realize that she deserves happiness in her life. Yet the mysterious Jamie Creed, the man from her dreams who drew her to Visitation, tells her that the danger isn't over yet, and she must face her past before she can have her happily ever after. Cyn is full of spirited determination and Bruce is the truest of heroes, full of patience and acceptance for the woman he loves. Their attraction is sizzling, yet tempered with admiration and respect. A wonderful, romantic and sexy story. and fans of the series will love seeing old friends again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2004

    Another great book from Lori Foster

    I won't get into descriptives as everyone else has that pretty much covered. What I would like to say is that these characters feel like people you know and care about; they are very well written and realistic. Ms. Foster took what some might deem taboo and turned it into an endearing love story in which the secondary characters make an equally strong impact on the story. As with any Lori Foster story, I give a strong recommendation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2004

    Bruce's story

    WHEN BRUCE MET CYN, features Bruce Kelly, Bryan's brother from The Secret Life of Bryan, who has settled in Visitation and is on his way home when he sees a young woman in trouble. Cyn is trying to make a new life for herself after leaving her old life behind, in Visitation. She has reasons to distrust preachers, but Bruce is showing why it is possible for her to learn to trust again. WHEN BRUCE MET CYN is a must read for those who read Bryan's story and was anxious to see Bruce get his own story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2004

    Wow, another great story

    When Bruce Met Cyn is a must have for any Lori Foster fan. Cynthia Porter ran away from a dangerous home life. She has been making her way the best she knew how ever since. Cyn decides she wants a fresh start and picks Visitation, NC off of a map. Bruce Kelly has decided to settle in Visitation after spending time their with his twin brother Bryan. On his way back home he rescues Cyn from a frightening situation. As Cyn settles into her new life, peril from her past threatens to upset it. Cyn brings out feelings in Bruce he thought were long buried. Bruce treats Cyn like no one ever has before and she can¿t believe he is real. Bruce and Cyn will touch your heart and make you believe anything is possible. When Bruce Met Cyn is a sensual story of love, starting over and family. Lori Foster has written a wonderful story that will have a place on any keeper shelf.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3