Customer Reviews for

When Calls the Heart

Average Rating 4.5
( 441 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(249)

4 Star

(121)

3 Star

(48)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

31 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

Wonderful historical series

I got this e-book because I enjoyed the book so much. This is the story of a young woman in Canada who leaves her home city to teach at a one room school house in a less settled part of the country. Right away, she faces challenges as a single woman and a teacher. She ...
I got this e-book because I enjoyed the book so much. This is the story of a young woman in Canada who leaves her home city to teach at a one room school house in a less settled part of the country. Right away, she faces challenges as a single woman and a teacher. She meets a handsome Mounty who is very helpful, but also against marriage for a man in his line of work. Subsequent books follow their adventures into even less civilized territories where life is hard but they make good friends.

I really enjoyed getting to know the main characters and their tenacity for not only survival, but to make the best out of a situation, while caring for the people around them.

posted by christinereed on May 24, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Cute

Two confirmed to stay single decide to take a chance.

posted by HershFam5 on August 17, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2012

    Cute

    Two confirmed to stay single decide to take a chance.

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2013

    Easy read

    good plot, fair development, could of been longer

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    Good book, bad editing

    I haven't been able to get past page 36 because it's difficult to read when it appears that pages got skipped. I read half a paragraph, turned the page and found myself in the middle of a different part of the dialogue. The page numbers are in order but the content is not. I love Janet Oak but this is a real problem.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    When Calls the Heart

    It is extremely well written. I have read numerous books by this author. I truly enjoy her work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2013

    Missing pages...

    The book was mediocre and it didn't help that there were pages missing. The page numbers were consecutive, but there was obvious dialogue missing and it happened about 3 or 4 times throughout the book. Weird! I'm kinda new to the e reading and I certainly hope this is my only experience with missing pages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2013

    Recommended

    A refreshingly moral story. Easy flowing read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    Cute

    A bit predictable, but a light read for a day when you don't want to think.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2012

    High;y reccommed

    liked to ending

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2012

    OK

    This book was one of several "inspirational" stories I ordered and of the 4 or 5 this was the second best. The story line was good, but other than the main character it didn't seem the characters were very fleshed out. Being used to strong characters from my favorite authors like Nora Roberts or Anne McCaffrey this was keenly felt and made the book a disappointment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2012

    Sweetsy Stories

    These boks are sweetsy and submisive. While I appreciate the role of the wife, I find her main character hard to believe. The authors main goal is to witness to you about God and Christianity. Not a bad thing, but just feels too sweet and unrealistic for what the heroine goes thru.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2012

    Not a bad read

    It was a very nice book....I enjoyed the fact that it was very a G rated romance book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2012

    Review

    A pretty good story, ecspecially for a free book. My only complaint is that nothing REALLY happened until the end of tbe book. However the story was still good and I would reccomend this book to anyone who has time on their hands.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2012

    Good read, easy and relaxing

    This was an easy book to read and one that is relaxing and enjoyable just to turn a few pages each day.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2012

    I know this is supposed to be a classic of sorts, but I found it

    I know this is supposed to be a classic of sorts, but I found it pretty boring. I mean she is only in the same scene with the guy three or four times in the whole book! I think I would have enjoyed this book when I was eleven or twelve.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2012

    Very tame

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2012

    Sweat!

    This was a very sweat book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2012

    Age appropriate

    What is the minimumage for this book?

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2012

    Could have done without the cheesyness...

    Though this book was filled with touching moments that will warm your heart, some of it was unrealistic and cheesy.

    For example, Elizabeth barely knows anything about Whynn before giving up her life for him when their love is only based on physical attraction, admiration, and excitement. This book makes love seem defined by a bunch of romantic moments and that as soon as you see someone attractive and nice, sparks fly, you were meant for each other, and you don't really have to think or pray about dropping everything you have and know for him/her.
    Just because you love each other it doesn't mean obstacles don't matter anymore and shouldn't be taken into consideration.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3