Customer Reviews for

When Calls the Heart

Average Rating 4.5
( 443 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(251)

4 Star

(121)

3 Star

(48)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

32 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

Wonderful historical series

I got this e-book because I enjoyed the book so much. This is the story of a young woman in Canada who leaves her home city to teach at a one room school house in a less settled part of the country. Right away, she faces challenges as a single woman and a teacher. She ...
I got this e-book because I enjoyed the book so much. This is the story of a young woman in Canada who leaves her home city to teach at a one room school house in a less settled part of the country. Right away, she faces challenges as a single woman and a teacher. She meets a handsome Mounty who is very helpful, but also against marriage for a man in his line of work. Subsequent books follow their adventures into even less civilized territories where life is hard but they make good friends.

I really enjoyed getting to know the main characters and their tenacity for not only survival, but to make the best out of a situation, while caring for the people around them.

posted by christinereed on May 24, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Cute

Two confirmed to stay single decide to take a chance.

posted by HershFam5 on August 17, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 121 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted May 24, 2012

    Wonderful historical series

    I got this e-book because I enjoyed the book so much. This is the story of a young woman in Canada who leaves her home city to teach at a one room school house in a less settled part of the country. Right away, she faces challenges as a single woman and a teacher. She meets a handsome Mounty who is very helpful, but also against marriage for a man in his line of work. Subsequent books follow their adventures into even less civilized territories where life is hard but they make good friends.

    I really enjoyed getting to know the main characters and their tenacity for not only survival, but to make the best out of a situation, while caring for the people around them.

    32 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2012

    I enjoy Oke's books

    I have read all of Janet Oke's books. She writes with a Christian theme, without pushing her religious views down the reader's throat and without being preachy. This is a light hearted romance. At times, it did not seem very realistic, but it was still a nice read. The book was listed 207 pages and about 200 of the pages were story. It was a fast read and held my interest. The heroine was a head strong, a bit morally uptight, upper class woman. She was a school teacher and wanted independance and adventure and was not interested in marriage and family. This was not a popular choice in the early 1900s for a woman. The book was set in the western Canada outback and the scenes described sounded breathtaking. This book would be suitable for females, ages 12 and up. I do not think younger girls would be interested and all males would think it was sappy. I liked this book and would recommend it.


    AD

    16 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2013

    Great book....I would suggest it for any girl/woman....makes you think about what is important in life

    Great book that focuses on trusting in The Lord to guide you in the decisions of your life...

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2014

    Great read

    I couldn't stop reading once I started it. A bit too much on the religious side for me personally but great story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2014

    Liked it

    Easy read and such a nice story. Love the Hallmark series which is based on this book. The TV series and the book have many of the same characters with a few different details and sweet side stories not shared on the screen. I enjoyed it and look forward to reading more from Janette Oke.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2014

    To the one below

    Because a nook is similar to a whole huge libary but much smaller so nook books are more desirable to read because they can be read anywhere and when you finish you can go to the next book right away with out having to bring another physical book with you.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2014

    When Calls the Heart

    I liked this book as told through small stories that comprised the whole. The characters were very interesting and believe able. I look forward to reading the next book in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2013

    Excellent read

    It kept me focused and wanting to read more

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2013

    Good jnspiration Very good

    Good aurhor

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2013

    Recommended

    Interesting

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2013

    For history lovers

    The author gives the reader insight as to what it was like to leave all that you know behind and go to some place that is wild and empty but gives you a feeling of accomplishment when you have the courage to stay and do what your heart tells you to do. This was an enjoyable book and the writer's descriptions of the scenery were enjoyable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2013

    Cute

    This is a nice story. It's a tad too preachy regarding religios issues. Easy read but if you aren't a Christian you may have a problem with parts.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2013

    Great read

    I really enjoyed reading this book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2013

    Lovely Story

    Lovely Story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2013

    Good book

    I am not a big fan of first person writing (I did/I thought) but was able to get into it about halfway through. This book had a good plot and I would definitely read the other Canadian West novels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2013

    When Calls the Heart

    Good read Great for young adults.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2013

    Pleasant

    Pleasant love story with charming characters, but little excitement

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2013

    Nice read

    This is the first book i have read of hets a enjoyed it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2013

    Easy to read and interesting.

    would recommend this book to someone who's
    just beginning to develop a habit in reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2013

    Enjoyable

    The author has great talent in making one feel as though they are a member of the community. A fast read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 121 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7