BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

When Calls the Heart

Average Rating 4.5
( 449 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(254)

4 Star

(123)

3 Star

(48)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

33 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

Wonderful historical series

I got this e-book because I enjoyed the book so much. This is the story of a young woman in Canada who leaves her home city to teach at a one room school house in a less settled part of the country. Right away, she faces challenges as a single woman and a teacher. She ...
I got this e-book because I enjoyed the book so much. This is the story of a young woman in Canada who leaves her home city to teach at a one room school house in a less settled part of the country. Right away, she faces challenges as a single woman and a teacher. She meets a handsome Mounty who is very helpful, but also against marriage for a man in his line of work. Subsequent books follow their adventures into even less civilized territories where life is hard but they make good friends.

I really enjoyed getting to know the main characters and their tenacity for not only survival, but to make the best out of a situation, while caring for the people around them.

posted by christinereed on May 24, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Cute

Two confirmed to stay single decide to take a chance.

posted by HershFam5 on August 17, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 254 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 13
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2005

    Like All of Janette Oke's Books.. . .

    All of Ms. Oke's books carry a struggle, a message of faith, and a story of love, which every life has. The story of Elizabeth and Wynn captured my heart, just as Clark and Marty did when I read 'Love Comes Softly'. I enjoyed this book and look forward to reading the rest of the 'Canadian West' series.

    30 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2012

    Wonderful story!

    This book is a great read. It is a blend of history and fiction-- giving the reader a look at what it was like to be a teacher in a
    one room school house in Canada. Great love story also!

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2005

    i loved this book

    this book is out of my favorite series i have read them all 5 times. i wish she would keep writing books for this series.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2003

    A Wonderful book

    Elizabeth was a young, weathly,eastren school teacher. When her half-brother Jonathan, asks her to come out to the west to teach, Elizabeth is doubtful. There she receives an unexpected marriage propsal. And also Wynn, a Mountie who she finds herself falling for.

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2013

    This book is good for all ages

    I am 14 years old and I really enjoyed this book because it is clean, and its hard to find good Christian books I highly reccommend reading Janette Oke books =) God bless

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Role model woman

    A strong, independent woman, cute kids, rugged Canadian landscape, and a handsome mountie; What more can one ask for? I got all of the books in this series after reading this one.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2012

    Wonderful Book! Historical Fiction Fans will love it!!

    This is a wonderfully written book about a woman that goes against what her family thinks is best for her because she feels called by God to go West to teach. The love that develops between the main character and the RCMP man is a deep, genuine, God centered love. This is such a pleasure to read. I have every historical fiction book that Janette Oke has ever written but my favorites are the Canadian West Series and the Love Comes Softly Series. These books and this author is so refreshing in an age where true, Godly romance seems a thing of the past and our moral comapss has been drastically changed. I highly recommend Janette Oke, this book, and this series!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2013

    Ms

    Love, love. Loved it. Just a good clean, enjoyable story!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2012

    Very sweet good way to put god in and funny and sad you can laugh and very in this book well done janet

    I also recomend the centerions wife,hidden flame and damascus way!they were all soo good and im only 12! ;)

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 1999

    This book is one of Janette Oke's best!

    I thouroughly enjoyed this book! I could read it again and again. It was very hard to put down and I only did it when forced to! I couldn't wait to read the next one. I may be only 14 but I have enjoyed all the books I have read by Janette Oke and plan to read many more!!! I'd recommend this book to anyone who enjoys a good Christian romance from the 1800's!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2014

    Great book

    I love reading this author. She makes it feel like you are right in the story with the characters. Can't wait to read rest in this series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2014

    A great book!

    I realy enjoyed reading this book there was nothing inapropriet and i enjoyed the religous aspect too. I love reading historical fiction and i am very picky about them being historicly acurret i fiund this one completly correct. Overall i am very impressed. I also liked the authers writing style which was written from the main charactors point of view.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2014

    Truly one of the best!

    Such an enjoyable book. Interesting learning about days past in this charming story. I appreciate the clean, funny way happenings are told.

    Have read and reread the series and purchased the entire series of e-books and the complete series of the past season shown on the hallmark channel.

    Would highly recommend all to everyone!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2013

    very enjoyable

    Great series to follow. Couldn't put it down!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2012

    Simply great

    I am so happy to have read this book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2014

    Lovely Story...

    So well written and descriptive that I felt like I was right there. So much personality did each person have that you can't imagine they don't really exist.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2014

    Alec

    Season 1.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2014

    War

    Da<_>mn. So many jokes I can't tell. But I can say one thing. Im being the tardis for halloween and my boyfriend is being the doctor. My cousin thinks I need birth control now. Think about that....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2014

    Great

    Very good. Easy reading. Held my attention as the teacher experienced living along in the undeveloped territory of the northwest. And at the same time teaching children who needed education.



    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2014

    Book or TV

    I'm enjoying the tv series but the book is good maybe better

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 254 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 13