Customer Reviews for

When Character Was King: A Story of Ronald Reagan

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2006

    An Amazing Read

    For me, I knew a decent amount about Reagan before picking up this book, but I wanted some comprehensive understanding about the man that was. This book is beautifully written and almost brings tears to your eyes as the triumphs and tradgedies come alive through Noonan's words. It really leaves you with a realized notion that we have seen one of our greatest pass.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2002

    Great Read

    This is a forum to review books, not gripe about how unfair life is. This book was well written, with an equal amount of humor and tragedy. Regardless of what you thought of his politics, it's still interesting to read the story of how a man came from literally nothing to becoming President of the greatest nation on the planet.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2010

    Character trumps politics

    Whatever your politics or political leanings, this book will give you much to think about - and core aspects of character to admire. Be careful however - when you read this you'll wonder why we have so few leaders with character these days, and you'll long for a president who has genuine personal character.
    There is by necessity some political commentary - but it focuses on how character influenced political thinking and how political events influenced character.
    All in all a great read. Highly recommended.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2002

    How to develop character?

    Character development has been written into the curricula of many school systems, public, private and parochial, across the USA. I search for the pinpoint in time that we as a nation realized that values are truly eroding under competition and commercialism, and that we need to TEACH character. Instruction by example and often works best, as we see in much of this account of President Reagan. Reagan had good character points and some not so good perhaps, as many men do. A White House that supposedly consults the horoscope each morning along with the odd psychic does not sit well with me. Urban legend, I hope. Neither did the Reagan letter sit well with me that one of my patients received during the years that tremendous cuts in Social Security Disability Benefits and other helping programs were dratically cut. Lying in a hospital bed wearing a full body cast for a spinal conditions worsened by slip-and-fall and other work related injuries and oseoarthritis, the lady of 60-odd years in age lay with all four limbs in traction as a friend read the letter to her. It said that her benefits were terminated and that she may want to find another source of income - perhaps starting a business of her own. Some people could have risen to that suggestion, but she could not. She was sent home from the hpospital early, lived in destitution for awhile, received reinstatement of partial benefits and then died. During the same year, a 21-year-old woman patient received full SSI benefits because she was 'tired from a heart murmur' and a 19- year-old man recieved permanent full disability benefits because he was a cocaine addict. They are still not working today. Well, no run of administration is perfect, but we need to try to persuade the workings of good character to flow from the man into government policy and practice as well. I like hearing the account of events, though they be anecdotal, illustrating Reagan's good character as an example to others. Forgiveness in an example of good character as well. I learned a lot more about character while watching the movies 13 Days and K-19, and reading the book K-19, it's script and it's historical records. During those years from 1960 - 1963, my young classmates and I were scared and confused. Both movies portray men who stood up to agencies, people and powers who were wrong, and that is one of the most powerful lessons on character that can be learned. Honesty, standing up for what is right, and taking action often costs some company or agency or man money as well as power, and it can get you killed. Have good character anyway.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2011

    One of the best Reagan books i have read!!!

    I have read close to 10 books on Ronald Reagan and this one is my favorite. As a Republican and as an America this book goes into great detail not only of his life but also his beliefs from childhood up until after his presidency, and what his family and friends thought about him. This book is comforting and inspiring. I highly recommend it to anyone who love this great country of ours.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1