Customer Reviews for

When Christ and His Saints Slept (Eleanor of Aquitaine Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 59 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(46)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

I'd give it 10 stars if I could

Excellent read. I found myself 'googling' different facts and Penman was right on target - she brought the characters to life and with the blend of the historical facts and the fiction added in, I just couldn't put the book down. I can assure you, when you read this b...
Excellent read. I found myself 'googling' different facts and Penman was right on target - she brought the characters to life and with the blend of the historical facts and the fiction added in, I just couldn't put the book down. I can assure you, when you read this book, you feel every battle, seige and the horrors the 12th century could bring in England - and bringing the historical figures to life just made the book a great read.

posted by Anonymous on May 25, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Good not sorry I read it but I kept looking at what page I was on

This book is good not great. I kept looking at what page I was on - it was a little dry. I did finish it - not sorry I read it. I could definately put it down and go do my chores which speaks well for a clean house but not for a book that makes me ignore everything e...
This book is good not great. I kept looking at what page I was on - it was a little dry. I did finish it - not sorry I read it. I could definately put it down and go do my chores which speaks well for a clean house but not for a book that makes me ignore everything else.

posted by taciesmith on June 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 59 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2012

    Good not sorry I read it but I kept looking at what page I was on

    This book is good not great. I kept looking at what page I was on - it was a little dry. I did finish it - not sorry I read it. I could definately put it down and go do my chores which speaks well for a clean house but not for a book that makes me ignore everything else.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2011

    Amazing Read

    It took me a month to read however it is a book I will never forget. The story is enchanting and captures you in every way possible. Loved, Loved Loved it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2008

    I'd give it 10 stars if I could

    Excellent read. I found myself 'googling' different facts and Penman was right on target - she brought the characters to life and with the blend of the historical facts and the fiction added in, I just couldn't put the book down. I can assure you, when you read this book, you feel every battle, seige and the horrors the 12th century could bring in England - and bringing the historical figures to life just made the book a great read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2001

    A rich and beautiful work...

    I have never read any of Ms. Penman's works before this book, but I am certain that I will now go purchase all of her other books! I just finished reading this tale, and I find myself missing the characters! For those of you not interested in history, this book will give you reason to start being interested. As one critic commented, the characters are brought to life and are not merely cardboard cuts outs that most students study in school. I've done a lot of research on the geneological data that she represents in this book, and I have to say she has done an AMAZING job! I am a direct descendant of William de Warenne, so it was fun to read about his life and the characters surrounding him. I tip my hat to you, Ms. Penman, and look forward to reading the rest of your books.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2011

    GOOD READ ladylawyer

    This author was new to me. I depend on readers' reviews before buying a book. Thank all the reviewers for honest assessments of this author and this book. I liked Ranuld best. Poor Maude. Did she have any happiness? King Stephen's character flaw was unfortunate though I did enjoy his company. Henry was Henry, enough said. I have to think hard to remember how the book began, but did it not have a glorious end? Elanore, merely a whisper at first, was in the end loudly proclaimed. Deservedly so.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2013

    Boring

    Couldn't finish it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2013

    Well researched. If one is interested in early English @ French

    Well researched. If one is interested in early English @ French history or just early history in general this is a well written book. The reading , at times slows down a bit, but only because of the amount of detail presented. Also because I would Google some of the facts. The life, battles and sieges of 12th England century brings into stark clarity how difficult life was. This is the 2nd book by Penman I have read and look forward to reading the rest.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great Saga

    When Christ and His Saints Slept by Sharon Kay Penman features the beginnings of the Plantagenet dynasty. It features the bloody war that raged England between Stephen and his cousin Maude. Stephen steals the crown after King Henry the First's death from Maude, who's the rightful heir to the throne of England. With that main event, you get a lot of war, a lot of betrayal, and a lot of family struggles to keep the crown, or to take it.

    I strongly recommend studying the family tree first which is gratefully provided in the beginning of the book. That way you can find it who is related to who (you'll find out they are all related somehow) and who is married to who. It may help you to take notes so you'll also know who is who as it does get confusing. Especially in the beginning just when the story starts to develop. There are a lot, and I mean A LOT of characters. It may seem overwhelming at first, but the family tree helped me get through with it and although I didn't take notes, I got the main idea on who's who once the story progresses. To me, it felt like reading a very exciting history book. It feels so historically accurate and everything is rich in detail from the way the characters talk to the way everything is described.

    The battle sequences are interesting. They do seem real and they seem quick even though the book is filled with battles and wars and seiges. I like them a lot though as it does make you progress through the novel faster and it adds action to the plot. The politics of this book is also interesting. Although there were parts where I was shocked to see betrayals by certain characters yet it adds excitement and intrigue which in turn makes the book historically accurate as well. Besides the battles and the politics, you are also taken to some of the characters' more personal lives and their personal troubles. For example you have the story of Ranulf, who loves Annora who was his betrothed until she got married off to someone else. In turn he does what he can to win her back. It's these mini stories that also help the story go along and it's nice to see these, as it brings more "flesh" and depth to the characters instead of making them flat and cardboard like.

    What I love the most is the portrayal of women in this book. I love Maude, as she was so strong and determined to continue the war to get her crown back and all of this for her son Henry (the second). You get a lot of strong female characters and how they actually provided the backbone and their never ending support to their husband/son's causes. I liked the portrayal of Eleanor of Aquitaine despite the myths surrounding her life, I think it was well done and I admired her ability to secure her future without any thought of how others might see her. Basically, you won't see many weepy needy women in this book. They're all a beacon of strength.

    The only problem I have with this book? just way too many characters to go through and it got a little confusing in the beginning. However once you establish the main players, and how they're involved in the war then it gets easier. As I have mentioned before, perhaps it's wise to take notes, or to take into account the family tree in the beginning.

    Overall a wonderful book for historical buffs out there, especially those curious or lovers of the Plantagenet Dynasty. This is my first book about them and I don't regret it one bit. I loved the rich history, it was like looking at one very detailed

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2002

    Magnificent!!!

    I picked this up from the local bookstore only because it had a reference to my beloved Eleanor of Aquitaine. Instead, I found myself growing to respect another of history's great medieval women. The Empress Matilda and her story is one of the most interesting true, factual histories I have ever studied, and lately I have been doing everything in my power to locate histories of that era (see below), only to discover how closely 'Saints' is to the real evidence (blame me, I know, for not taking Penman's author's note seriously, but trust me, what she did say was true). What amazed me was that this civil war - created by Penman to sound so like a fictionous story - is actually so true! Bravo to Penman.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2000

    Penman Breaths Life Into History!

    Every chapter in this book seduces the reader into that complicated maze of English history so smoothly you can't remember the exact moment you became part of it. You just know you are there and you don't want it to end. Great going Sharon Penman!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2012

    Another fantastic read!

    Love this series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2012

    Excellent series

    I loved this series. I read all 4 books within 3 months and I can't wait for the 5th book. I appreciate the detail that Ms. Pennman gives the characters and the events of time period. This detail gives the reader the illusion of tramsporting back in time.
    Sharon Kay Pennman and Margaret George are my favorite authors of historical novels!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2012

    Learn about history

    The story of henry the second and how he became king of england.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2012

    Superd Superb

    This has to be one of the historical novels written in recent years. Great story with real figures.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 59 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3