Customer Reviews for

When Darkness Comes (Guardians of Eternity Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 691 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(285)

4 Star

(207)

3 Star

(116)

2 Star

(40)

1 Star

(43)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

great series

I read an excerpt in the back of another book for the second book in the series. I got the book from the library. 10 min after finishing the book I had ordered all six of them from B&N ( the 6th I pre-ordered as it's not out yet). I really enjoyed all of them. If you...
I read an excerpt in the back of another book for the second book in the series. I got the book from the library. 10 min after finishing the book I had ordered all six of them from B&N ( the 6th I pre-ordered as it's not out yet). I really enjoyed all of them. If you like Linsay Sands, Pamela Palmer or Laurell K Hamilton you should like these also.

posted by Debby-Ca on January 30, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Great synopsis...... Poorly written!

I was looking forward to reading this book after reading the synopsis. The writing style lacks flow and congruency. The characters seem corny and predictable at times.... 3 out of 10 for this book..... Not worth my time or money.

posted by ArtsyLady4 on May 15, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 15, 2010

    Great synopsis...... Poorly written!

    I was looking forward to reading this book after reading the synopsis. The writing style lacks flow and congruency. The characters seem corny and predictable at times.... 3 out of 10 for this book..... Not worth my time or money.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Eh

    I finished the book because i bought it but i wasnt hooked on it.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Bloody Hell

    Abby seems to have trouble following her. Growing up she had nothing to look forward to. He father was a abusive drunk. Her mother was useless and un-motherly. So when she started a menial job she didn't think her life was getting much better. Her life changed after a huge explosion occurred knocking her down. After gathering herself she ran to see her employer Selena dead while Dante trying to save her. Selena grabbed hold of Abby transferring the Phoenix and making her the Chalice. Making this short Dante and Abby fell in love they had to battle witches, demons and wizards. While fighting to stay alive they were trying to find a way to remove the Phoenix from Abby and removing the spell from Dante, which tied him to the phoenix as a protector.

    As much as I hate to give a negative review, The characters were underdeveloped. If Dante remarked "Bloody hell" one more time I probably would have screamed. I didn't understand the relationship between Dante and Abby. At times they seemed a perfect pair and then you realized how the characters didn't seem to have much personality. Abby may have talked about her childhood but it wasn't heartfelt. I had no connection with her. This book took me a week to get through because I just couldn't get into it. The writing lagged, it was slow paced even during the drama and fighting scenes.

    The one character I wanted to know about really wasn't in the book as much. Viper was Dante's brotherly/fatherly figured who demanded attention that wasn't given. I have found out that the second in the series is Vipers story. As of now I would not read the rest of the series. I still have a bad taste in my mouth maybe I will give it another shot in a month or so.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2011

    Don't

    I had no idea what I was getting into when I started reading this book. the best I can say is that it was okay. I am going to pass on the other books in this series because at times it read like a romance novel....

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2014

    TO ALL

    DIVERGENT RP IS AT BRAVERY ALL RES AND IT HAS ALL FACTIONS

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2