Customer Reviews for

When Darkness Comes (Guardians of Eternity Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 690 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(285)

4 Star

(206)

3 Star

(116)

2 Star

(40)

1 Star

(43)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Another great one!!!!!!!!!!!!

Dante's story is absolutely wonderful. New characters are already intriguing. Can't wait to read the next book. Nice plot and story that flies.

posted by Naturegirlej on February 16, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Great synopsis...... Poorly written!

I was looking forward to reading this book after reading the synopsis. The writing style lacks flow and congruency. The characters seem corny and predictable at times.... 3 out of 10 for this book..... Not worth my time or money.

posted by ArtsyLady4 on May 15, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 206 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 11
  • Posted January 30, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    great series

    I read an excerpt in the back of another book for the second book in the series. I got the book from the library. 10 min after finishing the book I had ordered all six of them from B&N ( the 6th I pre-ordered as it's not out yet). I really enjoyed all of them. If you like Linsay Sands, Pamela Palmer or Laurell K Hamilton you should like these also.

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Nice new series!

    When Darkness Comes is the first book in a new paranormal romance series called the Guardians of Eternity by author Alexandra Ivy. When Darkness Comes is set in Chicago and includes demons, evil wizards, witches, and vampires.
    This story is about Abby, who inherits the power of Phoenix (a good creation keeping the Prince of Darkness at bay), when her employer dies. Dante, the protector (or beast as referred to in the story), is a vampire and magically chained to that power to protect the Phoenix, also call The Chalice.
    For most of the story it centers around the growing attraction between Abby and Dante and conflicts to include the dangers that Abby and Dante face in the form of zombies, demons and the acolytes of evil while trying to find the witches and have the Phoenix removed from Abby.
    I again, was looking for a new paranormal series and found that this definitely fit the bill for it. I feel as though Alexandra Ivy did a phenomenal job at making the characters likeable and the plot entertaining, not to mention the hilarious back-and-forth between Dante and Abby with her stubborn ways and his arrogance attitude. When Darkness Comes is a hugely enjoyable read and a strong start to the Guardians of Eternity series, it has everything a vampire romance fan could ask for - sexy vampires and hot romance.
    I am looking forward to the next book in the series, Embrace the Darkness, which hopefully is the story of the cunningly wicked Viper.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2010

    Awesome for a Lonely Night

    Ok Ladies if you dream of being swept off your feet then this is the book for you. First in a series of 6 books each building on the other. Great read not to much "Hot and Heavy" just enough. Good story and easy to read.

    I like how she gets you to keep interested in the next books by putting a chapter of the next at the end.
    If you like fantasy with a good story then this is only the begining for you. I recommend you read all in the series. You will enjoy each one.

    As you read you will enjoy the characters as they are introduced and built upon. Almost able to imagine them right before you. Excelent read for in front of the fireplace!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Dry

    Let's just say i'm glad I rented this book from the libary. The first few chapters was good and pulled me in, then after that the story was just slow and boring. It did have it's high points and funny parts of the story but other than that ick.. it was hard to finish this book, but I am looking forward to reading viper's story. I hope it don't share the same pattern as the first story.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Dante and Abby are a hit

    Dante and Abby are a great couple. I am looking forward to continuing this series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great first timer

    THIS IS MY FIRST BOOK BY ALEXANDRA IVY. MY HUSBAND BOUGHT IT FOR ME AND I AM GLAD HE DID I READ THIS BOOK IN ONE DAY COULD NOT PUT IT DOWN. LOVE THE DARK VAMPIRE WHO EVEN THOUGH IS DEAD HAS A HEART FOR ONE WOMEN AND WANTS TO MATE HER. THE ONLY THING I WISH IS THAT IN THIS BOOK THE SEX WAS MORE DETAILED I MEAN DON'T GET ME WRONG IT WAS OK BUT NOT MIND BLOWING OFF THE PAGES I LIKE THE SEX IN BOOKS TO BE HOT. BUT OVER ALL THE BOOK WAS WELL WRITTEN AND I AM STARTING ON THE SECOND BOOK TO THIS SERIES. I LIKED THE DARKNESS AND THE CHASE THAT DANTE AND ABBY INDURED. CAN'T WAIT TO SEE IF VIPER, DANTE VAMPIRE FRIEND HAS A HAPPY ENDING. ALEXANDRA VERY WELL WRITTEN WILL LOOK FOR MORE OF YOUR WORK.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2013

    Great book!

    Great series!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2012

    A very good read

    This was a good book. strong characters and plenty of action and romance. A definite read for sure

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2012

    She hits them all!

    Ivy combines all different aspects of the paranormal world into this series! Great series!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Surprisingly better than good!

    Whoaw, I really enjoy this author writing skills and the book overall. Dante and Abby story was wonderful, the characters were well developped, good introduction of Viper. Do not let small reviews fool you THESE ARE EXCELLENT SERIES and very well written.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2008

    Great Sequel!

    Ivy does it again! She has an interesting world so full of paranormals that you expect to get lost in the mix. However, she pulls it off. The gargoyle is hilarious. Viper was a little more sappy than I expected him to be, but I guess someone as old as he is can fall hard when they fall for the right demon. Great plot twist!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Set in Chicago, this is a really hot paranormal romance, with a

    Set in Chicago, this is a really hot paranormal romance, with a world full of
    vampires (who, oddly enough, are the good guys, as well as being irresistibly
    sexy) and wizards and of course, a concluding battle between good and evil.

    Abby, the heroine, starts out human and ends up something else entirely. Dante
    is the perfect hero, except for the allergic to sunlight thing. As a vampire, he's
    got the bad boy-dangerous vibe going. Together, they make a very sexy couple.
     The suspense level stay high throughout, with lots of twists and turns.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2014

    CHristina                                                      

    CHristina                                                                   gtg

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2011

    For anyone who likes romance reading with a vampire twist.

    First ebook purchase and got lucky. Entertaining and hot. Enjoyed and would recommend to all who like strong women in their stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2011

    great!

    i am always looking for new paranormal romance authors. i like the steamy sex stuff so for me it was two thumbs up!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2010

    Great book

    This was a great book. A bit to many sexual scenes, but beyond that it is fun to read and keeps you entertained throughout.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2010

    When Darkness Comes

    This is a good, enjoyable read in the vampire/romance genre. There are good characters, plenty of adventure and adversity, as well as great romantic chemistry between Dante and Abby. We are also introduced to characters for the next books to come. I only wonder if there are any men out there that really wear thigh high boots? Also, are all vampires taller than the average guy, when they were just men to begin with?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2010

    Good Book!!

    I really enjoyed reading this first one, I downloaded the second in the series before I finished the first!! What I DON'T understand is why the third book in the series isn't available as an ebook??

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2010

    PRETTY GOOD BOOK!

    I WAS REALLY SURPRISED WHEN I FINISHED THE BOOK. I DIDNT THINK MUCH OF IT BECAUSE IT DIDNT SEEM IT WAS GONNA BE GOOD BUT IT REALLY WAS. IF YOU LIKE READING ABOUT VAMPIRES AND LIKE ROMANCE YOU WILL LIKE THIS BOOK. I HAVE READ MANY VAMPIRE BOOKS AND I COULD SAY THIS STORY IS UNIQUE AND ITS MUCH MORE THAN ROMANCE THROUGH OUT THE WHOLE STORY THE ARE BASICALLY CONSTANTLY MOVING BECAUSE EVIL SEEMS TO FIND THEM EVERYWHERE THEY GO...IM NOT GONNA TELL YOU ANYMORE BECAUSE I DONT WANT TO SPOIL ANYTHING. THERES WHITCHES TOO, NOT ONLY VAMPIRES IF THAT HELPS =] AND SOME OTHER DEMONS AS WELL..I WOULD RECOMMEND THIS BOOK!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 206 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 11