Customer Reviews for

When Darkness Falls

Average Rating 4
( 48 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Remarkable, Rich, and Cleverly Addictive!

Attorney Jack Swyteck agrees to represent Falcon, a homeless man who stops traffic for hours when he stands on a bridge and threatens to jump--his only demand, to speak to the Mayor's daughter, police officer Alicia Mendoza. Falcon comes to an agreement with hostage neg...
Attorney Jack Swyteck agrees to represent Falcon, a homeless man who stops traffic for hours when he stands on a bridge and threatens to jump--his only demand, to speak to the Mayor's daughter, police officer Alicia Mendoza. Falcon comes to an agreement with hostage negotiator Vincent Paulo, but is soon captured. Jack's less than grateful client manages to make bail and is on the run after a dead woman is found in the trunk of a car he calls home. Jack soon finds himself in the middle of a hostile situation where Falcon has taken his best friend, Theo, and a woman hostage. Jack, with the help of Paulo, Alicia, and several law enforcement agencies jockeying for jurisdictional command, must race to meet the demands of an unstable man to save his friend. What's revealed are dark secrets that stretch from Argentina, the Bahamas, to Miami's political elite. Miami's rich setting is a character of its own with diverse culture, rich cuisine and changing weather that sets the tone and raises the stakes in this adrenaline-charged thriller. The characters and scenes are made even more vivid through the experiences of a blind man, Sergeant Vincent Paulo, not because of the strength of his other senses, but because of his insight and skill as an experienced hostage negotiator. Even Falcon proves to be not your typical monster. He's likable despite his absurd demands and acerbic wit. There is also enough humor weaved throughout to ease the tension on the volatile situation. This is one high-powered thrill ride. The more pages I turned, the more I craved. Grippando knows how to grab your attention and keep it. Be prepared to devour this in one sitting because once you turn the cover, Grippando has you! Excellent!

posted by Anonymous on January 9, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Not The Best of This Series

I enjoyed this book as I have enjoyed all the books in this series, however, I thought that the story bogged down with the hostage situation and all the backstory that was meeted out in small portions. It's like Jack and Theo were tied down by a slow moving story.

posted by Anonymous on April 7, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2008

    Not The Best of This Series

    I enjoyed this book as I have enjoyed all the books in this series, however, I thought that the story bogged down with the hostage situation and all the backstory that was meeted out in small portions. It's like Jack and Theo were tied down by a slow moving story.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    exhilarating thriller

    Miami Police Sergeant Vincent Paulo has been a crisis negotiator for seven years, but this incident with Falcon on the Powell Bridge over Biscayne Bay is his first since he went blind. Vince has talked Falcon out of soaring in the past, but he was sighted then. Falcon insists on speaking with the mayor's daughter, police officer Alicia Mendoza, in fifteen minutes or else. As Vince, SWAT leader Juan Chavez and the Chief discuss what to do, Alicia arrives at the scene. Hearing her voice stuns Vince, who when he lost his sight informed her they must stop seeing each other. --- When Paulo persuades Falcon to come down from the bridge, three SWAT cops grab him and arrest him. Freedom Institute boss Neil Goodrich refers the case to criminal defense lawyer Jack Swyteck, who meets with his new client to find out if Falcon lucid. He insists he can pay his bond and his lawyer. Not long afterward, Falcon changes his modus operendi of threatening to leap off bridges when he wants to talk with city officials by holding several hostages including Jack's friend, Theo Knight. Jack works with Vince trying to prevent the tragedy of innocent people killed because of incidents going back over two decades ago to Argentina's Dirty War. --- The key characters are terrific and make this thriller a winner in spite of a seemingly improbable over the top but exhilarating plot. Vince provides insightful observations on how the sighted treat a blind person is classifying them into those who assume blind means pathetic and those who deem it means psychic. Jack and Falcon are a wonderful pairing as their lawyer-client discussions are priceless. The rest of the cast adds to the understanding of these three men or push forward this exciting story line that grips its audience from the moment Falcon perches on the bridge and never lets readers go until the final leap. --- Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2007

    What are the author's responsibilities?

    I just finished reading When Darkness Falls. I was hugely disappointed. Being a Spanish speaker, I was anxious to read this book, being drawn in by the jacket synopsis that promised thrilling intrigue, and a plot that involved Argentina's Dirty War. Then I started reading the book. If you've ever seen 'La historia oficial,' then there's not much mystery in this book. Furthermore, the author uses Spanish incorrectly nearly every time he tries to write it. The errors were so prolific that I lost all faith in the narration. There are huge plot gaps that further this dissatisfaction. For example, in reality, there is a pronounced difference between Cuban and Argentine Spanish--think of English from Jamaica and Texas. (Even in the way one refers to 'whore,' which the author misspells in the book. His Argentine national uses the Cuban word for 'hooker.') Grippando also provides the voices for people from a variety of other ethnic groups. I wonder if these voices also end up sounding contrived and inaccurate..? Living in Miami, one would think that the author could have found someone to help him out with the Spanish in his novel. Better luck next time.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2007

    Remarkable, Rich, and Cleverly Addictive!

    Attorney Jack Swyteck agrees to represent Falcon, a homeless man who stops traffic for hours when he stands on a bridge and threatens to jump--his only demand, to speak to the Mayor's daughter, police officer Alicia Mendoza. Falcon comes to an agreement with hostage negotiator Vincent Paulo, but is soon captured. Jack's less than grateful client manages to make bail and is on the run after a dead woman is found in the trunk of a car he calls home. Jack soon finds himself in the middle of a hostile situation where Falcon has taken his best friend, Theo, and a woman hostage. Jack, with the help of Paulo, Alicia, and several law enforcement agencies jockeying for jurisdictional command, must race to meet the demands of an unstable man to save his friend. What's revealed are dark secrets that stretch from Argentina, the Bahamas, to Miami's political elite. Miami's rich setting is a character of its own with diverse culture, rich cuisine and changing weather that sets the tone and raises the stakes in this adrenaline-charged thriller. The characters and scenes are made even more vivid through the experiences of a blind man, Sergeant Vincent Paulo, not because of the strength of his other senses, but because of his insight and skill as an experienced hostage negotiator. Even Falcon proves to be not your typical monster. He's likable despite his absurd demands and acerbic wit. There is also enough humor weaved throughout to ease the tension on the volatile situation. This is one high-powered thrill ride. The more pages I turned, the more I craved. Grippando knows how to grab your attention and keep it. Be prepared to devour this in one sitting because once you turn the cover, Grippando has you! Excellent!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2006

    Great mystery

    I love this series and this book does not disappoint.. Fast paced and the characters are wonderful. Looking forward to the next Jack Swyteck and Theo mystery.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2013

    Dawne

    The book was good. I've read all of them so far and they keep your attention. His books are always "active". There is always something happening to keep you interested. I found this to be the best one yet. I really could not put it down. It's worth a try. Enjoy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2012

    Awesome reading !

    I have read the first two and am looking for the third, but can't seem to locate it, so, I feel like I'm stuck in the battered hotel room with Falcon and am never getting out. But trust me, the books are on the edge of your seat/don't want ot put it down, reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2011

    Love!!!

    I cant stop re-reading this book!! Thats how amazing this book is!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great story, lots of twists and suspense

    I read this in 3parts that were offered for free at B&N. This was a great suspense thriller. It takes place in Florida. I didn't know going in this was the 6th in a series..but it can stand alone. I will be reading more of Grippando's work. He writes wonderfully and his characters were all memorable. I couldn't put this one down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2011

    Love+this+author%21

    I+downloaded+this+for+free%2C+and+I+can+not+wait+to+read+more+of+his+books.+Fantastic%21

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2011

    Love it

    Got as a free e book, just found my new favorite author!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2011

    Page Turner!

    I downloaded this series because it was free and I will be happy to purchase more! Book read like a true crime, characters were fresh and on point. Just enough mystery to keep you up past bed-time and drama that left you wanting more at the end! A clean read for a mystery loving mom to pass down to a mystery loving teen! Rare find!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2011

    Great mystery!

    Interesting story with an 'I did not see that one coming!' ending. looking forward to reading more by Grippando.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2011

    the best!!!!!!!!

    this book is now one of my faborite book of all time!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2011

    love it.

    So good could not put it down. Would like to read all James Grippando's
    books. I am new at ereading. Am very surprised that I am enjoying it so much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2011

    love

    i think i found love

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2011

    EXCELLENT ! !

    I loved reading this book. I really enjoyed that it was divided inti three sections. The pace was perfect. The characters were well-developed. A real page-turner for sure. I plan to read the rest of the books in this series and will certainly recommend them to others. I usually remove books from my Nook after reading, however, I will keep this in my library!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2011

    Must Read

    I have only begun to read these wonderful series from author James Grippando. I have now added to my new favorite author list, and moved Mr. Grippando to the TOP of the list, didn't think that would happen anytime soon, but surprise surprise. Who knew trying something new in literature could be so fun, lol.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2011

    great read!

    This book was the first mystery/thriller ive read in a long time. i loved every minute of it and will definitley buy another of grippando's books soon. this book was fast paced i loved it so much i read it in 2 days!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3