BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

When Darkness Falls (Obsidian Trilogy Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 74 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(47)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 74 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2013

    Excellent second book in The Obsidian Triology. Even better than the first.

    This follows the developing story of the newest attack against the forces of the light by the forces of darkness. It satisfyingly follows characters from the first book and their developing lives and roles in the war that is coming, plus introduces some new interesting and complex individuals. It concludes with both sides facing challenges in reaching their goals, but hope is still present for the side of light.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2013

    What an amazing set of books!

    From start to finish I was enthralled! I hope to hear more of Kellen and his possible adventures!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2013

    Awesome

    The end of an amazing trilogy. Thank Leaf and Star it continues!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2012

    Ended well

    The final book provided a sad, yet happy ending. I thoroughly enjoyed the narration. I wish it could have kept going.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2011

    Terrific

    I enjoyed this trilogy very much. If you are a lover of fantasy and action you will be pleased. The characters were fantastic. I also enjoyed the humor among the tragedy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    When Darkness Falls, the Obsidian Trilogy, Book 3

    After the great spell of Kindolhinadeltil's Mirror, Kellen learns that Wild Magic and High Magick working together will kill the immortal Demons. With the harshest winter in a very long time only half over, the war is harder to battle and win.
    Kellen is still strongly attracted to Vestakia and bonded to Shelkan with the Price of a year and a day of chastity and celibacy. Vestakia remains with the Elven army working with the Crystal Spiders to find the final enclave of Shadowed Elves. (They remind me of the drow.)
    Cilarnen can't do any of the beneficial High Magick without a source to draw power from. He is desperate and asks permission from Kindolhinadetil to use the Elemental Forces/Beings that are the power of the land-wards of the Elven Lands as the source of his power to perform the High Magick. But can he gain permission from the Elven ruler, and can he survive a summoning as dangerous as this?
    Jermayan and Ancaladar are used by the Elven army as a kind of chauffer and protector when the King of the Nine Cities orders all the expecting females to the Fortress of the Horned Crown. It is in their evacuation of Lerkelpodara where Jermayan learns of the strong offensive approach the Endarkened are taking in this war. With his Elven Mage magic, Jermayan performs an unbelievable act at the mountain pass that saves those refugees from the lost city of Lerkelpodara. The Nine-now Eight-Cities.
    Using a High Magick spell to see into Armethalieh to spy on Anigrel, Cilarnen feels tainted on the inside. By searching his mind where Anigrel was suppose to burn away his Magegift; he discovers that a trap was laid by Master Anigrel. He only laid his Magegift to sleep, until it could be of further use to Anigrel's Dark Mistress.
    Queen Savilla returns to the place of her dark magic working with large numbers of blood sacrifices, in order to reach her ultimate goal of ruling forever not only the World Without Sun, but also the World Above. She means to bring He Who Is back! Prince Zyperis learns of his mother's intentions and knows what it means for him. He takes the initiative desperate to please her, by starting the plague on the Brightworlders. Just like it was with the first war, the Shadow's Kiss kills not only warriors but the land too.
    With her hard and determined work with the Crystal Spiders, Vestakia discovers that she is linked to her father's mind. She knows what They will do next in order to win the war. But can he see her mind too?
    At the Caverns of Halacira, Kellen's army not only runs into the last of the Shadowed Elves before Vestakia's warning arrives, but he succeeds in turning it into a safe refuge, with the help of Jermayan's great Elven Magic. I wonder if Shelkan's good luck wish from a unicorn of ,"Good hunting," (just like in Battlestar Galactica), to Kellen was just what he needed to be successful against such great odds, even with Kellen's Knight-Mage abilities.
    In the battle at the caverns of Halacira, Kellen agrees to another Mage Price, to let go. When he learns from Jermayan that Andoreniel is sick from Shadow's Kiss, does the Mage Price refer to the King or will the Healers be able to save him? In the meantime, who commands the Elven Army? They will not answer to anyone besides Andoreniel.
    The High Magick spell to see into Armethalieh is not only good to find out what is going on behind the walls of the city, but it can work the other way too. Cilarnen witnesses the massacre at t

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2009

    Hard to put down

    This is an amazing book. I thought it was written very well and not entirely like Lackey's other books. Like all her books it was difficult to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    One of my most favorite books

    Lackey and Mallory deserve a lot more credit than they are given for this outstanding trilogy. The complicated characters, landscapes, and creatures combine with a little humor, romance, and terror to give you the perfect blend for a perfect novel. These books will never leave you dissappointed, and the third book is the best of them all.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2007

    A reviewer

    I only read this series because all my favorite paranormal writers are between books. I turned to the fantasy realm to fill the void. I was turned away from fantasy in frustration with Goodkind and Jordan. If ever there was a time to bring me back to a former favorite it would be these three books. I found myself looking forward to my trainride home just to read them. I do think they could have tied up loose ends with a little more clarity and I don't think they created enough steam between Kellen and Vestikia. In the first book, the extreme cruelty of the Demons put me off a little but I persevered and it seemed to always end right when I couldn't read anymore of it. I see that there is another book planned that will use the setting but none of the characters I want to see more of so I'm not that excited about it. Not sure if I'll read it or not but THIS series was spellbinding.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2007

    LOVED IT!!!!!!!!!!!

    I loved this book. I have read the other two so many times that they have fallen apart, and never got bored, so I hoped this one would be good. I wasn't dissappointed. A great conclusion to a great series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2007

    My most favorite book of all time

    this book was sooooo great. i loved every word of it. it makes you laugh, cry, and jump for joy with each turn of a page. the very last page was my favorite *wink* this book was even better than the other two in the trilogy. I reccommend this book to anyone with a love for fantasy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2006

    One of My Favorite Series

    There are few series that I rank at the top of my lists. Some are familiar, like Edding's 'The Belgariad'. Others are sadly overlooked like David Duncan's 'A Man of His Word' and its sequal 'A Handful of Men'. All that I put in my favorits list are riveting, have excellent character development, dialogue and plots. This Misty Lackey Series falls within solidly within the my List. Very strong characters, both male and female. Excellent dialog and plot. Buy it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2006

    One of my new favorites...

    I just finished this book after getting it today. I don't think I stirred from one spot since I started reading it. It was a very good end to a wonderful series. I must say that I'm sorry to see the end of the series. I shall miss hearing about all of the characters (who I've started to think of as real people). I was getting pretty emotional at the end of the book. An awesome book and I definitely recommend it to anyone! And the rest of the series as well!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2006

    Truly gripping

    This book grabs hold and doesn't let you go. I know these characters now, I care and love them. Such heroism and selflessness is beautiful to read. I didn't want this trilogy to end, I want Kellen and everyone to have another great adventure. Perhaps a threat from across the sea, I hope to read more by leaf and star. The spirituality the books embrace, I found refreshing. Again Mercedes has won me over, the wild magic runs strong in her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2006

    Spellbond

    If you like Elves, Dragons, Unicorns, Mages, Knight-Mages and spells that leave you spellbond than this is the story for you. But be ready to pay your price for the spell. It could be the price is no sleep or no work getting done, but the price will be worth it, I promise you!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2006

    exciting, action-packed fantasy saga

    Though they worked well together to thwart the devious plans of the Demon Queen, humans remain wary and distrustful of Wild Magic, Elves, and other similar species, especially by the human Mage Council. Still the Demon Queen Savilla plots more intrusions that require seemingly natural enemies to remain allies if all are to survive. However, Savilla cunningly uses that distrust to gain a major hold on the human Mages that if not broken by the elves will mean the end for the followers of the Light including the human High Magic practitioners. The Elven King fears for the future of all the followers of the Light allies so he sends children and pregnant females into refuge with one of his top leaders Kellen in charge of their safety. However, that proves quite difficult as the haven chosen has been infiltrated by Savilla¿s demon horde only the actions of his beloved half-breed demon Vestakia, who can read the mind of her Demon father, Crown Prince Zyperis, save them from a massacre and perhaps worse as Savilla prepares the sacrifice to summon He Who Is to enable her to achieve her goal as world ruler. --- The conclusion to the Obsidian fantasy trilogy (see TO LIGHT A CANDLE and THE OUTSTRETCHED SHADOW), is an exciting, action-packed fantasy saga that will elate fans of both authors. Kellen is terrific as he struggles to maintain the alliance between Elves and humans that is shaky in spite of their recent success and the knowledge that they lose if they split. His romance with Vestakia augments the exhilarating plot as the audience wonders how that will end up with the pair in jeopardy at every turn. Though newcomers need to read the previous tales first if they want the full flavor of all that is happening in this complex high fantasy, this is a skillful superb finale. --- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2006

    Eagerly Awaiting

    I've read both of the previous books in this series, and I must say I am hooked. Modern Epic fantasy at it's best. The first two were absolutely wonderful, and if anyone can keep up the pace towards the end of a series, it's M.Lackey and James Mallory.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2006

    this looks terrific!

    mercedes lackey always presents a story worth the time and money spent. the final part of the trilogy looks like it will be more than worthy of your time, especially if its as good as the first 2 in the series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 74 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4