Customer Reviews for

When Day Breaks (Sunrise Suspense Society Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2014

    DF

    12

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2014

    Alright

    I couldn't put it down. The author did a good job.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2009

    When Day Breaks

    I'm sure we all know a Constance Young type of person so it wasn't a surprise to find her murdered. Mary Jane Clark offers just enough information about the characters to make the story interesting without over doing it.
    I found this to be a delightful weekend escape.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2009

    If suspense is what you're looking for...

    Then this is a book for you! The storyline had me turning pages nonstop. A classic 'whodunnit' with enough twists and turns to keep you hooked until the very end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2009

    Wonderful author

    Excellent read!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Jennifer Wardrip - Personal Read

    Everyone hates Constance Young. It's no secret that her colleagues think she's a world class b***h, and rightly so. But when she ends up dead at the bottom of her swimming pool, it's up to those same colleagues to figure out exactly what happened to her. <BR/><BR/>Constance had just quit her job at KEY To America to move over to the morning news competition, Daybreak. No one was sad to see her go, but who hated her enough to kill her? <BR/><BR/>As bodies start piling up and the news business gets fierce, it will be up to KEY Headline News evening anchor Eliza and her coworkers Annabelle, B.J., and Margo to get to the bottom of the mystery. <BR/><BR/>This was a fun, fast mystery that I enjoyed. The behind-the-scenes working of television news was a great subplot, and the storyline makes perfect sense. This is a great summer beach read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Must Read!

    I picked this book up from where I work that has a gift shop. I like suspense books and this is by far an excellent book to read. I read this in two days because I could not put it down! I noticed that this will be a series off this book. I can't wait for the next one to come out!<BR/><BR/>YOU ALL MUST GET THIS BOOK. Very Good!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2008

    great book

    This is a wonderful read for those hot summer days. It keeps you on your toe until the very end, and you 'll be looking for more...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2007

    A reviewer

    This is the best in the series. I was guessing until the very end. Start the summer off with this great beach-read...you won't be able to put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2007

    Too bad for Marco...Great for us!

    The clues 'stunning!' were all there, and I missed them! That means, of course, that I MUST read the book again! A fun, engaging, intelligent, gripping read. One gets to know the KEY characters better than ever before. Thanks, Mary Jane! Can hardly wait for the next in the series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2007

    Breathless Page-Turner

    Considering myself very fortunate to get my hands on an advanced reading copy of Clark¿s tenth thriller, I confess that I couldn¿t put it down. From the first pages that describe a gruesome ¿practice¿ killing, to the final pages that uncover the identity of a murderer who stood right before our eyes all along, When Day Breaks provides everything a mystery fan hopes for. Eliza Blake, Clark¿s best drawn character -- Do You Want to Know a Secret? and Close to You -- joins forces with three of her KEY News colleagues to solve the murder of Constance Young, the luminous and viciously ambitious co-anchor of the daily news journal, KEY to America, who was leaving KEY to join a rival network and take her loyal following to its morning show, Daybreak. Moments after the discovery of Constance's body, Eliza, B.J., Annabelle and Margo dub themselves the Sunrise Suspense Society as they investigate not just Constance¿s murder, but the deaths of others, too ¿ three victims who know way too much. Watching Eliza's successive news reports on KEY¿s Evening Headlines along with the rest of the nation, the murderer soon determines that Eliza Blake is uncovering too many secrets. . . . Mary Jane Clark knows how to tell a story, with suspects-a-plenty, surprising clues and page-turning twists that keep us breathless. My advice: Don¿t miss Clark's latest, and best, thriller!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    An excellent gripping mystery

    Constance Young, the hostess of Key to America, is leaving for a better position at a rival network and almost everyone is glad to see her go. She has alienated everyone at work with her demands and petulant behavior and is worse to those in her personal life. Her sister resents her as the multimillionaire Constance refuses to help pay for the care of their mother rationalizing that mom lives in Faith¿s house instead of a nursing home. Her lover millionaire Stuart Whitaker stole an artifact from the Cloisters museum for her and when he asks for it back she refuses to give it to him.---------------------- When she arrives at her Westchester home, Constance goes swimming not realizing someone rigged her pool to electrocute her when a toaster is thrown into the water. The killer perfected this technique by practicing on a dog gotten from the pound. An arrest is made when the artifact which she was wearing on the day of the murder is found in her assistant Boyd¿s coat pocket planted there by the clever killer. The man who gave the dog that was electrocuted to the killer is also murdered as is Constance¿s housekeeper who saw the killer. Eliza Blake, the anchor of Key¿s headline news, investigates the story and finds she is next on the murder¿s row.------------------------ Even though the victim comes across as a person with many enemies who had reasons to want her dead, the author makes it clear that nobody has the right to be judge, jury and executioner. She gets that point across through the actions and verbal asides of her characters. Mary Jane Clark provides an excellent gripping mystery that leaves readers wondering throughout who killed the odious Constance as suspects are everywhere.--------------- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1