BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

When Demons Walk (Sianim Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 120 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(59)

4 Star

(46)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 121 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted June 10, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I do enjoy authors who write several different series and each o

    I do enjoy authors who write several different series and each one is unique. Patricia Briggs is one of those authors.
    Sham lives in a world where magic exists, but not everyone believes in it. Sham does since she is both a thief and a sorceress. Her land was taken from her people and she is doing what she can to take it back where she can from the nobility.
    A killer is running amok and killing the nobility. There seems to be a pattern, but she can't quite see it.
    The Reeve of the land asks her for her help, so she poses as his mistress to help. He is one of those who doesn't believe in magic, so when she tells him it's a demon doing the killing....
    Sham is street smart, so she can get the job done. She just has to keep from being tempted to do what she's been doing with her stealing from the rich.
    This is number 4 in the series, but I didn't feel like I'd missed anything by not reading the first three in the series. But I am now intrigued enough to go looking for them.
    A very neat mixture of a mystery, fantasy, and a wee bit of romance.
    Highly recommendable.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    Superb book

    Ignore the awful cover. If you like Patricia Briggs' Mercy Thompson series, you'll love the heroine who makes this a delightful read with laugh out loud humor. The plot is intriguing. Even though I guess early on who was the villain, I did not foresee some of the surprising (in a good way) plot twists. The story is worth every penny. Highly recommended.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2012

    Some expected and some "I didn't see that coming".

    I really liked this series of "Clockwork". I thought some parts were "tedious" but necessary, but then all books I read have tedious parts.
    I'm not a big fan of fantasy, but based on other works I've read from the author, I started this series, She didn't disappoint.
    Some parts have expected out comes, but some parts have totally unexpected outcomes.
    I enjoyed this series, and would recommend it to anyone who enjoys fantasy.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2011

    excellent writer

    haven't read anything from briggs that didn't draw me in instantly. nothing worse for getting stuff done than having a writer like patricia briggs.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 20, 2011

    10/13/11

    Another excellent book from Patricia Briggs.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Adventure Romance Solid world building

    Patricia Briggs creates a multi-dimensional heroine. With excellent plotting she ties in personal problems with the murder mystery. The romance is traditional but the hero she creates raises it up a notch. Solid secondary characters. The twists and turns are appropriately placed - the pacing is tight. Good overall read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    As Good (if not Better) than the "Cover Art"

    I'm new at writing Reviews (haven't done so since being required to write 'Book Reports' in Elementary School (over 50 years ago now).

    What can I say? First, the 'action' begins immediately. I've read books that I knew 'would be good' but that I also knew I would have to 'wade through' the first 30 to 50 pages before my interest would 'pick up'. Not so with "When Demons Walk".

    The action begins almost immediately and continues to rise toward a 'peak' that truly does not 'crest' until the final pages of the book.

    Patricia Briggs is one of those authors who will appear to you on the shelf and you may be drawn to the cover art initially but you will find yourself returning to a major book store to find other books by the same author. I would like to see a sequel to "When Demons Walk",

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A young woman with magical powers finds an evil demon and helps the good guys triumph over evil

    Sham, the female lead of this Patricia Briggs work, is an interesting and well-developed character. Some reviewers considered the outcome predictable - I did not find it that way. The story continued to evolve to higher levels maintaining my interest along the way.

    Sham starts out as a thief with magical gifts that help her stay undetected as she performs her Robin-hood like thievery. She is retained by the good guy Lord of the Manor to help figure out who is killing people. The villian turns out to be demonic, and Sham, working alongside the Lord of the Manor, with the help of her magical gifts and the training she has received in how to use them, becomes the Miss Marple of Magicland.

    The story seems trite as I try to write about it, but in reality it is a bit deeper than this, and the character development is well done. As the writer describes the clothing with the soft sleeves and hidden pockets, she paints a very vivid picture of Sham. As she describes the wheel-chair bound leading man, and the magical Runes that have forced him to endure this handicap, she adds a level of hope to others that are stuggling with being wheel-chair bound, I think. At least it seems that way to me.

    The story is focused on teens, according to the reviews, but I am quite a bit older, and it appeals to me as well. It is a fairly happy story without too much violence or sexual tension, and it makes a good read for adults from 12 to 92, I think. Not a classic for all time, but a great piece of escapism for that rainy afternoon, as the rating chart indicates.

    If you like her work - and I think it is difficult to not like this writer unless you simply do not like this type of escapism fantasy - then I think you would enjoy her Mercy Thompson series very much.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    good read

    lots of unexpected (and extremely expected) twists...really am liking this series more and more. not as much as MT series but 100% worth reading!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2014

    Wonderful

    Wonderful

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2012

    Favorite

    This is a light read with fun characters, an egaging plot, a good mystery, and a happy ending. The description is not correct; the summary given is for Briggs other work "Steal the Dragon".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2012

    I love Patricia Briggs' writing style!

    I personally LOVE the way Patricia Briggs writes her books. I read every book of hers that I can get my hands on and am never disappointed by the end result. I would recommend this series to whomever happened to be inquiring about it. My personal favorites of this series is the first and last, simply because it's the same main character and I like the way she thinks. When Demons Walk come a close second on my list though. I hoped this helped those who are looking for it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    Great read that moved at a steady pace. The ending was a bit of a let down, but that was not the fault of Patricia Briggs. I wanted to know more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Story, quick read

    Another great story. This one is sort of a sci-fi murder mystery with some romance thrown in. It's a fun read and the ending suggests a sequel sometime in the future even though no one knows when......

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A Magical slave girl pits herself against deadly foes, Demons, injustice and more in this who-done-it fantasy romance.

    This earlier work of Patricia Briggs is one of her better Pre-Mercy Books. The world comes to life along with the folks who people it. A nice twist on magic, and demons and a nicely paced romance to boot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2008

    Briggs can't write a bad book!

    Another excellent story from a wonderful author. Shamera and Kerim will keep your interest and leave you wanting to know more. Briggs writes strong female characters and endows them with honesty and courage. She has created a world that is interesting and challenging.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2008

    Fantasy at its Best!!!

    I adore this book. It has a bit of everything. Romance, action, and magic. I couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2007

    COOL

    thatwas a pretty cool book.i love mysteries

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2005

    Intrigued by fantasy

    An excellent read. Patricia Briggs creates a masterful heroine. Intriguing to the last page.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 121 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7