BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

When Donkeys Talk: A Quest to Rediscover the Mystery and Wonder of Christianity

Average Rating 3.5
( 9 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2013

    Hey guys! Sorry this is so late! (It¿s like 1 in the morning whe

    Hey guys! Sorry this is so late! (It’s like 1 in the morning where I’m at! Haha ¿ ) Anyway, I wanted to tell you all about this AWESOME new book I just got from booksneeze the other day. I ate it up. Okay, not literally. But it’s still pretty legit ¿
    So this book is called ‘When Donkeys Talk: A Quest to Rediscover the Mystery and Wonder of Christianity” by Tyler Blanksi. It’s basically about how God is awesome and He can do whatever He wants, like making donkeys talk, so that everyone will know that He’s God. 
    Mr. Blanksi has a unique writing style, blending centuries-old quotes and viewpoints with a fresh humour that basically just puts an new spin on things. His book is written in a very easy to read style, which helped me finish it so quickly ¿ He talks about taking the mundane out of our relationship with God, because God is anything but ordinary. God is awesome and fantastic and mysterious and wonderful, and Tyler does a WONDERFUL job of portraying that. 
    I give this book five out of five stars. 
    Note: I received this book for free from the Booksneeze Blogging programme in exchange for an honest review.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2013

    I love this book.  I don't know what the previous reviewer was t

    I love this book.  I don't know what the previous reviewer was talking about when he said that it was "abstractly clever" and hard to read, because the book made perfect sense to me and was extremely easy to follow.  At the beginning, the author announces that he is embarking on a spiritual pilgrimage (while riding a donkey--that part is meant just for fun) to rediscover the magic of Christianity.  And rediscover he does!  He weaves so many complex ideas and unpacks thinkers ranging from Owen Barfield to Edward Wilson, clearly explaining their ideas and pointing out the best of what they have to offer (Barfield) or the flaws/contradictions in their logic (Wilson).  I thought this book was really helpful in finding the words to respond to many of the challenges that my atheist/agnostic/secular friends pose with regard to my faith.  I would highly recommend this book to Christians who are weary of some of the pitfalls of evangelicalism and who are looking to learn more about the rich and exciting traditions that can enliven our faith and renew the church--or, as the author calls it, undergo a "holy renaissance"!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2013

    I have to admit that I have mixed feelings concerning this book.

    I have to admit that I have mixed feelings concerning this book. I always enjoy Christian books that take a somewhat less traditional view, and this book certainly lives up to that sentiment. The story of Balaam and his donkey always brings a smile to my face. The author took this idea and ran with it, and sometimes I found myself quite interested in what he had to say. Being challenged to think through my Christian walk in a bit different way is a hallmark of this book, and so sometimes I enjoyed this book immensely.

    However, this book does come across a bit too off-beat and somewhat out there. I found myself rolling my eyes way too often. Part of the problem is that the author comes from a mainline denominational viewpoint. I am of more an evangelical persuasion, so our theology differs. I'm not saying this isn't a Christian book. I never questioned the author's faith. In addition to all of this, I would have preferred a little less use of the Biblical word used for a donkey. I felt that the author took advantage of this figure of speech several times too many.

    The best thing about the book is the brevity of the chapters. I say this because this was a book that I could look forward to reading as a semi-devotional at the end of a long, hard day. I can't say I would choose to read this author again, but he was easy to read and often quite humorous to read.

    I was sent a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review. I was not financially compensated and all opinions are 100 percent mine.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    EASY read! I don¿t generally get into books when the author thro

    EASY read! I don’t generally get into books when the author throws personal stories in.  Thus, whenever this author started a personal story, I would roll my eyes.  Shortly thereafter, however, I would be effortlessly engaged in serious theological thought.  Even where I disagree with the author, I found the book to be very pleasant. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2013

    When Donkeys Talk by Tyler Blanski Tyler Blanski invites his re

    When Donkeys Talk by Tyler Blanski
    Tyler Blanski invites his readers to journey with him through the winding roads of Christiandom and find the Renaissance of revival in today’s religious society. We strapped ourselves onto donkeys and rode through the myths that make up faith and trails that took us to the truth of what we seek. Through When Donkeys Talk, which I had the chance to read through Booksneeze®, we traced the steps of those who came before us and reformed faith in Christ to a vibrant, real relationship.
    Unfortunately, I couldn’t keep up with the pace of Blanski and didn’t quite follow much of his quest’s logic. I wasn’t a fan of how he kept referring to his donkey as an a** and wove the alternate meaning in with us as we struggle to find a firm faith foundation. It distracted me from giving my concentration to his story. The concept of the book was a good idea, and I understand the message he wanted to convey; for me, it was a bit too much hidden behind the allegory he portrayed. It didn’t capture my attention, though I liked his mind conception. It is a nicely constructed book, but I don’t know if I would recommend it with gusto to a friend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2013

    I chose to read this book because of the quirky title that caugh

    I chose to read this book because of the quirky title that caught my attention.While the title is a bit gimmicky, I am glad that the rest of the book isn’t. This is the story of a journey. Tyler Blanski – a singer/songwriter and author sets out to rediscover Christianity in the modern world. He shows us the beauty of scriptures and spiritual thinking. Evident is the author’s passion for Christ and a humorous spirit. He chalks this book full of life application for living in this world while falling in love with Jesus. Tyler opens our eyes to God in all of his amazing ways. This book was a warm welcome to my reading list. It was an invitation – to reclaim the joy of ancient ways. I loved that it was written without a lot of focus on criticism of what’s wrong with other ways of seeking. The author chose to instead focus on this journey. He engages in conversations and adds in quotes from theologians which serve to encourage the reader to look further. In looking I found a renewed sense of wonder. I encourage you to give this book a try. You may not agree with everything the author says, but this book will encourage you to think. It might even encourage you to question what might be missing from your life. Is it the best book I've read - no. Do I even agree with everything the author says - no. However, the spirit of the book is a faith adventure. Faith that isn't challenged, examined and explored often ends up stale. Read it for inspiration. You may find yourself on a journey as well.I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review and the opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 : "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."



    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2013

    Thought provoking and entertaining.

    Although I haven't finished it yet I wanted to leave a review about how comfortable and pleasant this book has been for me. It's not starchy or dry the way I find many Christian works. It feels as if I'm having a real conversation with some one I like. He poses some very original ideas that were fun to think about. I always like to look at my faith under a new light and this is just the read for that.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2013

    Subtitled ¿A Quest to Rediscover the Mystery and Wonder of Chris

    Subtitled “A Quest to Rediscover the Mystery and Wonder of Christianity,” Tyler Blanski’s When Donkeys Talk immediately seemed like the kind of book I’d be interested in. I think that the subtitle is a pretty good simple description of the book. It is indeed a quest. Blanski asks you to join him in this quest, back into the history of the church to find things that became overlooked along the way. Having been once upon a Hillsdale College career friends with Blanski, this book is exactly what I thought it might be--a beautiful journey in search of truth meant to transform lives by the grace of God.


    I really enjoyed this book, more even than I anticipated. Blanski shows himself to be a man inclined to thinking but not so much that it keeps him from living. In fact, I think that is one of the reasons this book is so good. Blanski particularly evaluates the thinking that goes into some of our practices. Another strength of this book is its call to redeem the things of the world for God’s kingdom as Christianity has always done. I think what I loved most of all though was the invitation to wonder at mystery and miracle. If you enjoyed N. D Wilson’s Notes from the Tilt-a-whirl, you might like this one too. My only hesitation to be honest was the use of what seemed a purposefully edgy phrase (“a crazy-ass theory”) that may leave some wishing he’d found another way to say it, but I think most reasonably mature adults will take the wit and wisdom and leave any offense behind. When Donkeys Talk is a book that I’m glad I have read and plan to loan to friends.

    *Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2013

    Who wouldn't want to like a book with the title "When Donke

    Who wouldn't want to like a book with the title "When Donkeys Talk"? Sadly, I was disappointed. Several chapters into the book, I had a vague idea of what the author wanted to accomplish with this book, which involves the story of Balaam and a talking donkey.

    In the end, however, the writing style was lost on me. I think the author was trying to be abstractly clever, but for me, it just made it difficult to read this book, try to grasp what the author is trying to say, and really be able to enjoy it.

    Perhaps there is valuable information and lessons in this book, but unless you can get past the abstract writing style, you may find it tough to discern.

    Note: I received a review copy of this book from the publisher, Zondervan.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1