BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

When Elephants Weep: The Emotional Lives of Animals

Average Rating 4
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

When Elephants Weep: The Emotional Lives of Animals

Jeffrey Masson, the author of When Elephants Weep, attempts to prove the answer to the everlasting question do animals have emotions. Throughout the novel there are numerous stories attempting to show that animals have the same emotions as humans. Every story has a si...
Jeffrey Masson, the author of When Elephants Weep, attempts to prove the answer to the everlasting question do animals have emotions. Throughout the novel there are numerous stories attempting to show that animals have the same emotions as humans. Every story has a significant meaning that ties in with the main message which is that all animals have vast emotions. I liked the novel very much because it gave grounds for why sometimes I see emotions in my pets. There was not really anything that I did not like about the novel, but some constructive criticism would be to reduce the large amount of information in one point to help the reader better comprehend what is written. I would recommend this novel to anyone who has ever questioned if there animals have emotions, also to people wanting to read a well written argumentative novel.

posted by Anonymous on October 9, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

15 dollars for a nook book--no way. might be why there is only 2

15 dollars for a nook book--no way. might be why there is only 20 reviews here. read the book, was ok

posted by CathyFitzgerald on March 18, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2006

    When Elephants Weep: The Emotional Lives of Animals

    Jeffrey Masson, the author of When Elephants Weep, attempts to prove the answer to the everlasting question do animals have emotions. Throughout the novel there are numerous stories attempting to show that animals have the same emotions as humans. Every story has a significant meaning that ties in with the main message which is that all animals have vast emotions. I liked the novel very much because it gave grounds for why sometimes I see emotions in my pets. There was not really anything that I did not like about the novel, but some constructive criticism would be to reduce the large amount of information in one point to help the reader better comprehend what is written. I would recommend this novel to anyone who has ever questioned if there animals have emotions, also to people wanting to read a well written argumentative novel.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2006

    When Elephants Weep: The Emotional Lives of Animals

    When Elephants weep is a compelling book with an argumentative tone. The author Jeffrey Masson provides many heart wrenching stories as evidence of the emotional lives of animals. Each story gives readers insight into individual animals and their different emotions. Stories, showing courage, sadness, embarrassment, anger and much more, are the basis for the authors¿ case. The chapters are cleverly organized by each specific topic, allowing readers to see many examples of each emotion. Not only are the unique stories shown as evidence but also history from supporting or opposing views are suitably cited throughout the text. Behaviorists such as Jane Goodall, Dain Fossey, and Cynthia Moss are often cited, an exciting way to support the authors theory. Jeffrey Masson stands up giving a voice to the otherwise wordless animals, presenting a positive and inspirational message by personifying animals. Though I already agreed with the main idea of animal emotions, this book was refreshing. I enjoyed the amount of evidence it held, giving those who agree new arguments for debating the opposite side. This book gave lots of information making it a challenge, however the author made it interesting and well worth it. My only criticism would be to point out the occasional repetitive nature and extensive amounts of information that created some boring points to the book. The few flaws I found were not enough to affect the enjoyment of the book. This book is a good read for all types of animal lovers and also for people with opposing views who enjoy a challenge. This book is sure to bring out many emotions in its readers.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2004

    ABSOLUTE MUST READ - EXCELLENT!!!

    This author is incredibly insightful about the the emotions of animals. He is also well-educated in the field & has written this thought-provoking page-turner which captures your interest from the very first chapter. This is the type of book you willingly read over and again, gleaning new revelation with each read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2004

    This one is a must read

    A friend loaned me this book, and it is now on my list of those I must own. In this book there are many well-documented scientific incidences of animal emotions and feelings that all pet owners are only too well aware of. Reading 'When Elephants Weep' will be a valuable experience for all, whether 'into' animals or not.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2000

    This Book was amazing

    If you love animals than you must read this book!I couldn't put it down and ignored my schoolwork for two days to read it. Carrie

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2012

    15 dollars for a nook book--no way. might be why there is only 2

    15 dollars for a nook book--no way. might be why there is only 20 reviews here.
    read the book, was ok

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Another great book by Jeffrey Moussaieff Masson.

    Another great book by Jeffrey Moussaieff Masson.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2012

    When Elephants Weep I was hoping that this book was going to be

    When Elephants Weep
    I was hoping that this book was going to be more about animal behavior with a lot of interesting facts, backed up with evidence. Instead it was a lot like an essay arguing that ethnologists are all wrong because they don’t connect animal’s actions to their emotions. It was about how animals all have emotions just like humans and that we can prove that they do have emotions because of the actions they show during certain situations. The major message in this book is that animals all have emotions and they show their emotions through their own actions. Another is that he believes scientists are not focusing on the right fields of study when it comes to animals and their emotions. I believe that if you are in the mood for an interesting debate on animals versus scientists then this would be a good book for you to read, as long as you are on the fence and not on one side or the other. If not this book is not so much for you. I liked in this book that it had strong arguments to begin with and that he was so towards and for animals having emotions and he is very good at getting his thoughts and points across. I didn’t like that he was very bias towards scientists in general and that if they didn’t think what he thought or believed then he had a lot to say about it. He also didn’t seem to cite any work that backs up his claims and arguments which bothered me a little. I rated this book as good, which is right in the middle, because it wasn’t a spectacular read to me but it wasn’t awful I’m more indifferent about this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2000

    PROFOUND LOOK INTO THE HEARTS OF ANIMALS

    As a zoologist, I approached this book with caution only to find it to be a marvelous plea for humans to try and understand that animals feel pain, love, hate and even honor. This book should not be read only by animal lovers but by everyone who wishes to try and understand the world and living beings that surround us. Bravo to Masson and his attempt to unite the creatures of this earth in mutual respect.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2000

    A wonderful book

    I can't put into words what a great book this is. I sincerely recommend you buy it, you will love it. An amazing look at our brethren.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1