Customer Reviews for

When Elves Attack (Serge Storms Series #14)

Average Rating 4
( 48 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Fast moving fun, and more than a little bit crazy!

Tim Dorsey's less than dynamic duo of Serge and Coleman are back in the holiday romp WHEN ELVES ATTACK. This is my first exposure to Tim Dorsey, so I didn't know what to expect, but it won't be my last.

Serge and Coleman are determined to do "Christmas big," and move...
Tim Dorsey's less than dynamic duo of Serge and Coleman are back in the holiday romp WHEN ELVES ATTACK. This is my first exposure to Tim Dorsey, so I didn't know what to expect, but it won't be my last.

Serge and Coleman are determined to do "Christmas big," and move into suburbia to try and settle down. Dressed as elves, they set out to punish those who do evil to their fellow man around the holidays, and the results are a non-stop trail of burned out motel rooms, burned up joints, and a whole bunch of "did I really just read what I thought I read," moments.

I couldn't help but fall for the likable (mostly) Serge and the always-stoned Coleman, and Dorsey does a great job of developing their characters for those new to his work. Add in four crazy elderly ladies and the beautiful tag team of City and Country, and you have a Christmas story probably not worth sharing with the kids, but one that you won't forget.

At less than 200 pages, a quick, fun read, although definitely a rated R book. High praise for this and I will be back for more Dorsey!

posted by Rob_Ballister on November 19, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

One Crazy Christmas!

This is not your Nana’s Christmas story. If you’re looking for a heart-warming, fuzzy, good-feeling read, Tim Dorsey’s style will shock your stockings off. This satirical tale might even strip the stripe off a candy cane or two. However, twisted folks that giggle at ...
This is not your Nana’s Christmas story. If you’re looking for a heart-warming, fuzzy, good-feeling read, Tim Dorsey’s style will shock your stockings off. This satirical tale might even strip the stripe off a candy cane or two. However, twisted folks that giggle at Christopher Moore and are amused by Beavis and Butthead-like antics, will fa-la-la-la-la through the pages of this short gem. Spike the eggnog and dress the white elephant gift with the Sunday funny paper, because When Elves Attack is packed with classic Dorsey shenanigans wrapped in a shiny bright bow. Yeah, it’s nothing knew, but it’s funny as hell. This isn’t highbrow stuff, but who wants to strain their brain after hours at the mall? This is the perfect book to take along to the in-laws over the holidays or will make an excellent gift for that hard-to-buy-for nutbar relative. Let’s face it you’re probably going to need a laugh by the end of the evening anyways! Sometimes it’s good to remember that it could be worse. You could live in Florida across the street from Serge Storms on Triggerfish Lane.

posted by ccourtland on February 24, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted November 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Fast moving fun, and more than a little bit crazy!

    Tim Dorsey's less than dynamic duo of Serge and Coleman are back in the holiday romp WHEN ELVES ATTACK. This is my first exposure to Tim Dorsey, so I didn't know what to expect, but it won't be my last.

    Serge and Coleman are determined to do "Christmas big," and move into suburbia to try and settle down. Dressed as elves, they set out to punish those who do evil to their fellow man around the holidays, and the results are a non-stop trail of burned out motel rooms, burned up joints, and a whole bunch of "did I really just read what I thought I read," moments.

    I couldn't help but fall for the likable (mostly) Serge and the always-stoned Coleman, and Dorsey does a great job of developing their characters for those new to his work. Add in four crazy elderly ladies and the beautiful tag team of City and Country, and you have a Christmas story probably not worth sharing with the kids, but one that you won't forget.

    At less than 200 pages, a quick, fun read, although definitely a rated R book. High praise for this and I will be back for more Dorsey!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2011

    Highly recommended for those who enjoy quirky but down-to-earth humour

    Tim Dorsey has always been my favourite with his Serge Storms series. I eagerly look forward to every release.

    Time Dorsey combines fascinating history lessons of Florida, exposure to endlessly quirky Floridians, political and social insights voiced through Serge that do make you think, all wrapped in great humour - from bright-coloured farce to deep black.

    As an engineer, I delight in Serge's Rube-Goldberg inventions and contrived confrontations that offer (but often don't succeed) in bringing redemption to the unredeemable slimeballs around us.

    For me, it's like watching a mass of lives colliding as they drift through life but the Brownian motion isn't really as random as it appears, and, somehow, justice, fairness, and humour always triumph...

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2012

    Great Holiday Story

    Classic Dorsey! The only thing I would point out is that this is a very short read. Perhaps 1/3 as long as his other books.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    One Crazy Christmas!

    This is not your Nana’s Christmas story. If you’re looking for a heart-warming, fuzzy, good-feeling read, Tim Dorsey’s style will shock your stockings off. This satirical tale might even strip the stripe off a candy cane or two. However, twisted folks that giggle at Christopher Moore and are amused by Beavis and Butthead-like antics, will fa-la-la-la-la through the pages of this short gem. Spike the eggnog and dress the white elephant gift with the Sunday funny paper, because When Elves Attack is packed with classic Dorsey shenanigans wrapped in a shiny bright bow. Yeah, it’s nothing knew, but it’s funny as hell. This isn’t highbrow stuff, but who wants to strain their brain after hours at the mall? This is the perfect book to take along to the in-laws over the holidays or will make an excellent gift for that hard-to-buy-for nutbar relative. Let’s face it you’re probably going to need a laugh by the end of the evening anyways! Sometimes it’s good to remember that it could be worse. You could live in Florida across the street from Serge Storms on Triggerfish Lane.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2014

    Attackers of Darkness Med Den POST!

    The top of a log has been removed, and the bottom part made wet and flattened. Long stones have been places on end on either side of it, and sticks laid across. This makes the med den. At one end a large stone with many cubbyish holes has been places for herbs. There are five nests on each side of the den, and a little walkway through the miidle of them. Here, the med cat treats sick or hurt cats. POST!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2014

    I'VE READ THEM ALL!

    Tim Dorsey is, without question, is a brilliant satirist with a bizarre twist, commenting on everything Florida, including all the quirky things, and especially its 'unique' politicians and citizenry. Of course, being a Floridian I love following Serge & Coleman's adventures around the state where they do justice(?) to those who deserve it. Unfortunately I must confess I do share Dorsey's sense of humor and consequently have been hooked on his books for years. 'Tiger Shrimp Tango' is next in my Nook Book queue. Sad, isn't it? BTW, if you ever get a chance to attend one of his book signings he is as entertaining in person as he is through his books. Signed, Obviously-A-Fan

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2014

    &#8437

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2012

    Typical Serge Storms

    Florida history mixed with serial murderer justice. Plenty of holiday joy here.

    An entertread

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2012

    Softkit

    Ran behing cheetopaw

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2012

    Cheetopaw

    "Well, we better get back. Let's go." Cheetopaw scurried back to camp.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A new Christmas classic

    A homecoming for Serge and Coleman, a gathering of old friends, singing, dancing and a Christmas miracle! Although Serge's hobby craft lacked the technical details they used to get.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    Just OK

    Not close to his best. Quick read but not great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3