BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

When First They Met (Short Story)

Average Rating 4
( 135 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(74)

4 Star

(25)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

To the anonymous readers who "one starred" the short s

To the anonymous readers who "one starred" the short story, didn't you enjoy it, short as it is? Those of us who love Debbie Macomber and buy her books buy a good read, and all the hope in the world of romance. I live on the most limited of incomes, yet I do...
To the anonymous readers who "one starred" the short story, didn't you enjoy it, short as it is? Those of us who love Debbie Macomber and buy her books buy a good read, and all the hope in the world of romance. I live on the most limited of incomes, yet I don't begrudge 99 cents for 27 pages. I can't even buy a cup of coffee for 99 cents, and the coffee, while momentarily tasty, gives me no lasting pleasure. I agree with sand7s: five stars, and I can't wait to get the book! Go Debbie, and thanks for all the pleasure and happiness you have brought to me over the years. Your pages are worth every penny of my 99 cents! Your forever fan, DanicahDH

posted by DanicahDH on July 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

26 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

Anonymous June 18, 2012

I am new to ordering books and I didn't realize just how short a short story would be! I am a huge Macomber fan and I will be purchasing The Inn at Rose Harbor but wish I hadn't spent the money on this.

posted by Anonymous on June 18, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 135 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2012

    Anonymous June 18, 2012

    I am new to ordering books and I didn't realize just how short a short story would be! I am a huge Macomber fan and I will be purchasing The Inn at Rose Harbor but wish I hadn't spent the money on this.

    26 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2012

    When first they met

    27 pages!

    19 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2012

    Short

    Totally not worth the .99 paid, its like paying to see a movie preview

    17 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2012

    To the anonymous readers who "one starred" the short s

    To the anonymous readers who "one starred" the short story, didn't you enjoy it, short as it is? Those of us who love Debbie Macomber and buy her books buy a good read, and all the hope in the world of romance. I live on the most limited of incomes, yet I don't begrudge 99 cents for 27 pages. I can't even buy a cup of coffee for 99 cents, and the coffee, while momentarily tasty, gives me no lasting pleasure. I agree with sand7s: five stars, and I can't wait to get the book! Go Debbie, and thanks for all the pleasure and happiness you have brought to me over the years. Your pages are worth every penny of my 99 cents! Your forever fan, DanicahDH

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Very good short story. I loved the characters and can't wait to

    Very good short story. I loved the characters and can't wait to read more.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2012

    A very short story leading up to Debbie's latest read....Recomme

    A very short story leading up to Debbie's latest read....Recommend Highly!!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2012

    N LATEST Latest Ddebb Latest Debbie Macomber Book A booj K Latest Debbiie Maccomber book

    Looks good Fun easy read Yummy recipes too

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2012

    Redflight

    Nice!

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2012

    Macomber

    This sneak preview was typical Macomber . I am so looking forward to this new series!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2012

    Highly Recommended.

    A sweet story that must be ready before you read Rose Harbor Inn. Only 27 pages, but it is a prelude Rose Harbor Inn, and is a "feel good" read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2012

    !

    To the poster about role playing...for your information this is a place to leave book reviews. I do not want to have to go through dozens of posts of your silly immature roleplaying games. That does not belong here. If someone does not have access to a computer then they should not 'play'. I still say anyone that does that must be a kid. No self respecting adult would pretend to be a cat. Grow up and play your games somewhere else,

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2012

    Warrior Tribe Tweens Rule B & N

    Why would an author subject himself/herself to the indignity of these comments written by 12 year olds? Shame on Barnes and Noble for allowing this to continue. You know it is happening. Clean up your act.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2012

    Don't even need to order short story. I love Debbies books on Ce

    Don't even need to order short story. I love Debbies books on Cedar Cove have read all of them and know right now I want the new series. Keep cedar Cove alive...

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2012

    H

    Hfdj

    2 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2012

    Wonderful!

    Great story of true love. The sequel was just as great a read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    Disapointed

    This story is only 20 some pages and just gets you started. It is more like an introduction to the nexr series. The series will be great but paying for advertising or getting your hope up about a expensive book is wrong.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    Very good

    A great preview for her followup book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2012

    Sunshadow's Story

    Sunshadow prowled along the AquaClan border. "Come on, Sunshadow." She meowed to herself. Next thing she had the squirrel she had been stalking in her jaws. "Prey!" She purred. "Thank you." Vinestorm hung from a tree with her catch in his mouth. "Vinestorm!" She meowed in exasperation to her best friend. "Come on, let's share." He meowed, his eyes sparkling. They bent down to eat the squirrel. Suddenly a strange sensation washed over Sunshadow and she huddled closer to her friend. He purred. "I feel wierd, Vinestorm. I think wer're being wa-" a paw clamped over her mouth. Vinestorm snarled at something behind his friend. "Kill the spare." A hiss sounded.
    A paw flashed out and swiped Vinestorm's throat. He fell, dead. "No!" Sunshadow bit her way free and stood in front of her friend. She was facing three huge toms. Vinestorm's starry scent washed over her. "Run." ••••••••••••Sunshadow stood next to a tom named Foxfire, waiting for something she couldn't place. It had been about a year since Fogstorm died. Often memories would wash over her, overtake her, fill her. "Come on, Foxfire. " a prissy voice meowed. "Dazzlestorm." Foxfire meowed. "Back off, Sunb.itch." Dazzlestorm meowed. Sunshadow inflated like a balloon. Another she, Jewelsong, raked a claw down Sunshadow's nose. She stumbled. Foxfire walked away. "Hey! Leave her alone!" A voice rang out. A tom with a reverse tiger pelt stood on the slope. "Go r@pe a melon." He slashed Dazzlestorm away. "Are you alright? I 'm Hawkspring by the way." He put in. "Th-thank you. I'm Sunshadow." Sunshadow meowed. "Oh, so you wanna play rough, Hawkspring?" Dazzlestorm got up. He slashed her away. "Come on, Sunshadow." He meowed, smiling. "Kay." She purred. ((You like? Please review!))

    1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2012

    Vert good

    I like the hawk part

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2012

    Typical Debbie Macomber..awfully short

    A nice enough story, to set up her new book, but SO short..it should've been free.
    I got the sample of the new book but decided not to bother with it.
    Is probably worth it if you are a huge fan, or for back story for the new book..pretty disappointing, actually.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 135 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7