Customer Reviews for

When Food Is Love: Exploring the Relationship Between Eating and Intimacy

Average Rating 3.5
( 37 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2003

    This book was truly life-changing

    This book had been recommended to me for years, and yet I kept passing it up because I did not want to acknowledge that there was a problem. After losing more than 100 pounds and then staying in a plateau for 18+ months, I finally had to admit that there must be a reason my weight wasn't moving anymore. And just maybe...I should look at the real problems. So finally, more than five years after Geneen was first suggested to me, I picked up this book and can finally claim the real issues at hand. I'm finally learning to TRUST ME and my body, and I'm dealing with the real pain that has caused my compulsive eating for so many years. I KNOW IT IS HARD TO TAKE THE FIRST STEP. I put it off for a long time, but I am so glad that I have finally faced the issues head on. If any of this sounds familiar to you, then at least buy the book and take a peek at it. If it seems like it is too much for you to deal with right now, then put it down. Trust your own judgement. But someday, it will be the right day, and you will have the understanding and guidance a compassionate woman who has been there herself to start you on your own journey of healing and self-love.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2010

    So True

    This book was a complete revelation. It gets the the heart of compulisive eating - it makes you laugh, cry & take a good honest look at yourself. A definate must read.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Catharsis for the reader or the author?

    I bought this book with high hopes because I also am someone who turns to food for comfort and love. Unfortunately, the author repeats and repeats and repeats the same stories of her abusive mother and distant father and how she filled the hole in her life with food. Her parental stories are at first compelling but eventually become tiresome. Her advice to the reader is to acknowledge the past but move on. This book, and her previous books, show that she clearly cannot move on. The stories she tells about her current relationships eventually seem self-absorbed. I did not find the book to be helpful.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2009

    Stop the Diet Mentality!

    This book explores why so many of us turn to food to soothe our troubled spirits. It faces head on so many of the issues we battle, whether consciously or subconciously. It goes from childhood to present day, and can be an emotional read in and of itself.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2013

    I recommend this book!

    I have been battling myself internally for as long as I can remember. I began on a journey a couple of years ago to find some peace since the effects of my childhood were clearly protesting my best efforts as an adult to dismiss them as if they simply did not exist. I never addressed my eating disorder openly until about 6 months ago because the shame was too much for me. This book, along with other books by Geneen Roth, has helped me to understand why my battle with food exists on a level that doesn't make me feel isolated and alone. It gives me hope and strength.

    I have been working with a therapist who is passionate about the inner connection between women and food. She recommended Geneen Roth to me, and I am so glad she did.

    I wouldn't advise you read this if you are in search of a diet plan or feel it should containa magical revelation on its pages. The inspiration in this book is becoming aware of your relationship with yourself, getting honest about how you use food, and sharing in Ganeen's experience, strengthand hope.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2006

    inspirational

    This book is very touching. It even made me get teary-eyed at all the accounts and stories that I read. It also rings true in my life. However, this is not necessarily a recovery book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    It's worth reading...

    This book really triggered an "AHA" moment for me. It has made me realize why I'm such an emotional eater and binger. I used to eat while not communicating my emotions. Since I've read the book, I try to think why I'm eating when I'm not actually hungry. This has helped me push the food aside and take in what I really feel. Thanks, Geneen for a very inspiring book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2004

    A very realistic book

    An excellent book. I like her approach to life and I feel very identified with her eating problems.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2013

    I recommend this book for those with an emotional addiction to f

    I recommend this book for those with an emotional addiction to food.  However, physical addiction to some foods, including sugar, has been proven scientifically and is documented in peer-review research.  Some of the author's recommendations would have catastrophic repercussions for those with a food addiction.  She should have been more careful with her advice.  It is because of such dangerous advice that I gave it three stars; otherwise, I would have given it four.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2