BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

When Ghosts Speak: Understanding the World of Earthbound Spirits

Average Rating 4.5
( 38 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

DON'T MISS THIS BOOK. Weird events following a loved one's death may now all start to make sense. Strange events in your home may have an answer and solution. You never know when a spirit may follow you home. . .

I do not usually take the time to write reviews but I feel compelled to write one for this book. My husband purchased this book for me and I just never sat down to read it until he picked it up and I noticed that he could not put it down (he is not much of a reader, th...
I do not usually take the time to write reviews but I feel compelled to write one for this book. My husband purchased this book for me and I just never sat down to read it until he picked it up and I noticed that he could not put it down (he is not much of a reader, though I am). My curiosity got the better of me and I picked up the book and like him, could not put it down. Mary Ann Winkowski is the person for whom the TV show Ghost Whisperer is based. I have never watched the show. I have, unfortunately, had several close friends and family members die untimely deaths. While I do not believe that I have a ghost in my house, I have experienced events surrounding those deaths that have made me wonder if their spirits have made a visit and I have had close friends tell me stories of events surrounding a love ones death that have made me wonder if they have had a visit from a ghost. Mary Ann wrote this book not to create a dramatic novel, but to tell you what it is like when someone dies and what happens before or if they do not cross over. She is quick to mention that her life is not the dramatic life of the Ghost Whisperer, but if you want to know what REALLY happens between the time someone dies and the time someone crosses over, then you should read this book or if you have strange things occurring in your house and have the slightest suspicion of a ghost, then you MUST read this book. THERE ARE ANSWERS. I am a skeptical attorney, but I could not get enough of her personal experiences and could have easily read another book with a couple hundred more pages of her personal experiences. Events surrounding my father's death now make sense. Events surrounding my best friend's husband's untimely death now make sense. Read the book and see for yourself. Don't expect to be spoon fed a lot of hype and drama. This book is chock full of real world experiences and I am convinced, Mary Ann is the real deal.

posted by Lisa--Jupiter on August 22, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Not what it was hyped up to be

I am sorry but this book was not all that I have hoped for and what it was hyped up to be.

Each chapter and page was the same thing over and over and over again and she repeated herself A LOT in this book.

I also did not like how she would lie or use deceict to ma...
I am sorry but this book was not all that I have hoped for and what it was hyped up to be.

Each chapter and page was the same thing over and over and over again and she repeated herself A LOT in this book.

I also did not like how she would lie or use deceict to make an earthbound cross over. I understand you do try and an exception would be if you were trying to get an evil earthbound to cross over but I felt it wasn't right to lie to others.

She made no qualms about it and how she would with hold information or not speak up if someone would need that info. I think her logic is don't ask don't tell but if she "really" had this gift, she wouldn't do that.

I do not like how she is selling quince seeds that are overly priced. Yet, she gets them from her relatives but does not know how they bless them. C'mon, if you are selling them on your online store, you better know how or IF they are really blessed or even if this is indeed done. I feel this is a scam to get money.

Also, the pictures she has in her book was already published in another ghost hunter book by another author, they were not hers!

I am sure she is a nice person, but the book was reiterated way too much and everything could have been summed up in 1 chapter!

posted by 1718967 on August 6, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted August 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    DON'T MISS THIS BOOK. Weird events following a loved one's death may now all start to make sense. Strange events in your home may have an answer and solution. You never know when a spirit may follow you home. . .

    I do not usually take the time to write reviews but I feel compelled to write one for this book. My husband purchased this book for me and I just never sat down to read it until he picked it up and I noticed that he could not put it down (he is not much of a reader, though I am). My curiosity got the better of me and I picked up the book and like him, could not put it down. Mary Ann Winkowski is the person for whom the TV show Ghost Whisperer is based. I have never watched the show. I have, unfortunately, had several close friends and family members die untimely deaths. While I do not believe that I have a ghost in my house, I have experienced events surrounding those deaths that have made me wonder if their spirits have made a visit and I have had close friends tell me stories of events surrounding a love ones death that have made me wonder if they have had a visit from a ghost. Mary Ann wrote this book not to create a dramatic novel, but to tell you what it is like when someone dies and what happens before or if they do not cross over. She is quick to mention that her life is not the dramatic life of the Ghost Whisperer, but if you want to know what REALLY happens between the time someone dies and the time someone crosses over, then you should read this book or if you have strange things occurring in your house and have the slightest suspicion of a ghost, then you MUST read this book. THERE ARE ANSWERS. I am a skeptical attorney, but I could not get enough of her personal experiences and could have easily read another book with a couple hundred more pages of her personal experiences. Events surrounding my father's death now make sense. Events surrounding my best friend's husband's untimely death now make sense. Read the book and see for yourself. Don't expect to be spoon fed a lot of hype and drama. This book is chock full of real world experiences and I am convinced, Mary Ann is the real deal.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2010

    When Ghosts Speak will change the way you feel about the dead

    Mary Ann Winkowski writes in a clear, practical manner about her dialogue with "earthbound" spirits some of whom are stuck here and others trying to resolve their unfinished business with the living. If you have doubts or questions about the spirit world, When Ghosts Speak is a terrific explanation of what happens when people(and animals) die, what motivates some spirits to stick around, and advice on how to avoid unwanted ghostly guests. A great account of Ms Winkowski's experiences which serve as the basis for the "Ghost Whisperer" program.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2009

    Great!

    I could not put this book down! I have read many books on the paranormal and this is one of the best. It is very informative and interesting. A must read for anyone interested in the paranormal or supernatural.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2012

    Highly recommended

    This is an excellent book. One that you don't want to put down. Very interesting book. Answers a lot of questions.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great book!

    I highly recommend this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2008

    I loved it

    I could not put the book down! I received this book as a gift over the mail and i just fell in love with it. So easy to understand and read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2013

    Spooky Good!

    Loved this book. Quite thought provoking.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2012

    Fascinating Book... and Believable!

    I'm not a big fan of "New Age" stuff, but this book was truly amazing and believable. Regardless of your religious affiliation, this book actually gave me comfort in many respects and gave me hope about the hereinafter. Very entertaining, regardless of whether you buy into the concept of spirits.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2012

    So real!

    Rings true!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2009

    Amazing!!

    Whether you are an avid "ghost hunter," just a beginner or simply curious about the topic, this book is, (in my opinion) one of the most important books to read. Mary Ann very clearly explains what and who earthbound spirits (ghosts) are and the differences between those that are still among us and those who have crossed over. If you enjoy the show "Ghost Whisperer" (Jennifer Love Hewitt's character is based on Mary Ann), you will love this book. For those of you out there who are afraid of ghosts, this book will hopefully shed some light on reality and help you to be less scared of the unknown. After all, ghosts were once people too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Unbelievable!

    I didn't want this book to end! This writer is so vivid on her stories that it's like I'm sitting down with her. Very informative writing. Truly outstanding. You won't be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2008

    Excellant

    I could not put this book down.So easy to read and so interesting.I will be looking for her other books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2008

    Can't wait until the next one

    This book helped my sister decide if she had a spirit with her. Maryann has great insight into the spirit world. I am really looking forward to her next book. I am also looking forward to more from her in the Ghost Whisperer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2008

    Brilliant!

    This book is fabulous and I couldnt put it down. Ghosts have always interested me and Now I understand the world of earth bound spirits much better and WHy they are around. Please take the time to read this inspiring book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2008

    Very insightful

    Just recently found out about this book, ran out, got it and read it immediately. My research of life after death has brought me to 'When Ghosts Speak'. Good reading. Attention getter. This book helps the prospect and understanding of the inevitable death far less chilling.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2007

    Finally a book that helps explain earth bound spirits

    I could not put down Mary Ann Winkowski's new book When Ghosts Speak. I read it cover to cover and am planning to do it again. The book will inform and give you goose bumps while holding your attention, all at the same time. I felt like I was in the same room with Mary Ann talking to her. I live in the Cleveland area and I am lucky to have been able to attend several of Mary Ann's talks in our area. I would recommend this book to anybody that has an interest in what happens after we die.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2