Customer Reviews for

When God Was a Rabbit

Average Rating 4
( 30 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

GREAT BOOK

This was by far one of the best books I have read in a long time. The characters are dynamic, yet flawed, in a realistic way that elicits empathy from the reader. I almost found myself envious of this little "family" of outcasts and strays that are so tightly woven in l...
This was by far one of the best books I have read in a long time. The characters are dynamic, yet flawed, in a realistic way that elicits empathy from the reader. I almost found myself envious of this little "family" of outcasts and strays that are so tightly woven in love. I both laughed out loud and wiped away tears throughout this novel. I'm lucky to find one or two novels a year as good a read as this. I was truly sorry to come to the last page but look forward to more reads by this author.

posted by 18238912 on May 30, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Not My Tastes

I am really disappointed with this book. I was excited to read this for the tour after reading about it. It sounded really good. Sadly, it didn't live up to what the book sounds like from the blurbs. I can't really pin point one exact thing that I didn't like about it. ...
I am really disappointed with this book. I was excited to read this for the tour after reading about it. It sounded really good. Sadly, it didn't live up to what the book sounds like from the blurbs. I can't really pin point one exact thing that I didn't like about it. It all just sort of ran together for me and the characters were bland. I would have loved to have seen a lot more complexity to the plot line and more personality to the characters. Personally, I don't think that I can go back and try to read this 3 star novel again. That being said, however, I do encourage others to read this book. My tastes vary and are often different from other people, so while I disliked this novel, there are those out there who will love it. Please, give this novel a try. I will, in the future, try another book by Sarah Winman as she does show an obvious talent for writing, this book just didn't flow with my personal tastes.

posted by ReviewsByMolly on May 24, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2013

    GREAT BOOK

    This was by far one of the best books I have read in a long time. The characters are dynamic, yet flawed, in a realistic way that elicits empathy from the reader. I almost found myself envious of this little "family" of outcasts and strays that are so tightly woven in love. I both laughed out loud and wiped away tears throughout this novel. I'm lucky to find one or two novels a year as good a read as this. I was truly sorry to come to the last page but look forward to more reads by this author.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Not My Tastes

    I am really disappointed with this book. I was excited to read this for the tour after reading about it. It sounded really good. Sadly, it didn't live up to what the book sounds like from the blurbs. I can't really pin point one exact thing that I didn't like about it. It all just sort of ran together for me and the characters were bland. I would have loved to have seen a lot more complexity to the plot line and more personality to the characters. Personally, I don't think that I can go back and try to read this 3 star novel again. That being said, however, I do encourage others to read this book. My tastes vary and are often different from other people, so while I disliked this novel, there are those out there who will love it. Please, give this novel a try. I will, in the future, try another book by Sarah Winman as she does show an obvious talent for writing, this book just didn't flow with my personal tastes.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2011

    One of the best this year

    If I hadn't won an advanced copy of this book I am sure I wouldn't have picked it up off the shelf by looking at either the title or the cover. It just doesn't catch your eye even though I love coming-of-age books and this certainly looks like one from the cover. It had one graphic part about a quarter of the way through that I almost dismissed the book and put it down but I am so glad now I didn't. The characters are so real and they will stay with you even after you finish the book. This book is probably the best book I have read so far this year....and that's saying a lot.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Original debut novel

    When God Was A Rabbit marks the debut of author Sarah Winman.

    From the publisher Bloomsbury:

    "This is a book about a brother and a sister. It's a book about secrets and starting over, friendship and family, triumph and tragedy, and everything in between. More than anything, it's a book about love in all its forms."

    Elly is the sister and Joe the brother. And in between are their parents, Elly's friend Jenny Penny, assorted lodgers and god the rabbit.

    Young Elly's early loss of innocence in the first few chapters and her brother's promise to protect her always sets the tone for the sibling's relationship. We follow the siblings from 1968 England through to New York 9/11 in the second half of the book. Winman has crafted a novel that kept me off kilter but quickly turning pages from start to finish. The characters are off beat, but the bonds to those they love are undeniably strong. Every character seems to be a step out of time with the rest of the world.

    "'That's a good thing, isn't it? To stand apart and be different?' he said. 'I'm not sure' I said, quite aware of my own muted need to fit in to somehow simply hide. 'I don't want people to know I'm different'. And I looked up and and saw my brother standing in the doorway."

    And they are different - but in a good way. I found the story of young Elly and Joe to be especially poignant. However, they didn't evoke the same reaction in me when they were older in the second half. That's not to say that the story unfolded in the latter part of the book is no less emotional. It is, but I think it was the loss of innocence on so many levels by the younger characters that was the most heartbreaking. There are many sad moments in this story, but there are just as many funny ones. The secondary cast, particularly the parents and lodgers were favourites of mine. Their acceptance of any and all and their inclusion of those on the periphery into their family endeared them to me. I found the use of god the rabbit throughout Elly's life to be an unique allegorical device.

    Winman explores relationships of all sorts with a deft and original hand. But her description of the love between a brother and sister is especially well drawn. An unusual and totally original debut. It will be interesting to see where Winman goes next with her writing.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2013

    Great novel

    Looking forward to her next one. Quirky characters that were too true to be fiction...something I love in a novel. God as a rabbit even seems more than possible...and yes, this does include the best Christmas pageant, ever .....

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2013

    Definetly will watch this writer

    Reminiscent of Running With Scissors. Part 1 was exceptional. A perfect blend of pathos and humor as brother and sister find their way. If Part 2 had followed this trend, it would have been 5 stars. Part 2 resolved many loose ends from Part 1, but lost most of the humor. A great first book. Crisp writing that explores family and friendship, love and loss on many levels. Enjoyable overall.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This book kept my interest until the end. It had very interesti

    This book kept my interest until the end. It had very interesting characters and a good story line. I would reccommend it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2013

    WHAT A DELIGHT! Absolutely hilarious story from the perspective

    WHAT A DELIGHT! Absolutely hilarious story from the perspective of a young woman: school, odd parents, eccentric friends, but a continuity of love...

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Worthy read

    I enjoyed this book immensely. The author has a magical way of combining serious issues with humor. There were many lines in the book that made me just laugh out loud, which is something that makes a book memorable for me.

    I felt quite sad for Elly, whose character was fleshed out and real, as it seems she never has had a chance to really live for herself. She is what I would consider a “giver”. I equally enjoyed the bond she shared with her older brother and the love they have for each other. I had hope that if the story were to continue, that Elly might breakaway from all the needs of her family and friends and sketch out a life for herself.

    I have mixed emotions on the ending of the book. I know we usually like to read books with tidy nice little endings with no strings left hanging, but this is one book that could have pulled off a tragedy which is the only reason I give it 4 instead of 5 stars. Regardless of the ending, I found this to be a wonderful read and don’t hesitate to recommend it.

    I will be looking forward to additional titles by this gifted new author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2012

    The Funniest Christmas play inside a book ever!!

    I am laughing out loud....this is quite possibly the funniest Christmas school play in a fictional in the history of those played out in books....so rip roaringly funny so well written the author's timing is superb that you have to read it for yourself to believe it! Absolutely hilarious.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent!

    I enjoyed this book immensely. The author has a magical way of combining serious issues with humor. There were many lines in the book that made me just laugh out loud.

    I felt quite sad for Elly, whose character was fleshed out and real, as it seems she never has had a chance to really live for herself. She is what I would consider a "giver". I equally enjoyed the bond she shared with her older brother and the love they have for each other. I have hope that if the story were to continue, that Elly might breakaway from all the needs of her family and friends and sketch out a life for herself.

    I have mixed emotions on the ending of the book. I know we usually like to read books with tidy nice little endings with no strings left hanging, but this is one book that could have pulled off a tragedy which is the only reason I give it 4 instead of 5 stars. Regardless of the ending, I found this to be a wonderful read and don't hesitate to recommend it.

    I will be looking forward to additional titles by this gifted new author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2014

    Good Book

    Was a good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    decent book

    This was a pretty good book, easy read but some difficult parts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2014

    I can't wait for the movie

    This book was so captivating thar I spent my entire Saturday reading it from cover to cover. I hope they make it into a movie and I can't wait to read other books from the author. Bravo!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2013

    Whimsical without sliding into stupid

    It is whimsical enough to be fun, doesn't slide into "stupid" as man do and the characters are likeable and well-developed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2013

    Reads almost like a memoir

    Some of the incidents and characters in this book are so specific I felt as if the author were describing people and events she knew or had experienced personally. In any case the book held my interest throughout and I would gladly read more by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2013

    Ad in NYT for this promped me

    Challenging and worth reading. God from another perspective.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2013

    Excellent book!

    Excellent book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A perceptive and lingering love within a brother and sister bond unwavering even amongst their deepest secrets.

    From the start I was hooked on When God Was a Rabbit. Although the main character in the book Elly only has one sibling, her brother Joe, it is a very close relationship which the book revolves around. Elly's parents are very loving and are always available and even though every character in this book is a little quirky, one thing they share is are close loving relationship and bonding friendships. A paradox Elly seems to share and hang onto when it comes ot her only neighborhood friend, Penny. Later when Elly moves away you feel like her and Penny will never see each other again. As an adult Elly is haunted by her friends short sporadic visits and feels that she will never understand Penny, yet she hangs on to hope. Something that can be very difficult when one has a dysfunctional friendship. Yet Elly disregards her friends insecurities and does not judge her for who she is, a lesson for many of us in real life. I found the relationship between Elly and her brother to be quite familiar to my relationship with my one brother, as I have a brother who is about the same difference in age. This story brought back memories of that love hate relationship we shared as children and how different he was. I found When God Was a Rabbit entertaining, amusing and I would have felt quite comfortable in this family. The views she weaved of London and the new house the family moved into are breathtaking and absolutely beautiful. Winman did a wonderful job of capturing those moments during and after 9/11 while still keeping the emphasis on the story. To enjoy this book one must have an open mind and feel that connection to the author Winman and what she is trying to portray. I story of love, friendship and that connection between brother and sister that lingers on even when we know each others secrets.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2