Customer Reviews for

When God Was a Rabbit

Average Rating 4
( 37 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

GREAT BOOK

This was by far one of the best books I have read in a long time. The characters are dynamic, yet flawed, in a realistic way that elicits empathy from the reader. I almost found myself envious of this little "family" of outcasts and strays that are so tightly woven in l...
This was by far one of the best books I have read in a long time. The characters are dynamic, yet flawed, in a realistic way that elicits empathy from the reader. I almost found myself envious of this little "family" of outcasts and strays that are so tightly woven in love. I both laughed out loud and wiped away tears throughout this novel. I'm lucky to find one or two novels a year as good a read as this. I was truly sorry to come to the last page but look forward to more reads by this author.

posted by 18238912 on May 30, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Not My Tastes

I am really disappointed with this book. I was excited to read this for the tour after reading about it. It sounded really good. Sadly, it didn't live up to what the book sounds like from the blurbs. I can't really pin point one exact thing that I didn't like about it. ...
I am really disappointed with this book. I was excited to read this for the tour after reading about it. It sounded really good. Sadly, it didn't live up to what the book sounds like from the blurbs. I can't really pin point one exact thing that I didn't like about it. It all just sort of ran together for me and the characters were bland. I would have loved to have seen a lot more complexity to the plot line and more personality to the characters. Personally, I don't think that I can go back and try to read this 3 star novel again. That being said, however, I do encourage others to read this book. My tastes vary and are often different from other people, so while I disliked this novel, there are those out there who will love it. Please, give this novel a try. I will, in the future, try another book by Sarah Winman as she does show an obvious talent for writing, this book just didn't flow with my personal tastes.

posted by ReviewsByMolly on May 24, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2013

    GREAT BOOK

    This was by far one of the best books I have read in a long time. The characters are dynamic, yet flawed, in a realistic way that elicits empathy from the reader. I almost found myself envious of this little "family" of outcasts and strays that are so tightly woven in love. I both laughed out loud and wiped away tears throughout this novel. I'm lucky to find one or two novels a year as good a read as this. I was truly sorry to come to the last page but look forward to more reads by this author.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2011

    One of the best this year

    If I hadn't won an advanced copy of this book I am sure I wouldn't have picked it up off the shelf by looking at either the title or the cover. It just doesn't catch your eye even though I love coming-of-age books and this certainly looks like one from the cover. It had one graphic part about a quarter of the way through that I almost dismissed the book and put it down but I am so glad now I didn't. The characters are so real and they will stay with you even after you finish the book. This book is probably the best book I have read so far this year....and that's saying a lot.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2013

    Great novel

    Looking forward to her next one. Quirky characters that were too true to be fiction...something I love in a novel. God as a rabbit even seems more than possible...and yes, this does include the best Christmas pageant, ever .....

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2013

    WHAT A DELIGHT! Absolutely hilarious story from the perspective

    WHAT A DELIGHT! Absolutely hilarious story from the perspective of a young woman: school, odd parents, eccentric friends, but a continuity of love...

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2012

    The Funniest Christmas play inside a book ever!!

    I am laughing out loud....this is quite possibly the funniest Christmas school play in a fictional in the history of those played out in books....so rip roaringly funny so well written the author's timing is superb that you have to read it for yourself to believe it! Absolutely hilarious.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2014

    Recommend

    One of the best stories i've read in ages. Sadly i found some of the reviews off putting and delayed the purchase. Wholly enjoyed this read; so much so that i am starting it over immediately. Have not done that with many books outside .j irving. Can not wait to hear more of this voice. Many thanks sj

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2014

    Wonderful story

    Quirky, heartwrenching, and some scenes at the beginning made me laugh out loud - one of the few books i would reread

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2014

    Map and Rules

    Res 1: Map and Rules. <br> Res 2: Bios. <br> Res 3: Main Clearing. <br> Res 4: High Rock. <br> Res 5: Leaders Den. <br> Res 6: Warriors Den. <br> Res 7: Apprintences Den. <br> Res 8: Nursery. <p> Res 9: Gorse Tunnel. <br> Res 10: Elders Den. <br> Res 11: Sandy Hollow. <br> Res 12: Sunning Rocks. <br> Res 13: River. <br> Res 14: Great Sycamore. <br> Res 15: Snakerocks. <br> Res 16, 17, 18: Forest. <br> Res 19: Moonpool. <br> Res 20: Twoleg Place. <br> Res 21: Thunderpath. <br> Res 22: Border. <br> Res 23: StarClan. <br> Res 24: Dark forest. <p> Welcome to Thistleclan! Here are some rules before you join: <p> You must obey The Warrior Code. <p> No powers or unrealistic pelt colors wings etc. <p> No mating in camp. Go somewhere else. <p> No attacking clanmates unless they are doing something really wrong. <p> Kindness counts. <p> As a mentor, it is your duty to train apprintences. If you are absent for a week, or longer, your apprintence will have another mentor. <p> Have good grammer! <p> Please advertise alot! <p> Thank you, and May StarClan light you're path!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2014

    I can't wait for the movie

    This book was so captivating thar I spent my entire Saturday reading it from cover to cover. I hope they make it into a movie and I can't wait to read other books from the author. Bravo!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2013

    Ad in NYT for this promped me

    Challenging and worth reading. God from another perspective.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2013

    Excellent book!

    Excellent book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1