Customer Reviews for

When God Whispers Your Name

Average Rating 4.5
( 64 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(44)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 64 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2005

    Wonderful Book!

    This book was the 'tow truck' that helped me come out of the spiritual rut I had been in for six years! Everyone should get a copy of this, especially if you're feeling wayward in your walk with Christ. I would like to give copies of this book out to friends and family who are searching for a deeper committment to Him.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2003

    Great

    I loved reading this book and got much attention very easily through this book. Its a great book to read and any-one can understand what he is saying. I feel Gods love through this one.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2003

    First time I read it

    The first time I read this book was when I was 17. I had decided to make some changes in my life, and this book really opened my eyes more to who Jesus is and several things He went through His life.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2012

    Brings me to tears sometimes

    This book has been a blessing upon blessing upon blessing for me! I love it so much and I not only read it for my personal spiritual growth needs but also use it as a tool for teaching.


    Inside you will find a series of unrelated chapters, though they all contribute to bring you more understanding in your personal walk with Christ. Each chapter is almost like a little devotional for the day. this is definitely not a book that you just want to read through and finish in one sitting. The end of each chapter really causes you to pause and reflect because of all the information you are absorbing. I would recommend this book to any and every christian that desires new insight in their relationship with God and also for those that are going through a really hectic and stress-filled time. (Chapter 11 The Choice is the perfect chapter to read to yourself every morning before facing the uncertainties of the day. It brings me to tears every time.) I would just really encourage you to read this book with an open heart and prayerful spirit and allow God to work in you through it. Five gold stars for this book(:


    I received this complimentary copy from Thomas Nelson Publishing through their BookSneeze program. A positive review was not required and the opinions expressed here are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2012

    Great Reminder of the Love of God

    When God Whispers Your Name by Max Lucado, is an inspirational book that contains stories and scripture, to show the reader that God cares about them. He takes common bible stories and everyday run-ins and turns them into a reminder of how much God cares. Every chapter leaves you with an emotional sigh and a mental shakedown as to how you could forget such a loving God.

    This is my second book by Max Lucado and I really enjoyed it, once I got over the hump. Personally I am not fan of slow starting books, and I’m going to be completely honest it started slow so I put the book down, for a month before I started reading again. I came to realize that the book was not slow I just was not use to this particular writing style. Lucado writes as if you are having a conversation face to face. Every chapter is either a personal story or scripture made simple. And who doesn’t like a relatable story and easy to read scripture?

    At the end of every chapter I felt as if he reminded me of how much God really loves and cares for me. And sometimes I even chastised myself when I would remember some of his acts of love. And that is the point of the book. Even when you don’t see him, he sees you. When you feel alone he’s always there. And when you feel as if there is no way out he’s there making a path for you.

    I

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2001

    Perfect Comfort

    This book is comforting and demystifys christianity. It is also very funny in some areas. I've purchased two other books by him based on this book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2010

    SPIRITUALLLY UPLIPLIFTING

    Max Lucado, really knows how to write and reach out to everyone. If your a Christian or just an average reader you will find out or noticed that God really is talking to you throught this book. While I was reading this book I was fasting, and really help me uplift my faith and notice that God was with me, and that he hasn't finish working with you yet. Main theme of this book, is that God knows everyone by name and that he has called you with a purpose and for a reason.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2003

    Amazing!

    A great book, easy to read, witty and inspirational! Recommend to anyone who is hungry for God's love and grace.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2002

    This was wonderful (I'm a teenager)

    I had never read any Max Lucado boks, but have loved this book very much. I didn't expect to fully understand at first, but it was very thought provoking and easy to comprehend. I totally recomend this book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2002

    I love this book!!!!

    This is the first book I have ever read by Max Lucado, and I must say I do find it comforting, inspiring, and thought-provoking. A great read!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2000

    Truly Inspirational

    Extremely thought provoking. Max Lucado's gift to relate scripture to every day life is truly inspired.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2014

    Sunstar

    Waits

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2014

    Draco

    Nice try

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2013

    Siro's Den

    Result 19 titled 'As for me and my house.'

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    Quinzen and Narkii's Dens

    Quinzen• Result 20<p>
    Narkii• Result 23

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2013

    Den Locations/Newsboard

    NEWS: We allow unlimited males, and now males are allowed to hunt! Besides, shouldn't they have the same rights as lionesses? This is a democracy after all. Or is it more of a dictatorship.... Anyways, the other day, there was a tiger in the Hunting Grounds, but apparentlyit never replied back to anyone trying to interact with it. Also, a helpless cub name Kova was hurt terribly by her own sister and soon was drowned, which killed her. Kiara was sent out for killing her sister and was forcemated by a rouge lion, whom Darmora killed in her defence. Hopefully Kiara will be ok. Also, big news, Thailla (I think that's how its spelled sorry if its wrong) gave brith to two healthy cubs, a lioness and a male. Congrats! More news tommorow morning at around 10:20 central time. BYE EVERYLION! ~Den Locations/Newsboard

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2012

    Goto

    Daggerheart is wat i meant.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2012

    Awesome book ,the best i have Bu Awesome and very uplefting,

    Must read!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2011

    Always Inspirational

    I have always enjoyed reading books by Max Lucado. I have read many of his children's stories, including all of his Wemmick stories, and several Spiritual Growth and Christian Thoughts books. I was happy to have the opportunity to read When God Whispers Your Name. In this book, like many of his others, Lucado gives you a glimpse into his own lives and the lives of those around him whom he has had the opportunity to minister to and some who have written to him specifically.
    Lucado writes very brief chapters in this book, which is his overall goal; because he knows that our time is precious to us. Because of the brevity of these chapters, it not only makes the reading very easy, but it also allows you to instantly reflect on what he is saying and to take something away from each chapter without being bombarded by fact after fact. I had several chapters that I bookmarked in order to go back to when I want something specific to read or when I want to use the book as a book study or devotional. This is also possible, because included with the book are discussion questions, verses to look up, and thoughts to pray about related to the book.
    As always, Lucado never disappoints. I am heading back to download another of his!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Inspiring!

    One of Max Lucado's greatest gifts is the ability to retell biblical stories in a modern fashion and make it so real that you think he's telling your story. He draws you in with little effort and shows you God at work in your life. This book testifies to the power and persistence of the Creator to know each of His creations by name. Through moving encounters of biblical stories, Lucado reveals the hope that God knows and whispers our names. The three sections, the Song of the Minstrel, The Touch of the Master, and the Guest of the Maestro, have short chapters that can easily be read in a short amount of time. This book discusses how to listen and hear when God whisper's your name. Lucado tells the modern story and then identifies the biblical counterpart. He does so in a way which holds the reader's interest and is never boring. The discussion guide at the end of the book includes questions for each chapter that will help you to reflect on what you read, gives you scripture to guide you and even suggests which chapters to read together due to a common theme, to help the reader in their relationship with God. If you need some help to get inspired Max Lucado is just the author and recommend you add this book to your reading list. This book would make a great gift or anyone for any occasion. I received a free copy of this E-book for my Nook from Thomas Nelson as part of their Booksneeze Blogger program.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 64 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4